We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place on the beach”
Review of Josein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Josein
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Virginia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very nice place on the beach”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Very affordable. Clean. Friendly. Nice management. The rooms on the beach offer gorgeous views, Good parking. The Comillas attractions (aside from the beach) are a drive but being so close to the sea is worth it.

Room Tip: spring for the seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodsearcher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    62
    13
    4
    11
See reviews for
28
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, Devon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is an unprepossessing hotel in a very good location. The room has a great view over the beach but the decor is dated and it had no coffee making facilities. The staff are courteous but the breakfast was very disappointing with limited choice and you are given a cup of coffee rather than a pot. At around €100 per room per night it was not good value €80 would be more appropriate.
Comillas itself is a lovely location, beautiful bay and delightful town. We will return to Comillas but not to Josein.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SensibleChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel Josein is a lovely hotel for a short break which deserves more than its 2 stars as it has everything you need. Our room had huge windows with a fabulous view of the beach!
The evening meals, taken in a dining room overlooking the beach were good too.
Breakfast was more than adequate. the staff were helpful and friendly. The receptionist/ manager spoke good English!
It is a short walk to the pretty town of Comillas where there is a Gaudi designed house, El caprichio.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We recently returned from our vacation in Spain, spending two nights at Hotel Josein. The rooms all face out to the sea and our rooms had enclosed terraces with tables and chairs to enjoy the view of the water. Windows open wide to let in the breeze and sounds of the surf. Clean, simple...the big plus is the view and the terrace. Short walk in to the village which was a charming medieval village...not touristy like Santillana del Mar. Friendly management. A great way to start our vacation!

Room Tip: ask for a room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Hotel is in a fantastic location, overhanging the beach. Comillas is a wonderful little town to stay for 2 nights. It has an old and well-to-do centre which is about 200m inland. The beach is quite separate and not spoilt by shops or fuss. Most other Comillas hotels are more in the town or on the outskirts. From Hotel Josein it's a 300m walk up a slope and down a slope to get to the town, but everything in Comillas is walkable anyway. Parking is at front of hotel and space is limited when busy so no guarantee of a space. Breakfast was absolutely fine, orange juice out a machine, bread, good croissants, and a variety of cereals. A good value 2 star hotel, very laid back atmosphere, a simple no frills set up. Be ready to speak Spanish not English.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

The 50s building is pretty horrid from the outside but the amazing views from the hotel rooms have to be seen to be believed. It's almost like being on a boat with the massive windows filled with a seaview. Owners friendly enough but don't expect any breakfast if you're even five minutes late. Nice comfortable rooms and clean modern bathrooms. Our room had free wireless internet. Only downside was room smelt a bit smokey.

  • Liked — Views, parking
  • Disliked — Slight smell of cigarettes in room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank annaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

A real find. This modest 2 star hotel charges a mere 60 euros for the best view i've ever had! Our good sized room overlooked the stunning sandy beach, that is to say the hotel is situated on the beach! We could see the ocean from our bed! A great restaurant el faro not far from hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank davesbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comillas
0.8 mi away
Comillas Hotel
Comillas Hotel
#2 of 7 in Comillas
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
abba Comillas Golf Hotel
0.8 mi away
El Tejo
El Tejo
#5 of 7 in Comillas
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
#2 of 10 in San Vicente de la Barquera
145 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
5.8 mi away
Hotel Azul de Galimar
Hotel Azul de Galimar
#3 of 10 in San Vicente de la Barquera
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josein

Property: Josein
Address: Calle Manuel Noriega 27, 39520 Comillas, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Comillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Josein 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Josein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Josein Hotel Comillas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing