We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic spanish hotel”
Review of Comillas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comillas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Rustic spanish hotel”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here two nights , rustic traditional no frills hotel , near the foothills of the Picos De Europa mountains, breakfast basic but ok, don't think I would sample an evening meal here but plenty of places in the seaside resort of Comillas nearby , lovely beach too . Staff friendly and a small outdoor pool if it gets too hot ( unheated ) we'll worth a stop over .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    44
    30
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Visiting this hotel as part of a large group, an attractive front garden and reception.
Large under ground parking area, good size room well equipped bathroom
My only criticism of the bathroom is the position of the shower head
And screen its difficult to take a shower without wetting the floor.
Good lounge aera, friendly staff some English speaking.
We did eat in the hotel but the group budget was small and the food not to everyone s taste,
So it is possibly not a good reflection of the of the kitchen.
Local bars restaurant s within walking distance.

Room Tip: We found the aera very quiet clean and attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducker450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is located on the Northern Camino Walk the west side of town, an excellent location to tour the city from and also prepare for the next days walk. Clean, staff is excellent, the price is more than appropriate. I would highly recommend this hotel for play or business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

my wife and I have a pleasant stay at this hotel it looks expensive an impressive as approach .
the rooms were clean tidy and plenty of room for a over night stay.found the down stays dinning room some what lacking in character . but a short walk down into the town many restaurants to choose from.....

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rich2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is really well located on the beach at Comillas.
Our room was in the basement of the hotel, at the end of a very dark hallway. While there was beautiful views of the sea there was no getting away from the damp smell in the room. The arm-chairs in the room were stained, and the wifi only worked in the hallway and not in the room itself. We knew there was no point in complaining as we had booked the last available room online.
Breakfast was good, as was lunch in the hotel.The restaurant appeared popular with tourists and locals alike which I consider a good sign.
In my opinion this hotel is over-priced relative to the quality of accommodation. Would sacrifice location in favour of a nicer hotel next time.

Room Tip: Avoid lower basement/end of hallway bedrooms if you still plan on staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

From the weather to the smell of spaghetti with spanish flavours bursting out of it, everything was amazing. Hotel Comillas was divine everything was clean and well organised! The staff were very friendly and easy to communitcate with! The atmosphere was great and very enjoyable! I dont normally enjoy sleeping on any other matress but mine , but i had no problems what so ever the room space was perfect and so was the bathroom ! I always ate my breakfast from the hotel and evern the food was spectacular and well presented ! the hotel was placed in the perfect destination as it was walking distance to the local town. I would walk everyday through them beige gulleys and see in the distance colourful senoritas dancing and entertianing the public ! You had everything you wanted close by there were fruit shops , clothing stores , food stores and many more others... The beach was also close by to which was really ideal as you wouldnt want to travel to far ... the beach was clean and friendly it was amazing to take a was in the evenings before the sun went down ... I also visited the mueseum that had an amazing art gallery there ! all in all my experience was wonderful and i would insist anybody should vist there especially if your a big fan of spain and its culture .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for Easter and we had an amazing time over there, the staff was really nice and helpful. The hotel has an classic and elegant style full of cute and classy details which make the difference with other hotels we've been in the past in this area. The location was perfect just in front of an old university and the beautiful Marquis palace.for sure we will come back

Room Tip: Our double room was a beautiful detailed and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciaesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comillas
0.8 mi away
abba Comillas Golf Hotel
0.0 mi away
El Tejo
El Tejo
#5 of 7 in Comillas
183 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
#2 of 10 in San Vicente de la Barquera
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
9.5 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#4 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
335 reviews
22.0 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comillas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comillas Hotel

Property: Comillas Hotel
Address: Paseo Solatorre 1, 39520 Comillas, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Comillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Comillas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comillas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing