We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel , pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Comillas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comillas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good hotel , pleasant stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

my wife and I have a pleasant stay at this hotel it looks expensive an impressive as approach .
the rooms were clean tidy and plenty of room for a over night stay.found the down stays dinning room some what lacking in character . but a short walk down into the town many restaurants to choose from.....

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rich2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    41
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is really well located on the beach at Comillas.
Our room was in the basement of the hotel, at the end of a very dark hallway. While there was beautiful views of the sea there was no getting away from the damp smell in the room. The arm-chairs in the room were stained, and the wifi only worked in the hallway and not in the room itself. We knew there was no point in complaining as we had booked the last available room online.
Breakfast was good, as was lunch in the hotel.The restaurant appeared popular with tourists and locals alike which I consider a good sign.
In my opinion this hotel is over-priced relative to the quality of accommodation. Would sacrifice location in favour of a nicer hotel next time.

Room Tip: Avoid lower basement/end of hallway bedrooms if you still plan on staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

From the weather to the smell of spaghetti with spanish flavours bursting out of it, everything was amazing. Hotel Comillas was divine everything was clean and well organised! The staff were very friendly and easy to communitcate with! The atmosphere was great and very enjoyable! I dont normally enjoy sleeping on any other matress but mine , but i had no problems what so ever the room space was perfect and so was the bathroom ! I always ate my breakfast from the hotel and evern the food was spectacular and well presented ! the hotel was placed in the perfect destination as it was walking distance to the local town. I would walk everyday through them beige gulleys and see in the distance colourful senoritas dancing and entertianing the public ! You had everything you wanted close by there were fruit shops , clothing stores , food stores and many more others... The beach was also close by to which was really ideal as you wouldnt want to travel to far ... the beach was clean and friendly it was amazing to take a was in the evenings before the sun went down ... I also visited the mueseum that had an amazing art gallery there ! all in all my experience was wonderful and i would insist anybody should vist there especially if your a big fan of spain and its culture .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for Easter and we had an amazing time over there, the staff was really nice and helpful. The hotel has an classic and elegant style full of cute and classy details which make the difference with other hotels we've been in the past in this area. The location was perfect just in front of an old university and the beautiful Marquis palace.for sure we will come back

Room Tip: Our double room was a beautiful detailed and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciaesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We happened to drive into town when there was a festival going on and all, I mean all, the rooms were booked up. We walked in here and got their last room, which reception described as "tiny" and it was. I suspect it was in fact a sigle room, but we stayed two people in it. We had a bit of difficulty putting our bags anywhere they would not be in the way (did not work). However, it was nice to have a room at last and we did not worry. Oddly, the bathroom was almost as large as the room itself and beautifully decorated, seemed new. Breakfast was included as I recall and quite ok, they made eggs for you hot from the kitchen. Too bad the breakfast room was in the basement, very boring area. There was a restaurant open if you pre-booked, but we did not use it so don't know if this area was nicer. Seemed they could have done more with the facilities as the ground were indeed very nice. It was also free to leave your car in the parking lot, much needed as the town was flooded with festival goers
Comillas actually has lots of sights and is an interesting little town, we much enjoyed it and the sourroundings as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deselbyswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I agree with the previous reviewer, the impressive front of the hotel belies the fact that the rooms are out the back, dark and have views of the adjacent hedge! Hardly four-star.
However, the rooms are nicely done in an old-fashioned sort of way.
There was a bit of noise in the morning from the corridor and adjacent rooms, but not too bad, and the hotel is an easy and pleasant walk to the old town.
Easy parking is a big plus point, and the breakfast was pretty good too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyinhiscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed middle of march one night in this hotel on around trip.
main attraction was the impressive building and it's 4* rating. We learned that the hotel itself is only on the ground floor and the upper floors of the building are private apartments. the rooms are cosy and small, views non existing, all in all this was nowhere close to what I would understand as 4*, reception staff very friendly and spoke good English.
Location is very convenient for walking downtown through the park, we found the nearby bar Mombasa highly for food and drinks.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JL4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comillas
0.8 mi away
abba Comillas Golf Hotel
0.3 mi away
Josein
Josein
#4 of 7 in Comillas
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Mar Comillas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Tejo
El Tejo
#5 of 7 in Comillas
162 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
#2 of 10 in San Vicente de la Barquera
124 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comillas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comillas Hotel

Property: Comillas Hotel
Address: Paseo Solatorre 1, 39520 Comillas, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Comillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Comillas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comillas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing