We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below parr”
Review of Reymar Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reymar Playa
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We have recently returned from malgart de mar staying at the reymar playa, i can honestly say it was one of my worse experiences, staying there, althought i will say the reception Marion who has worked at this hotel for many years , was concerned that the room which had been allocated by the travel company would not be suitable, because it was a promation room, which meant, single room with a double bed, which your would have had to climb ove to get out, because the room was so small, it therefore cost me 25 euro more to change rooms, then there a tax to be paid which was 6 euro, the safe hire was 30 euros you got ten back when you left , if you wanted to watch tv in your room it would cost you 10 euros deposit if you wanted to use a hair dryer it would cost you 10 euro to hire,
Before we even got to our room it costs us in total 66 euros.
Well the restraurtant, having work in housekeeping and catering, well for breakfast there was 7 trays of bread, boil eggs cold meat and cheese 3 trays of jams etc , cakes bacon and bake beans
to get coffee and tea, this was situated in the corner of the dining room next to the orange juice,
you had to get you own cups from the side,
lunch poss better time to eat, only the hot plates were cold there for i recommend heating your diner in the micro wave, next to the cold fridge,
be prepare to queue, they have the salad on the same side as the hot food, not good then when you get to the end , if you need a drink you have to be prepared to pay for your water, wine etc at the end of the hot plate, not good,
Staff behind the hot plate do not wear hats or gloves when handling food, or wash their hands after handling the money??
In fact quite a few people all hard colds or flu.
the reception area lounge no lights on in the day time, so if your want to sit in there to read a book , be prepare to be in the dark.
Make sure someone stays at your table otherwise, you plate etc gets taken away by the staff and your table could have someone else sitting there.
Good points , nice swimming pool, but very cold, there is a railway line just across the road be prepare for the noise, the beach is the other side if the line can be access via subway, nice traven on beach very friendly, shelving beach to sea.
the holiday didnt start well as we were drop off at the wrong hotel of the same name up the road, so had to find hotel along the road.
There isnt much in Malgrat de mar, the old town was virtually shut down ,when taken little local train cost 3.50 euros round trip. just the tourist street looked busy, but i did spot a new leisure swimming pool near the old town.
Shirely W opposite , write up has the same opinion , please read hers too!
good point go out off the hotel and visit the euraka british bar its situated be hind the hotel about 5 mins walk , a friendly happy pub, loads of fun and laughters in the evening, and good food.
also go out of the hotel turn left the right go up the main street pass the other reymar hotel , you find a sports bar , it has hot patio fire out side, very friendly.
I would not recommend this hotel, i booked on the nett next time i'll go to the travel agent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thelmalewisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have just finished a 2 week stay at the Reymar Playa, and I can honestley say that it is the worst place I have ever stayed in in my life. The only good thing I can say about this is that the room, although small, was clean and we got clean towels every day, the cleaner was very pleasant and helpful, and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful. That's it, it's all downhill from now. 190 bedrooms, and only 2 uncomfortable setees for the whole of the hotel.The coffee served by miserable bar staff was more like weak chocolate, the underworked bar staff and waiters seemed more concerned with making sure nobody took their own drinks to the pool area. If the bar prices were reduced, more people would spend their hard earned cash over the bar.The food.....well breakfast was mainly bread,cold beans,boiled eggs,hard cereals, horrid bacon, and a selection of cheese and cold meats.The drinks machines were in a corner of the dining room which meant bedlam trying to get a drink. Dinners...if you don't like salad then you ain't gonna enjoy your meal of chips (every day), cold vegetables, bony fish and some forms of meat. Sometimes, if you were lucky, you got nice chicken or pork, but that wasn't a regular thing. The dining room staff were miserable and hell bent on taking away your plates before you have properly finished with them. On top of all that, our room, a back room overlooking the allotments, although a nice view of the mountains, was in the direct line of fire of a bloody yapping dog that barked all day and all night, and nobody seemed to quieten it, plus the walls are thin and you could hear Everything !! that was going on in the next room. I not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We chose the hotel as a base to see Barcelona and we were very happy. We arrived at about 11am to find our room ready and able to check in which was a nice un expected surprise! The receptionist that checked us in was very helpful and polite as we're all of the team that we came in contact with. The room was on the small size but very clean and had a balcony so what more can you want or expect from a budget hotel..... The chamber maids even came round every day to clean and change towels which I thought was nice and have not always had this done in more expensive hotels. On exploring the town it was pleasant enough with I wide range of places to eat and drink and the beach was directly opposite the hotel. Important to us, the train station was only 10 mins walk away and only took about an hour to get to Barcelona. We did spend a day around the hotel pool and we did find it a little unusual that we couldn't even drink our own bottle water or eat a snack but that would be my only grumble. If you are on a budget and want basic accommodation with no frills then this is the place for you! Thank you to all the staff that made our stay a happy one!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jolened84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have recently arrived at stalag reymar.I have never known such a miserable set of staff(receptiion and cleaners excluded) as at this place.The bar staff watch your every move, making sure you dont bring your own drinks into the bar/pool areas.BRING THE PRICES DOWN TO THE SAME LEVEL AS OUTSIDE BARS AND YOU WILL GET MORE CUSTOMERS, SIMPLES.Bar staff hardly overworked.Room small but clean.Not enough comfortable seating in communal areas.Food never hot enough, and only average.Good position on seafront near all the CHEAP BARS. HOPE REYMARMANAGEMENT READ THIS.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I recently visited this hotel and must say that for a 3 night stay it was great.
Very well located, just across the road from the beach. Very helpful and polite staff, rooms basic but clean and well kept.
Pool area was nice and clean.
If I had one small (very small) complaint it would be that the buffet food wasn't great but was more than acceptable.
All in all a very good hotel for those on a bit of a budget.
Would recommend!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fonz1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We booked a 5 night stay at the hotel and were pleasantly suprised. The rooms were very clean, the shower was good and we had a balcony overlooking the sea and the mountains. The reception were very helpful and the bar staff efficient. We did not stay for the evening entertainment most nights but it always seemed to be busy. Breakfast was always plentiful, we had bacon and eggs most days but there was also pastries and continental options. The evening meals did a large salad selection and 3-4 hot food options followed by ice cream, fruit and jelly. The only small criticism is you had to pay for a drink with the evening meal. The hotel organised trips to Barcelona and also did tickets to the football and Grand Prix. The hotel was within walking distance to Santa Susanna and the town of malgret de mar which had many cafes, shops, pizzerias and bars. All in all we had a brilliant holiday and are already saving to go again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which would have been noisy if we had wanted an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Caroline154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We decided at the last minute to take a break and found this place at a very reasonable price. Was very worried after reading some of the reviews but needn't have. The hotel receptionists are friendly and helpful. The room we had was at the back over looking the mountains and was lovely and quite to sit on the balcony, it was a good size and adequate for what we needed. The room was cleaned well as was the whole hotel. All the staff we dealt with were helpful and friendly some of the bar staff were very jokey. The food was plentiful but usually not very warm, and was repetitive especially breakfast. Queues for breakfast drinks could be bad. Entertainment each night was fine to sit with a drink, singalong with or dance too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Reymar Hotel
Reymar Hotel
#16 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Papi
Hotel Papi
#10 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reymar Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reymar Playa

Address: Paseo Maritimo 54, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: £33 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reymar Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reymar Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reymar Playa Hotel Malgrat De Mar
Hotel Reymar Playa
Reymar Playa Malgrat De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing