We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Got a great deal from Sherings. Had half board for 1 week here. Breakfast was good but became a little same-same. Evening meals were always good - good quality food - plenty of choose and as much as you want - with a bottle of wine chucked in.

Could be seated with others for dinner - but got lucky with a nice interesting couple.

Pool is lovely - and has a spa pool and sun deck.
Room is simple - but free air-con - nice balcony - could do with a fridge but encourages you to use the bar - drinks were fairly priced - and had a daily special cocktail.

All in all - great location, great hotel, great price :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    204
    87
    25
    21
See reviews for
195
312
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just had a good holiday with 6 of my friends. Hotel was very nice and lovely staff. Only disappointment was the open plan bathroom, with glass panels through into the bedroom. Some of the panel was frosted but you could see into the toilet and shower from the bed. There was no door to the bathroom either, so no privacy at all. Understand they were trying to get lots of light but panels should have been completely frosted. My friend and I had to go onto the balcony whilst the other had a shower for privacy. not a lot of variety food wise, although it did improve through the week. practically no entertainment, we went to other hotels for that.

Room Tip: ask for pool view, as front has a railway, which starts 6.10 a.m trains every 20 mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We absolutely love Monteplaya Hotel. Staff is very friendly and would do anything for your comfort.
Room's are clean and great with balcony where you can sit or dry your stuff after swimming on provided hang in rail.
Reception was renovated recently and I love what they did with space and how open is now.
It's superb hotel for families.
The beach is five minutes away walking and shops everywhere around.
You can also find info about any excursion or site to see in lobby or ask at desk.
My daughter has always great time and so do we.
If you looking for family friendly hotel in Malgrat de Mar go to Monteplaya.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lenka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a wonderful time here, lovely clean room and good food.The beach was 2 mins from the beach and at this time of the year it was lovely and quiet. If you enjoy markets there is one somewhere near every day of the week. I would go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarionHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned home after a very pleasant stay at the hotel monteplaya, malgrat de mar. The hotel is extremely well run and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful. There is a good variety of food at mealtimes and breakfast is freshly cooked, bacon, eggs, omelette etc. The chef is there cooking lunch and evening meals of fish or meat.
The bar staff are very attentive, and there is a good variety of entertainment, and a pleasant loung to relax in.
We were in a lovely room overlooking the pool with a very nice bathroom and walk in shower. Everything was very fresh and pristine. This was our second stay at the Monteplaya hotel and we can certainly recommend it.
outside the pool area and garden is very well maintained.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room, with a view of pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The rooms are very basic but the cleanliness of the whole hotel is of the greatest standard. All the staff are helpful and friendly which goes a long way to the enjoyment of your holiday. The restaurant at all times gave you a good selection and again was always kept clean. The pool looked inviting but the weather when we were there was not at its best. There was entertainment, maybe not to every ones taste but again there was a variety of different things on different evenings. Amenities round and about Malgrat where not difficult to get to, it has a good bus and train service. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, if you go as a single, couple or family, it caters for all.

Room Tip: rooms are close together and walls are quite thin, so if you want a quiet holiday, make sure that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We Stayed for eight nights last October. We found the hotel service to be excellent throughout our stay. The room was excellent and clean as was the rest of the hotel. Restaurant food was very good with an excellent choice at every meal. Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.1 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Ad...
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#8 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumus Hotel Monteplaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumus Hotel Monteplaya

Property: Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Address: Passeig Maritim 50-52, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel Monteplaya)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#3 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sumus Hotel Monteplaya 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a relaxing holiday next to the beach with all the services, personalized attention and the maximum comfort? Welcome to Sumus Hotel Monteplaya. Our privileged location in Malgrat de Mar's promenade, in the Barcelona - Maresme Coast, makes us the perfect base to visit Barcelona, ​​Girona, the Costa Brava and the areas of touristic interest in Catalonia. In addition to 168 rooms completely renovated, we have a wide range of services, including buffet restaurant, a gastronomic point with tasting menu, snack bar service at the pool and lounge-terrace, two swimming pools, massage and beauty services, multipurpose room, a selection of monitored activities (yoga, tai-chi, etc.) and a variety of shows, DJs and live music in the evenings. The perfect place to make the most of your next vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Sumus Hotel Monteplaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteplaya Hotel Malgrat De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing