We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for price and quality”
Review of Luna Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have just returned form the vacation.we stayed there for 10 nights & it has been one of best time we had.the hotel is very good and were given very good room as we had asked for through the agency we had booked the vacation.The room was clean everyday they cleaned perfectly and changed the towels we were facing the pool side on the sixth floor.very quiet and the bathroom was in excellent state.At the reception the staff was very friendly and helpful.The food was very good and fresh this was the first hotel 4star I saw which served champagne at the buffet breakfast.I have stayed before in 5star hotels but the service in this hotel was excellent The dinning room staff were very kind and helpful specially the the lady by the name of Saima.For the vegetarians there was a separate counter.There was good variety of food overall and deserts .As a regular traveller I would give full recommendation for this hotel and would definitely go again.The location of the hotel is very good and quietThe swimming pools are kept clean and also the jacuzzi . The train stations are about 1.7 km from the hotel, busses and taxis are 300 meters away. Plenty of restaurants and cafés even on the beach which is about 400 meters from the hotel.The animation noise stops by 23:00 hrs. When you are tired of 5 star boutique hotels where there is no money left for fresh food, for excellent staff and hygiene, Luna Park is the place to be!
Mrudul merchant.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mrudul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Luna Park Hotel. We were half board. First impression of the hotel as we arrived was that the hotel is kept very clean. The room we had was on floor 6 and faced the hills. This was a lovely view.
The room was cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels is required. The maids were very noisy though!
The buffet breakfast was very good. There was a good choice and it included cava which was good! Evening meal buffet was hit and miss. It lacked decent meat and seemed to cater more to a different nationality to us Brits. There is plenty choice locally for good food in the bard and restaurants. On our last night we went over the road to the beach restaurant Maui which was great.
The location of the hotel is excellent. 5 mins from the beach which. You get to via an underpass.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peejaypurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had few complaints, staying half board in June 2014.
We have stayed there twice before, the first time was great, the second not so good as far as the food was concerned, but we decided to give it another try as we go to watch the Moto GP in Catalunya and enjoy some time by the sea.
The rooms are totally adequate, kept clean and tidy and fresh towels (although a bit of a lottery if you got new or dated ones) and beds moved and made daily and floors and balconies cleaned daily.
We found the reception staff very pleasant and helpful.
The restaurant staff work very hard, trying to keep up with some nationalities piling their plates (probably 3 plates each) as high as they possibly can (greedy comes to mind). Saima who speaks to everyone in their native language was absolutely wonderful. Buffet style food, with something for everyone (fish, meat, eggs, vegetarian, childrens menu, cakes, ice cream) and fresh fruit in abundance (so long as you can get to it before the greedy people!!).Breakfast was fantastic.
The bar is good, and the main man knows what he is doing, and so long as you tell them that you're not AI, you can drink whatever you ask for (otherwise you will be given local drinks which is fair enough the way some guests take advantage of this).
3 swimming pools (outdoor, indoor and salt water outdoor) Indoor Jacuzzi.
There are bikes that are free to AI, though very old and dated.
There is also archery, bowls, table tennis and a gym.
The entertainment was really not up to much (but saying that what is in Spain). Brass band/parrot show/2 girls singing and dancing. It's no trouble to wonder out and find something else to do.
The one gripe we had was that we stayed for 11 nights and hired a safe (20 euros plus 10 euro deposit) and on taking the key back the last night were charged an extra 2 euros (32 euros in all). They hadn't told us it was 20 euros per week!!
The hotel is not on the front, but down a side street so a lot quieter than the other hotels.
Just down the road towards the beach is a lovely little bar - it's known as the Piggy Bar and is great.
Overall we had a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracyat2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Why do so many people expect the Ritz everywhere they go? In the end you get what you pay for. We stayed 5 nights all inclusive and had few complaints. On arrival reception was helpful and were expecting us. We stayed the 3 star side, and the room was basic, but well kept and clean. Yes meals are on a buffet basis and sometimes you have to queue, just like you would at any buffet restaurant. We never had any issues with the pleasant dining staff, though lunch and dinner menus tended to be similar and were definately less good than the breakfasts. When we were there there was always space at the pool side, but there were also the loungers at the rear of the 4 star (club) side. The indoor pool was also clean, allowing a break from the outside. You are only a couple of minutes away from the shops and beach, and only about 10 away from the shopping centre. Yes, the major drawback would be the pool bar where 1 particular employee definately had his favourites and would for ever want proof that both drinks were for all inclusive guests, meaning you had to both leave where you were sitted to get served. Overall we were pretty impressed and whilst it was not perfection, it was excellant value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenl1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a couple during the 8th June to the 13th. We didn't know what to expect when we arrived but the receptionist was helpful, the rooms are clean and tidy, cleaned every day. We had a pool view which I made sure to ask for and it was a nice view. We went all inclusive and every day apart from on the Sunday when we arrived there was queuing for up to ten minutes. The waitresses aren't exactly quick to show you to a table and the bar staff at the outside bar will ignore you and serve others before you. I have read that this is quite common if you are English, which we are so maybe that was why. The drinks were good, not watered down unlike what I have read before on here. There was always sun loungers around but I made sure to reserve some any way, right by the steps of the pool. The pool itself is lovely, very big and although it is a bit grimy at the bottom in some parts it's quite a good standard. Shops and beach are about five minutes down the road and from what we say we had picked the best hotel around. We stayed in the three star part and found it an overly enjoyable experience. Although some rude Germans did try and push passed us when queing for meals, which was mainly a buffet type thing and there was only ice cream on one day! I lived of pasta mostly. Overall nice hotel but not sure about staying again as food wasn't up to much but row of shops so close was lovely to have. It is the best hotel around though and did exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have recently returned from Luna Park Hotel in Malgrat de Mar on an All Inclusive basis. We were quite surprised with the good reviews we read before going, as our experience was not so good. Will start with the pros: Hotel was clean and rooms adequate although probably need updating. It was well set out with facilities between both hotels. (Luna Park and Luna Club). The restaurant staff were amazing and looked after us very well. The star of the show was Saima, who worked so hard at making us welcome and we can only sing her praises. There was a running buffet in the lounge/bar area, from 11am to around 6pm, so if you missed a meal there was always something to eat. The Luna Park pool was good and there were always plenty of sunbeds. Variety of drinks were good, and I think everyone was catered for. Now we get to the cons: We found the bar staff at the Luna Park side to be arrogant and not very friendly, we do not know if this was because we were British or perhaps because we were females as we were often overlooked in favour of their more favoured clientele. At one stage when we asked for plastic bottled water which was behind the bar, we were told it was for ‘paying guests’ only, we stated that we were in fact ‘paying guests’!, it was then explained to us that it was not on the AI list, we replied that this should have been stated on the hotels information. We said that they should have rephrased this to say, not on AI list, as we felt discriminated against for being AI. It is also the first AI complex we have been to that will only serve one drink per person, so if you were around the pool, you both had to go up to get a drink. Another weird idea, was no toilet facilities around pool area, and you had go into the lounge and down stairs, by the restaurant, to use the toilets in wet swimwear. We also found some of the reception staff to be offhand and to serve other preferential clientele before us. We were not the only ones to notice the discrimination, as other English couples who were holidaying at the same time had the same opinion. We will also mention that the bar in the Luna Club was not open when we stayed there, and the Luna Club pool was closed and filthy.
The food in the restaurant was Ok-ish. There was usually something you could find to eat, some days better than others, but not consistent. We feel there could have been more selection. We know it is classed as a 3*, but have been in other complexes which were 3* and far superior food.
Generally speaking we would not go back to this hotel and also feel the area of Malgrat has become a bit run down over the years.

Room Tip: We found Mountain View side to be quieter than pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pammiedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nearly perfect! The room - in fact the whole hotel - is spotlessly clean amd the room is well equiped amd spacious. The only downside in the room - no tea and coffee making facilities, but the bed was big and comfy.
It's in a great area - off the maim strip but easy walking distance to the beach, literally 3 mins. But the location is perfect as it's quieter then on the main strip.
The staff are great and the buffet is big and well stocked. You sometimes have to queue for meals but no longer than 10mins. The reception staff are particularly helpful especially when it came to our transfer.
All in all a great hotel and great location - we'll be back if we're back in the area for sure!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank NikkiandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0 mi away
Hotel Luna Club
Hotel Luna Club
#8 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tahiti Playa Hotel
Tahiti Playa Hotel
#9 of 21 in Santa Susanna
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Splash
Hotel Europa Splash
#9 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Park Hotel

Address: Avenida Colon 12, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: £47 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to relax and soak up the sun. You can also swim in the blue waters of our pools, chat, sip one of our delicious natural fruit juices, sign up for daily classes of Tai chi or Yoga or simply let your thoughts drift away.The Lunas are a small complex with plenty of style, decorated by some of the Bondia Team: Elisabeth, Ana and Mireya. The hotel has all the facilities and comfort for the perfect holidays, a mix of relaxation, health and beach life. Situated close to the commercial centre and just around the corner from the extremely long and delightfully uncrowded beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luna Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luna Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing