We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Nearby Hotels
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only(Malgrat de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Papi(Malgrat de Mar)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Luna Park Hotel(Malgrat de Mar)(Great Value!)
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ALEGRIA Maripins(Malgrat de Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tropic Park(Malgrat de Mar)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Rosa Nautica(Malgrat de Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Amaraigua Hotel(Malgrat de Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Luna Club(Malgrat de Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aparthotel Iris(Malgrat de Mar)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
369
218
97
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
218
97
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar staffsuperior roomshearings coach holidayplenty of choicelovely hotelacross the roadhalf boardvery clean hotelpool arealovely holidaybuffet styleall inclusive packageweek holidaylots of shopsthe air conditioningfishlunch and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The rooms in this hotel are really nice and comfortable as is the hotel overall.Unfortunatley that is where it ends for me.The staff at this hotel are not what i would call very polite,often rude, and seem to have very little time for anyone.However,this is not the case for the ladies that change the beds, as they work very hard and always have a Ola to you in the a.m.I think i,m right in saying that this is a coach type hotel.The food here is very very basic and often so bad its inedible.I have no axe to grind with this hotel, but they could do with some sort of a lesson in customer service and a good look at the menu.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garym228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

fantastic holiday,fantastic hotel! only one shortfall was that we had to share tables at mealtimes with other guests who were on the same coach trip,however being same guests all week we got on really well and had great conversations at mealtimes,this was a bit offputting at first but quite enjoyed it eventually. food was great,not all english food but we ate really well plenty of choice for everyone including vegetarian food, the hotel was spotlessly clean EVERYWHERE lovely white fluffy towels changed each day if you put them on the floor,bedding clean with extra blankets and pillows,very spacious rooms plenty of room to put toiletries in the bathrooms and large mirrored wardrobes in the rooms, balconys cleaned. hotel on front in good location shops bars etc left and right outside hotel,crown and anchor pub along the road to the left near the roundabout was the cheapest place to drink,very very large glasses and very nice people there!!! beach is very gritty does hurt your feet however very clean,weather was great most of week,one rainy day! 2nd time in malgrat, didnt love it first time and still dont but this is a great place for a winter break but wouldnt come for summer hol not enough here for me. there are new refurbished superior rooms which cost about 84 euro extra per week but those who stayed in them said they were worth the extra with fridges and double sinks etc

Room Tip: i stayed in 350 3rd floor looked onto old tennis court and across to private apartments,the new rooms look onto pool and front of hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from 3 nights in the Monteplaya. Spotlessly clean hotel, all areas gleaming.
The breakfast was fine, quite a good variety so there was something to suit almost everyone. We didn't eat dinner here so I can't comment on that.
The location is wonderful, right on the beachfront, 5 mins walk to the train station which will take you to Barcelona, only 30 mins drive from Girona Airport.
I would recommend the Vistamar Restaurant next door, it doesn't look like much but the food is fabulous and really really reasonably priced.
The only negative (and it is only very minor) is the peculiar glass walls in the bathroom. I was sharing with a friend and it was quite odd.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

First the good points.
This was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The rooms and all the public areas were kept very clean. There were plenty of places to sit and read or just chill out.
The size of the room was good too ( well, the second one was). The hotel was not noisey. The shower worked well and soap and shower gel was provided. The jacuzzi pool was very good.
Now the bad points.
Given a small room overlooked by other balconies when other much better rooms were available.
Staff unfriendly, verging on the rude. Never a smile, never a good morning/hola in return for mine. Only the cleaning staff were nice. The food in the restaurant was very basic and often inedible. One dinner menu was a choice of Ox liver or squid. Now I am not a fussy eater, but that night I ate only vegetables and salad. I did that on several occassions. It was a very tight squeeze in the dining room, not much room round the tables. Lots of the breakfast foods (ie butter and cheese and ham) was not chilled and left for all the duration of serving (8-9.45).
We never looked forward to our meals, which was a shame. The pool was much smaller than we thought. The pictures made it look as though it was full size. It was not.
To sum up, I have stayed at lots of hotels all over Europe and USA and find it a shame that the staff and the food let this one down. I know it is not a five star, but they could have made this place a lot better for not much more money. Manners and customer appreciation cost nothing.

Room Tip: If you are given a bad room, don't accept it!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frogphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just had a very enjoyable holiday in Malgrat staying at the Hotel Monteplaya, a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, good food something for every nationalility, so nobody would go hungry, always enjoyed the breakfasts plenty of choice. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool at the next door hotel, with views right across the street to the sea. A good place for the less able were walking was concerned as it was very flat with plenty of shops to browse in along the way. Hotel was very central to Malgrat old town and Santasuanna, so there was no problem with choice. There is also a lovely beach which was soon reached by the underpass not far from the hotel.We had a lovely young lady as our chambermaid didn't speak any English but we managed to communicate very well with her as our Spanish was about as good as her English!!! The staff in general were excellent especially the Dining Room Manager and the front of the house staff. The Bar was very pleasant and we did spend a few nights in there especially when there was entertainment on, which was reasonable, also they did do many sessions of Happy Hour which were very much appreciated by most people. The pool was lovely but as we are both well in 70's we found the water to be a bit too cool but the sunbathing area above the pool was great Incidentally we did notice how attentive the staff were to the less able bodied people.Would we go back YES hopefully next year.

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor room overlooking the next door hotel pool was great as it gave great views across to the sea. would suggest room nos 312 to 316 or 321, others on this side tend to over look balconies of hotel next door.Also at the time of year when we were there the sun was on our balcony from around 1pm until 5pm great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank recycledteenager21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews