We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location.”
Review of Josein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Josein
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Approaching on the narrow, curvy road into the village of Comillas, one easily could dismiss the Hotel Josein as a concrete bunker. You don’t realize that the hotel is hanging over the lovely beach until you look through the small lobby, which has windows opening to a splendid view of the rugged Cantabrian coast. Contemplate the privileged location overlooking the beach and wonder about how the building appears to hang from the cliff that protects the sand below.

The Josein is a two star hotel, as it does not offer many amenities of higher rated lodgings. There is no doorman, the receptionist doubles as bartender in the attached restaurant, and the rooms are basic: twin beds, minimal furnishings and decorations, no in-room safe, basic bathroom, and towels. Nonetheless, it is a lovely place to stay. The hotel does offer complementary wi-fi, with decent network speed. The rooms and common areas are absolutely clean, and you’ll sleep to the sound of the surf crashing against the beach. When the skies clear (not an every day ocurrance on Spain’s northern coast), you’ll walk right down the hotel steps to the sand.

We found the staff members to be courteous and generally efficient. Our check in and check out were accomplished quickly, and the breakfast servers managed a smile to wish us good morning. We also enjoyed a nice lunch at the restaurant, which was a good value in spite of being slightly more expensive that other places in the village. The homemade desserts may be worth the expense. The clear advantage here is the location and the view. The center of Comillas, with numerous cafés, bars, and restaurants, is a ten-minute walk over the hill, on a pedestrian path that will be clear of traffic once you cross the road. You’ll enjoy wonderful views of the coast both coming and going.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were driving along the Northern coast of Spain from West to East. This is an older hotel but its location is unbeatable. Its right on the waters edge at the end of a long golden sandy beach. The views are outstanding. Our room was on the sea side and had views to die for, a conservatory that was completley glass and you can see the waves on the rocks below you. The linens and towels were immaculate, clean great hotel alebit older style. Still had modern TV etc. Great breakfast inclued in the price and again the best view over the sea from the restaurant. Easy parking. Enjoy a glass of wine as you watch the sunset, peaceful, relaxed....perfect spot for a night. The village \ town is about 5mins by car and has a village square, restaurants etc. Very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the sea side. Make sure you have breakfast, its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Very affordable. Clean. Friendly. Nice management. The rooms on the beach offer gorgeous views, Good parking. The Comillas attractions (aside from the beach) are a drive but being so close to the sea is worth it.

Room Tip: spring for the seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodsearcher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is an unprepossessing hotel in a very good location. The room has a great view over the beach but the decor is dated and it had no coffee making facilities. The staff are courteous but the breakfast was very disappointing with limited choice and you are given a cup of coffee rather than a pot. At around €100 per room per night it was not good value €80 would be more appropriate.
Comillas itself is a lovely location, beautiful bay and delightful town. We will return to Comillas but not to Josein.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SensibleChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel Josein is a lovely hotel for a short break which deserves more than its 2 stars as it has everything you need. Our room had huge windows with a fabulous view of the beach!
The evening meals, taken in a dining room overlooking the beach were good too.
Breakfast was more than adequate. the staff were helpful and friendly. The receptionist/ manager spoke good English!
It is a short walk to the pretty town of Comillas where there is a Gaudi designed house, El caprichio.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lluckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We recently returned from our vacation in Spain, spending two nights at Hotel Josein. The rooms all face out to the sea and our rooms had enclosed terraces with tables and chairs to enjoy the view of the water. Windows open wide to let in the breeze and sounds of the surf. Clean, simple...the big plus is the view and the terrace. Short walk in to the village which was a charming medieval village...not touristy like Santillana del Mar. Friendly management. A great way to start our vacation!

Room Tip: ask for a room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Hotel is in a fantastic location, overhanging the beach. Comillas is a wonderful little town to stay for 2 nights. It has an old and well-to-do centre which is about 200m inland. The beach is quite separate and not spoilt by shops or fuss. Most other Comillas hotels are more in the town or on the outskirts. From Hotel Josein it's a 300m walk up a slope and down a slope to get to the town, but everything in Comillas is walkable anyway. Parking is at front of hotel and space is limited when busy so no guarantee of a space. Breakfast was absolutely fine, orange juice out a machine, bread, good croissants, and a variety of cereals. A good value 2 star hotel, very laid back atmosphere, a simple no frills set up. Be ready to speak Spanish not English.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comillas
0.8 mi away
Comillas Hotel
Comillas Hotel
#2 of 7 in Comillas
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
abba Comillas Golf Hotel
0.8 mi away
El Tejo
El Tejo
#4 of 7 in Comillas
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Mar Comillas
5.8 mi away
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
#2 of 10 in San Vicente de la Barquera
169 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel El Castillo de Suances
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Josein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josein

Address: Calle Manuel Noriega 27, 39520, Comillas, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Comillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Comillas
Price Range: £55 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Josein 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Josein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Josein Hotel Comillas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing