We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel shame about the food”
Review of Luna Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel shame about the food”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked a short break for 4 nights . I had read all the reviews before we went . We made sure that we booked the Luna Club as everyone said it was nicer . We checked in to our room which was clean and fresh although had been allocated single beds ( first trip away without the children for 17 years !!! ) asked if we coulld change rooms for a double bed . No other room available in the hotel so we just pushed beds together !! We arrived around 1pm and the pool was very busy so we lay on towels in the garden .....no sun bedss left . Must have been a busy day as the following four days there were always spare sunbeds round the pool and especially in the garden which we preferred . The bar staff are very polite and helpful and the all inclusive drinks are very good lots of choice and no restrictions as we have had on other all inclusive holidays .
The queue for dinner really wasn't bad we only waited a coule of minutes each time to be seated . This has to be the most dissapointing part of our break the food was poor quality, poor choice and certainly not four star . I can only assume that this is because half the hotel is three star. We are not fussy eaters and have stayed in all inclusive hotels many times but there was only one cooking station . One night offered Burgers !! Another night fried courgettes and asparagus . The hot meals were generally cold. . No vegetables , no rice just a pot of plain pasta or chips . The salad bar was just leuttuce , tomato, onion and grated carrot . There is plenty of fresh fruit and the usual meats cheese and fresh bread so no one will starve but I can honestly say I dont think we ate anything in the evening that we wanted second helpngs of !! We ate out on the last night and ate lunch in the Luna Club snack bar rather that the restaurant - still all inclusive . Check out was at 10 and we didnt leave until 4pm but they take your wrist bands when you check out so you can no longer have food or drink . This seems very petty and is something that we have never come across before ......I certainly would't have paid for the food !!,
All in all a nice break with plently of sunshine lovely relaxing gardens but room for improvement

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    158
    70
    37
    22
See reviews for
107
167
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hi me and my partner went for a week and come back on Saturday. I must say its one of the best all inclusive we have been to. There is to hotels Luna Park which is a 3* and Luna Club Which is a 4* the only difference between the hotels is the room if you are not to fussed about loads of space in the rooms go for Luna Park even tho the rooms were not that small enough room for to the two of us. the food was great different every day fresh food cooked right in front of you, staff were great and spoke good English and rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels. fantastic place DO NOT listen to any bad reviews this hotel is great and good for location only a 5 minute walk from the main strip were all the shops, bars, clubs and buses. can get a little noisy at times but nothing major. FANTASTIC!!!!

Room Tip: Luna Park is great if your not to fussed about loads of space even though it was enough for the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N-HamerLivesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel for the price, there are two sides to the hotel a 3 & half star (where we stayed) and the 4 star opposite the rooms in the three & half star are basic but clean but in the 4 star opposite the rooms are meant to be slightly better furnished, but even so our room was nice. All the facilities like swimming pool and the gym etc are shared between both hotels. Food in this hotel I would say is better than average, I'm always slightly nervous when when staying in all inclusive hotels as you don't know what the foods going to be like but I was presently surprise, the staff are friendly the restaurant it's self is clean and tidy and the food is changed regularly so it is not left out to long, the only criticism I would give is that there wasn't that much veriety although they always had a selection of different meats to choose from every day normally some fresh fish and either beef or pork but I really couldn't complain, if I was at the hotel longer than a weeks stay then I think I would of had to go out to eat some nights.

All the amenities like the supermaket & other shop are a short walk away and the beach is about a 5 minute walk. There is also a train that takes you straight in to Barcelona city centre, the train takes about 1 hour to reach Barcelona and the nearest station is about a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel the train cos about 10 euro for a return.

The just a couple of personal issues I had with the area it's self but these things are only personal they may not bother other people but I found that the sand on the beach was a bit too shelly/corse so you need to where some foot ware and being British there wasn't many British to talk to the tourists were mainly Dutch and German and we were the only Brits in the hotel obviously you go away to sample other cultures etc and for the first couple of days it was nice but it would have been nice to have more of a mix of different cultures in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here all inc. end June/early July 2013 in three star side of hotel. Room was basic but adequate, except for the tiny wardrobe. Hotel was very clean throughout and the staff were good, especially the bar staff who we found to be excellent. You just left your hanger on the door when you wanted service/clean towels. Indoor pool with jacuzzi was good, warmer than outdoor pool, always someone in there. Loungers outdoor pool were usually covered in towels early in the day, but if you went to the back of the 4 star hotel by the snack bar (we ate lunch there most days instead of using restaurant), there were loungers there and you could always get one, albeit a bit windy round there. The entertainment we found to be the best we have ever experienced in AI - good quality singers and musicians most nights,different types of music, some live, one night there was a parrot show where the parrots were counting (?) and pulling carts, etc., the birds seemed very happy to be appearing, better than it sounds on paper! The only issue we had was with the feeding arrangements. Every night there was a queue stretching from the restaurant up the stairs, no matter what time you went for lunch or dinner. The waitresses actually find you a table and escort you there, which would appear to be part of the problem, but it is a pain when you are hungry and it is about 20.15 and you want something to eat (doesnt start until 19.30). The food was also an issue. There was plenty of fresh salad, usually a wishy washy soup, and plenty of fresh fruit and appetising sweets on offer daily. The main courses were not so good, pasta with nothing in it, vegetables which looked tinned, although I did not try them, dessicated chips, meat which was more bone that anything else, slimy fish. On a good note, we did have some nice chicken legs one day and a tasty casserole (pork, I think) another day, but the main courses did let the side down a bit, not much variety, you felt like you werent having a satisfying meal, just picking at bits here and there. Room for improvement, we think, especially as the 4 star guests were eating the same food as us. Drinks were fine, they seemed happy to serve you whatever you wanted, the "Baileys" was very nice, and the sangria, beer, etc. The hotel is in a side street a short walk from the main promenade, to get to the beach (shingle) you had to walk through a subway, so it didnt always feel like you were by the sea. Some decent shops in Malgrat/Santa Susanna, the latter being slightly more up-market. The old town of Malgrat not very special, up the top of the town, not much to see except an old church and a tower on a hill, plus the usual shops. Went to Calella on the train (2 stops) which was nicer than Malgrat all round. Also went to Barcelona on the train, took about 1 1/4 hours (standing up) and went round on the tourist bus. Barcelona is magnificent, but if you get off at all the stops there is no way you can do it all in one day, it pays to do your homework and know what you want to see. All in all, it was a good holiday, we like the Costa Brava but it is much nicer in Calella or Tossa de Mar than Malgrat, wouldnt return to the resort or hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to look out onto the pool. Beware of first floor rooms in 3 star as all you have sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellmomma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamm UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is lovely , the staff very helpful, but the food is dire, we had to eat out as we couldn't eat the evening meal, unless you live on chips and ice cream, there was often a long queue waiting to be seated as the restaurant wasn't big enough to accommodate everyone,
The rooms were clean and well looked after, bedding changed almost everyday, the pool was great as was the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, I'm please we only went half board as if we had gone all inclusive we would have had to pay again to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank velotrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I always do a lot of research before booking. The majority of reviews were positive, but there were a few negatives like "they don't speak english" and "the food is terrible".

Let me put these two points straight. The hotel was spotless in all areas and there were loads of staff, all in co-ordinated uniforms. As far as I could tell, most of the staff (certainly the front desk and the restaurant) were multi-lingual. It has to be said that when we were there there were few english-speaking customers (the majority seemed to be French/Belgian or Dutch); the array of travel agency brochures there confirmed this.

The food was far from disgusting. For the hot main meal choices there was certainly more bone in the cuts of meat than we might be used to, but that's just "different" not "disgusting". On top of this, there was always plenty of salad and ham and cheese, and a really good choice of deserts.

The location of the hotel was fine, but set some way back from the main strip and the beach. To be honest, this is probably an advantage rather than a disadvantage.

The figure-of-eight shaped pool was a good size, and deep! At the time we were there the availability of sunloungers was good. Foam mattresses are available at EUR1 a day, but these are limited in supply. Many people didn't bother anyway!

I found the front desk staff extremely helpful. My thanks in particular to Enrico who found me another (extra) room when I needed it.

Room Tip: This appears to be an amalgamation of two hotels, Luna Park (3 star) and Luna Club (4 star). We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

After searching for some time for an all inclusive within reasonable means, my friend recommended Hotel Luna Park. She had stayed a few years earlier and found it very good. So checked out the pics, reviews etc and decided as nr to Barcelona this would be an excellent choice!
We arrived to lovely weather and checked in, although the room was basic it was functional (the Walls are paper thin tho! You could hear the snores and toilet habits of your neighbours! Slightly hilarious but not when you want your sleep!) Couldn't fault the food and service, friendly staff, good facilities, multi-cultural guests, the staff work relentlessly all the week we were there.
We visited Tossa de Mar by Dofi jet (great day out!) and caught the train to Barcelona did the tourist thing!
All in all I had a great time and would recommend to anyone :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luna Club
Hotel Luna Club
#7 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.5 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Park Hotel

Property: Luna Park Hotel
Address: Avenida Colon 12, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to relax and soak up the sun. You can also swim in the blue waters of our pools, chat, sip one of our delicious natural fruit juices, sign up for daily classes of Tai chi or Yoga or simply let your thoughts drift away.The Lunas are a small complex with plenty of style, decorated by some of the Bondia Team: Elisabeth, Ana and Mireya. The hotel has all the facilities and comfort for the perfect holidays, a mix of relaxation, health and beach life. Situated close to the commercial centre and just around the corner from the extremely long and delightfully uncrowded beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Luna Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing