We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive building, inside not so much”

Palacio de Sobrellano
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Comillas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Putten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impressive building, inside not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Upon seeing the palace we were impressed with the architecture. We could not enter the palace and had to wait for 20 min. After the wait we bought tickets to a Spanish tour (no English tours), because you could only see the inside of the palace when you buy tickets for the tour. Inside there was furniture in the rooms (unlike its neighbouring house El Capricho del Gaudi), but everything was explained in Spanish so we didn't understand what they were talking about. What was disappointing was that we could only see the rooms downstairs and we could walk upstairs and downstairs again. From the outside it's a must-see, but you can spend the time you would have on the tour elsewhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Meltem v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    182
    50
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must place to visit if you pass Comillas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This palace was built by the Marquis of Comillas in the beginning of 20th century and Marquis was the key person of the town. He built the university of Comillas and also the capricho of Gaudi. So to understand the history of Comillas and also to see an example of a house of a reach 'indian', i.e. a spaniard who made a fortune with business in Lating America, you have to visit the place. Besides you get a free tour with the entrance ticket. (in Spanish).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not open from one to four”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Opening hours are not posted until after you have made the .5 k walk up the driveway. Entry is for tour times only, and they are conducted in Spanish. You cannot go round on your own.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank neamster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not a must see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

The palacio is one of the main tourist attractions of Comillas. Not without reason: the palace is beautifully placed on a hill, and the architecture is wonderful. However, the interior does not match the exterior in terms of beauty and uniqueness. The guide also did not speak any english. However, if you have some spare time, 3 euros is still a bargain for a quick (+- 25 min) tour around this building.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank evemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

very busy when we visited and we had to take the Spanish tour or would have had to wait until the evening. Well worth a visit the interior is amazing

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank julie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palacio de Sobrellano also viewed

 

Been to Palacio de Sobrellano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing