We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!! Definetley going back next year and i never go back to the same place twice!!!”
Review of Luna Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Me and my friend came to this hotel for 4 nights for my birthday. As soon as we arrived the staff were lovely and helpful!! Room was spotless, clean and well maintained. we had a beautiful view looking on to the pool. The next morning we went and got breakfast it was amazing the food was fantastic they did bacon sasuages bacon eggs crossaints toast ceral omlettes and lots of fruit. we went all inclsusive the drinks are 11am-11pm the staff are all so friendly i had a fantastic holiday i have been on a caribean p&o cruise and disney land florida and this is about the same as them!! i would highly recommend this hotel it is perfect for familys couples and groups of friends as there are clubs 5mins walk from hotel, i would recommend club tropicana and the frog for a good night out! and for familys you can get a train into a water park it is amazing! its only a 3star but should defo be a 4!!!

Room Tip: make sure you ask for pool view as the other side is just of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

just got back from hotel luna park , yes rooms very basic like going back to the 70s but it was clean , comfy beds,pillows ok . food ok you wouldnt starve, spain is not a place i usually take my hols was a shock when we walked down the road turn left , all the hotels along the front so scuffy/ tattey cheap sunbeds, then reliazed we had bookrd the best hotel here being 5 min walk away from the front was the best choice we could have made. we just went for 7 days in the sun we new it was not 5 star but it was ok .weather not the best it seemed quite chilly in the mornings needing a jacket then come 1 00 am sitting around the pool . would not ever consider coming here in the summer the queing in the resturent would be horrendous. as only having one buffet rest. . you need to take a kettle with you ,as you cannot get a drink of any kind after 11.00 pm THE BAR CLOSES never ever in 35 y rs have i ever known a bar to close even tho we offered to pay , as we were on A I met some nice people, indoor pool was a bonus , rec. staff very polite, other staff not the most friendly, give me the greeks any day .

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be the same size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babsLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in the 3 star Luna Park, and got back this morning and I can say it was a fantastic break. Initially thought the rooms were small, but for an all inclusive holiday it was big enough for our needs and very clean, maid service every day, shower fantastic with plenty of hot water.

All the staff was great and friendly from the receptionist to the cleaners. The food was very good, with plenty of variety, the pool area, communal facilities etc was nice. We had entertainment every night which offered a variety for all ages in Spanish and English.

We’d definitely return as it was really good value for money, good location, easy walking distance to beach and shops.

I can’t understand why people complaining about this hotel as I only have positive experience and excellence throughout even with the hotel full as it was every night there was plenty of everything for everyone and never felt overcrowded.

We are planning to go again for a short weekend later on this year and I can’t wait.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bath186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Got back yesterday (14th October) from a week at Luna Park with a friend, from the very beginning everyone was very helpful and friendly. We stayed half board, and really enjoyed it, the food was good if you like German or Spanish food, fine for me as my other half is German, The breakfast was brilliant with a choice of full english (ok the sausages were German, but still tasty), fruit, cheese and meats, yoghurt or the chef would cook up fresh eggs or omlettes, dinner was good as well, with a good variety of food, my friend is a little fussy, so she ate a lot of pasta, but there was always a good choice, if you got to breakfast or dinner exactly when they started there was a little queue, but if you waited 10-15 mins we got seated and our food a lot easier. The hotel is set back from the front, halfway between Santa Suzanna and Malgrat de Mar a nice 5 min stroll from the beach and a lovely beach bar at the end of the road, under the underpass for the train line. There was complementary Yoga, Tai Chi, Watsu and many more relaxing activities at the hotel. We were in the three start Luna Park and knew this before going, but the room was more than adequate, comfy beds, the most amazing shower I have ever had and cleaned every day, even though we left out beds a right mess, they were made beautifully each day. Malgrat is more of a touristy resort with the typical souvenier shops with some more upmarket shops in Santa Suzanna. We went into Blanes and Callella on the train (very cheap) and Barcelona on a wonderful tour bus (£25 euros each with an English speaking guide). Will most definitely be going back again to this hotel and take more advantage of the complementary activities and explore the region more. I really cannot understand people giving this hotel a bad review, the people who's room wasnt booked for them shouldnt really blame the hotel, that was down to their tour operator. If you want a nice relaxing friendly holiday then this is a great hotel. And dont worry about towels being left on sun loungers (at least in October) we had no problems getting a sun lounger even in the afternoon. The staff were all great even the night porter who had been on shift since midnight was extremely helpful and cheerful at 7.15am when we were waiting for our transfer back to Girona airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pool side room especially if you are going over a weekend as about 5 mins walk from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith69plyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Got back from staying at the Luna Park on 4th October and all I can say is it was a fantastic holiday, all the staff were great and friendly from the receptionist to the cleaners, food was good some queing but nothing to worry about. Our room was cleaned every day again nothing to complain about. Not sure what some people on here expect from this type of holiday we had a great time and felt it was money well spent, the beach was about a 5 min walk away which was a nice walk after all that food. We are planning to go again next year cant wait.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My friend and I arrived at the Luna park expecting a four night stay with 4 other friends. Handing over our confirmation the receptionist looked very concerned and after checking our reservation said the hotel had no record of our booking, accepting no responsibility she said there was nothing they could do as the hotel was full and told us to contact our agent.
2 of our party did have a booking, leaving 4 of us stranded. After numerous very expensive telephone calls and 9 hrs of wasted holiday time we were given an alternative hotel some 800m away.
Not what we planned, as our group having travelled from Devon, Manchester and Belgium to spend time together were split into 2 groups and re accomodated in a hotel without the amenities we had expected.
Visiting the Luna park the next day, pleading with them to provide us with the room we had booked they confessed that they already had 2 rooms overbooked that day as well.
So it would appear that this is the 'norm' for the Luna Park.
I would say to would be travellers to the Luna Park....... be careful, be VERY careful!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Janee124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I came back home a little bit more than a week ago, impressions and emotions have subsided since then. So I can calmly tell you about my holidays and the hotel itself. The hotel is located in some distance from the sea, it is not the first line, of course, and not even the second. I would say it's the third line, but in seven, well, up to ten minutes walking you can overcome this distance by foot more or less easily.

Three-star corps windows on one side overlook to a veg patch, where unknown farmers grow some unknown vegetables, on the other side windows overlook to a inner yard with a swimming pool. My balcony was just looking to the pool. There is no partitions between balconies and it's rather easy to climb over and visit your friends as well as strangers. Do not think that locking the balcony door will save your things while you are out. Yes, the balcony door can be locked, but the other side of the window can also be easily moved away from the wall. Welcome to all! I guess, this is done to promote their additional service of paid-safe for 20 euros a week. Who knows, who knows...

Wi-fi is free, but a stable connection is only in the reception area, in the rooms a stable Wi-Fi connection is hard to catch. There are several computers in the hall downstairs as well with internet connection with commercial access for € 2 per 1 hour. In no case, never, make such a stupid thing! I have been trying to upload a single photo of 3 Mb to Facebook during this hour! Computers performance just irritating. There was a feeling that they were collected from old parts on dumps and a thrift shops. Steam irons should be available at the reception on demand, just for a couple of euros for a half of a day. True opportunity to take advantage of this failed several times - two or three irons, which seem to have Luna Hotel, were constantly taken by someone else all the time of my staying there.

The staff in general is quite polite, at the reception one can wait five or ten minutes, until someone of them becomes available. I must admit, in most cases they respond to requests favorably and friendly. The cleaning staff in the room sometimes confused the number of towels. In my case they were always mistaken to the lower side. =) A few times it happened that two of us in a double room got only one clean set of towels. Thus, additionally I had to solve that problem as well.

We took only breakfast, so I can only tell about the morning portion. The food is very average quality, in principle, but for three stars it's more or less normal. Selection of fresh vegetables is reduced to immature tomatoes and coarsely chopped lettuce. All the rest of the semi-finished products were from the nearest supermarket within the lowest price range, judging by quality at least. However, to choose something from this seeming diversity was still possible. It is fair to say that there were pancakes and toast baked on demand in real time manner.

Much worse it became when the hotel began to experience some organizational problems and every morning before one could have breakfast, one had to wait in a long line, simply becouse Hotel lacks plates and glasses for all guests. It's interesting to note, that this outrage has caused almost no protests among European tourists. As far as I know, only one group of tourists from Russia submitted a complaint to the Ministry of Tourism of Catalonia about the problem. The rest of the guests, sadly obeying the herd instinct, obediently waiting for their prepaid breakfast in the queue. Apparently, the situations with freedoms in Europe today is far from being well, when even such a boorish Soviet-style service does not cause any protests among the European citizens.

A single word must be said about the animation in the hotel. Chief animator there Michele Angelo (not quite sure about the name spelling). Aged and stooped man with a bald head and a funny sticking up ears. As many times as I have been at these events - bike rides, Watsu or tea ceremony, he's always late. 10 minutes late and 15 and sometimes even more.

One time, when the whole group was about to a bike ride through the city he was late more than 20 minutes, so that the whole group moved on it's own without a guide who has barely caught up with us at the road intersection and turned us back. During the stop he generously offered us tea with superfluity of sugar, so that people having drank this very sweet tea in the hot weather started to expierence fierce thirst and were quite ready to order a lot of cool soft drinks at the next stop in the cafe probably affiliated with the commercial interests of this venturesome animator. And they did ordered a lot!

There was also a funny thing. At tea ceremony this funny man danced belly dance, that is the tea ceremony in his performance was the women's version! While looking at him I would never have thought that he did not consider himself as a man. May be such an old age may have an effect.

Overall, the hotel is quite average. According to the Egyptian-Turkish standards more or less decent, by European standards the quality of service definetely lacks and for three stars of course it's barely not enough. Stay there if only you have absolutely no other options - this could be my advice. Good luck!

Room Tip: Rooms looking to the outside rather than to inner yard are quieter. Keep your values in safe place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hozyain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0 mi away
Hotel Luna Club
Hotel Luna Club
#8 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Splash
Hotel Europa Splash
#9 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Park Hotel

Address: Avenida Colon 12, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: £47 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to relax and soak up the sun. You can also swim in the blue waters of our pools, chat, sip one of our delicious natural fruit juices, sign up for daily classes of Tai chi or Yoga or simply let your thoughts drift away.The Lunas are a small complex with plenty of style, decorated by some of the Bondia Team: Elisabeth, Ana and Mireya. The hotel has all the facilities and comfort for the perfect holidays, a mix of relaxation, health and beach life. Situated close to the commercial centre and just around the corner from the extremely long and delightfully uncrowded beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luna Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing