We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great hotel”
Review of ALEGRIA Maripins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ALEGRIA Maripins
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“what a great hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

maripins hotel is a hotel that you feel at home in, the rooms are not big but comfortable.you get a hair dryer in the bathroom and shower over the bath.all areas of the hotel are clean,the bar is well set out so you can watch the evening entertainment in comfort and at one end if you wish to watch the television you can .the room we had was not a very good view but we did not mind when we realised we cauld thesee birds nesting on the roofs near by and lizards which were out sunning themselves ,the bar staff were all good ,my favourites were miguell and tomas they always did ther best for you .the gardens are well kept and we thought for a 3 star hotel food was good and the drinks in the bar were not expensive.we would good back next year we went with ferris coach company they were very good .the pool is good and the child entertainment lady gives everything to keep the children happy ,if you have walking difficulties malgrat and this hotel will be the place for you .we will be going back

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roda_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    290
    119
    38
    19
See reviews for
258
339
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Just returned from the serhs. I boked this hotel after looking at the reviews on trip advisor and holiday watchdog and it had one of the better reviews so we were disappointed with the overall stay. The entrance to the hotel is on a main street and presents as a doorway between two shops. Not pretty to look at. and the same goes for the hotel itself. Having said that we had a nice sea view which was appreciated. we were a middle aged british couple and the hotel is all dutch and german people. It didnt bother us but would have like to have seen more british people there. The rooms itself were clean but very basic . No facilities to make yourself a drink. TV in room only has one british news channel. ( not that we spent much time in there). The pool area is VERY small and sunbeds limited ( although we didnt have any trouble as we didnt use them until later on in the day. ( very uncomfortable no cushion on them) We only had breakfast which was the usual. scrambled egg. sausage etc. Alot of school trips at the time we stayed so breakfast was busy and you had to wait for food to be brought out. ( take your own tea bags if yr british as their tea is awful!!) Staff are friendly and very helpful. As we strolled along the strip we looked at other hotels and wish we had booked one of them. As some were cheaper and looked better. I would recommend the KIngs restaurant for nice food and a lovely atmosphere. Beaches are also nice opposite hotel. I dont often put reviews on trip advisor but felt i should share our experience as a bristish couple at this hotel. It was nothing special but then again it is a budget hotelbut there are better and I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view. I wouldnt have a liked any other view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we have just returned from this hotel having stayed there for 11 nights ,cant fault the place spotlessly clean and can honestly say not one miserable member of staff throughout our stay very helpfull indeed we have stayed in a lot of the hotels in malgrat and santa sussana but will definately be returning here well worth a visit a very well run hotel keep up the good work and see u soon x

Room Tip: we had a room in the main block which was very nie
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank karSouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Great hotel would go back food was good but had to wait for it to be topped up whitch was a bit of a pain staff very pleasant rooms very clean bar prices same as the local bars only 5 minutes walk to train station were you could go to Barcelona 4 only 6 euros return only downfall weather could have been better

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 30trebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

A lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Towels are changed on a daily basis. There are hairdryers supplied in the rooms, though this is not mentioned in the brochures. For a 3-star hotel the food is varied, tasty and caters for the various guests from most European countries; the salad bar is great and if you like garlic and olive oil on toast, you can make as much as you like at lunch and dinner. Being set back from the road it is quiet at night, with the double glazing stopping any residual noise, and the blackout curtains delaying the dawn to ensure a good nights sleep. The bar prices are not overpriced as many holiday hotels do, the bar staff are all characters and are well worth getting to know. Good base for either relaxing or seeing the surrounding country-side.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Clifford007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed at the Maripins in June 2010 and these are our experiences;
Well appointed accomodation, spotlessly clean, excellent maid service & a good selection of food on offer. Hotel staff are helpful and friendly.

Maipins is situated just a few yards from theCalle Maresme with all the shops & bars (many British pubs can offer an authentic full English breakfast if you fancy a change and the drinks are cheaper),
The beach which is mainly composed of rough white sand is about 250-300 yards away and about 500 yards deep, accessable via the many handy underpasses which run under the main coast road & railway. as the Hotel pool can become crowded at certain timesof the day, the beach offers a vast expanse of open sand with ample space to sun bathe (average temperature 28C-34C in June 2010) and benefits from a cooling breeze off the sea, if you want to swim in the sea be sure your a good swimmer as the currents here run very fast and the sea bottom falls away sharply.
We are returning in June 2011 for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank leosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Very clean, good food, good position, entertainment every night, the beach is just across the road, which you access by walking 50 yards up the road via a underpass, what else can you ask for in a holiday,, this hotel is frequented by mainly older people and is one of the quieter hotels in Spain. The train station is about 10 minutes walk away where you can visit other local resorts like Blanes, Lloret,Tossa, Pineda, Calella, or a little longer journey to Barcelona which is about an hour away

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank conkerblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.3 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
0.7 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Maripins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Maripins

Property: ALEGRIA Maripins
Address: Passeig Maritim 20 - 22, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Maripins)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ALEGRIA Maripins 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your ALEGRIA Maripins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maripins Serhs
Maripins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing