We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant value for money, clean, good food - packed full of win.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reymar Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reymar Playa
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money, clean, good food - packed full of win.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at the Reymar Playa for a 3night half board break through Low Cost Packages. If you go end of April / early May we had it around 20-23 in the day but if the sun goes in, its early mornings or night - its chilly so take a thick cardi/sweater.

We arrived late on the Friday and were in Room 101 (!) which faces the hotel next door, so crap balcony view and one flight up from the bar, next to the stairwell which meant the room was noisy with music and shoes clattering on the stairs. Due to time of year it got chilly at night but the air-con in the room heats too - lovely!!

Entertainment is different every night and very good (despite looking cheesy on the posters the entertainers are great!) and stopped around 11:30pm at the latest so the room was quiet afterwards, until around 7:30am-ish when the shoes (heading for breakfast) started again but we normally get up around then so we didn't mind. If we had been staying longer than three days I would have asked to move. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom looked as good as new. Lovely powerful shower and plenty hot water at all times of the day.

The breakfast is your usual cheese, meats, breads, croissants etc plus cereals, bacon, sausage, eggs so plenty of choice. If half board you can eat from 12:30pm until 9:30 so its up to you if you use your included feed for lunch or dinner. There is a wide selection of chips, seafoods, salads all on a buffet as well as stews and meats under hot lights. Food is replenished often and very tasty. Tables are again, spotless and promptly cleared - but the staff don't hover around and make you feel rushed. We chose to sit by the pool all morning, have a late lunch then go out in the afternoons, eating out for dinner. The bar and pool areas are spotlessly clean and the bar staff wait on - so you don't have to stop sunbathing to get a drink! There is a good selection of drinks, well known brands of alcohol, cocktails, mocktails etc and there are plenty of seats and loungers.

Reception are friendly and helpful and will give you the key for a baggage room and showers if you have a transfer much later on your day of check out (by 10am) - alternatively, if they have room you can pay for a room for an extra day if you are heading home late on for €30. The safe in the room is €18 but you get €10 back when you hand the key back in.

Locally, opposite the hotel is a sports club offering mini-golf, football, basketball, squash, badminton, tennis and a gym, the beach is over the road ( you must use the under-pass due to train line) - the trains are really quiet - we barely noticed them even sat outside so no worries about them disrupting your sleep!

Out of the hotel reception and right (opposite direction to beach) then right again will bring you to the Eureka English pub on the corner if you fancy a taste of home and a relaxed drink - plus very friendly and helpful staff - who will also do you a packed lunch for your plane journey back if you pre-order. If you go out of the hotel and onto the main road and go left for around ten minutes, you will get to the main shopping street and areas to book excursions, if you go out of the hotel, to the main road and turn right, there are more restaurants, bars and disco's. We went to Maui (beach side steak house and bar about five mins away) a couple of times - it has a lovely restaurant area, as well as a big chill out area so you can laze on sofa's watching the sea. Food and drink look expensive on the menu compared to other places but we found that's because the portions were twice the size! Further along on the same side of the hotel is a small amusement arcade offering pool, basket ball games, arcade games, mini quads, trampolines, bungees etc

Malgrat has good shopping for self caterers and bits for the /souveniers but if you wanted to spend a day shopping you would need to go further afield. The area itself is clean tidy and quiet - we had a brilliant weekend and would definitely recommend both the area and hotel for holiday makers of all ages and physical abilities- alternate underpasses to the beach have slopes. There is plenty of parking at the hotel and neighbourhood streets as well as disabled spaces that were left clear. There are plenty of cash points dotted around too if you run short of cash.

My only criticism was that there was no net curtain in our room, and due to its close proximity to the next hotel, we had to get ready with the curtains drawn and no natural light when changing in the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea or mountain view and high up - and if its spring/autumn take socks as the tiles get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkLittlestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    170
    124
    42
    49
See reviews for
130
196
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
motherwell
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

rooms are small but were ok for our 5 days here staff were very helpful ,entertainment each night we certainly enjoyed that good variation of artists coffee 1.50 euro ,beer/wine 3 euro . location is good not too far from railway station we got a taxi when we arrived cost 5 euro walk there any other time only 10 min .regular train service to barca every 1/2 ( half )hr cost 8.60 return for 2 .
food was good plenty off different dishes each night

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmacdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

cant fault hotel really good value room 517 very small but good balcony and views only 2 small points we left at 5 .30 in the morning no coffeee or breakfast avalible would go back john and carol cooper

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were 4 girls travelling in September full board. Upon arrival the night receptionist was very friendly and advised where we can have some dinner. We were given a card were staff mark how many times you went to have dinner. Drinks are about 2 euro. The food is typical Spanish self service. Always fresh and there was something for everyone. The tables had table cloth and cleaned immediately. No old food or anything disgusting in the dinning area, so cannot fault at all. The room were very clean and spacious with a lovely balcony. The towels changed everyday. Not much shower gel/soap but you wouldn't expect that in 3 star hotel.
In the evening the bar had some entertainment like karaoke, disco or games. Because of the time of the year there were many elderly people but they were so much fun. Nice terrace to sit outside, but it does has a street view. However the hotel is right across the road from beautiful beach so cannot fault the location.
Overall we have enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for nice holiday with no faults. Likewise couples families, solo or friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Miss-Sunshine2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We have stayed in this hotel twice and would go again. our stay was 5th october for a week. The staff were brillant and hotel spotless. We will be back very good for what we paid pat jardine

Room Tip: Like corner rooms and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank patricia94105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel staff were very helpful and cheerful. The bedroom was small but adequate and very clean.We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony with a view of the hills. The food was ok but not remarkable, although fresh salad was much appreciated and the microwave useful to reheat baked beans and chips! We liked the fact that you could eat the main meal at lunch time or in the evening and there was plenty of food.There was not a lot of choice of local restaurants,mostly italian.Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would have been welcomed..

The evening entertainment was better on some nights than others but generally ok. The surrounding area was lovely and we walked to the resorts on either side of Malgrat, enjoyed a day in Barcelona and drives out to Rupit and Madremanya. Chris Howey

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

I wouldn't say "Average" or "Very good", for me this hotel was somewhere in between, good for the money we paid.
Rooms cleaned every day, beds made and clean towels.
Room was an adequate size, we had a triple, shame there wasn't a double bed though, we got 3 singles. We had a nice view from the balcony as our room was situated at the side of the hotel so we got the sun as it set.
The food was fine, not too much variation from one night to the next but it was adequate, depends what time you get to the restaurant as to whether the dished have been replenished and are fresh. We went half board so could choose between lunch and dinner which comes in handy if you have made plans for the evening.
Most of the staff were reasonably friendly.
Downsides were the hair dryer was broken, and they charge you 1 euro to use the iron.
Also we weren't allowed to take our own drinks to the pool, so we left our bottle of water at the bar which they had poured away when we went back to collect it >:(
There is wifi in the bar but you have to buy a drink to get the password, which is obviously overpriced.
The entertainment wasn't very good, not varied and mostly karaoke and amateur singers. There was much better entertainment on last year at the Reymar Hotel down the road.
September is a good time to go as there aren't as many tourists and the weather is still lovely.
I would return if the price was right but would say overall the Reymar is better.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superwizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reymar Hotel
Reymar Hotel
#15 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Papi
Hotel Papi
#10 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reymar Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reymar Playa

Property: Reymar Playa
Address: Paseo Maritimo 54, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Reymar Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Reymar Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reymar Playa Hotel Malgrat De Mar
Hotel Reymar Playa
Reymar Playa Malgrat De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing