We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second holiday at the MariPins”
Review of ALEGRIA Maripins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ALEGRIA Maripins
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I can only repeat my 2010 review of this low cost high value for money hotel, once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in 2011 and are now about to book again for 2012.
Please remember this is not a Hilton 5 star hotel, but for the price we paid we could not complain in any way about the MariPins without appearing disingenuous.

Malgrat has been discribed by some as a little boring as there is not much nightlife for young people, perhaps thats true however conversely that does mean that a good nights sleep is more than possible for family's and and the not so young. We can't wait to relax in the sun again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank leosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed with my wife in september, staff were great food poor, roomwas ok , room not insured if you get broken into , so had to pay £36 for a safe , not a lot to do in malgrat in sept but weather was great

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smiggylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Had a lovely time at this hotel.room excellent and had two balconies.cleaners were superb as came everyday.all staff very friendly and location excellent.not far from the english pubs.legends a great pub..only problem we had was feeding our children which we paid for. There was no children buffet and we had to pay to feed them outside.one night they did mexican and everything was spicy.also no playground as stated everywhere on all brochure sites. Apart from that we had a fantastic time

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davendawn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

If the Maripins is really No. 2 ranked hotel in Malgrat it really says it could be No.2 in a generally poor bunch.There are many good points about this hotel ,location is excellent, pool and terrace area is very good ,bar prices are fair and even better with the 10% discount hotel debit card, table wine prices in the dining room could be the cheapest on the Costas.
The staff are excellent and they deliver no compromise and no attitude service.
Rooms are adequate & properly cleaned daily, those at the back of the hotel may overlook the mountain but also look over the rubbish bins and delivery bay. Room lighting was poor,bathroom lighting was worse than poor.
There was no entertainment area ,tables were cleared back in the bar or terrace area to suit the entertainment on offer,this was OK sometimes but no good for cabaret type shows as only the front tables got a view .
Breakfast food was a let down,fruit was always good, cereals were pitched at children (not many in September) , coco pops ,sugar puffs and not very good cornflakes is a poor selection.Yoghurts served would also appeal to children,sweet pink or yellow ,occasionally unsweetened plain yoghurt would appear .
Breakfast tea and coffee were provided from a vending machine ,the water was well below boiling point and nothing drinkable ever got served to me ,it was however very popular with other guests .
Dinner food was predominately Spanish and would have gone down well if Breakfasts were better balanced

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomandpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

myself and my husband and our 2 children ages 7 & 17 stayed at the mari pins in july for 10 days. the hotel in our opinion was really good, excellent food, clean rooms, nice pool area.
friendly & helpful staff. would definately stay here again . :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank maria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Was a cheap holiday in June for a week, but the resort was pretty average service in the hotel was poor the only good thing was the pool area

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyBrookes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The other reviews show this hotel is great for the package holiday market. It wasn't our cup of tea. Having never been to a hotel with 'entertainment' or 'full board' I went with an open mind for a few days on the beach after a week of culture in Barcelona.

The hotel is easy to find and looks fine from the outside. All of the staff are excptionally friendly and welcoming, especially the lady on reception.

The room is adequate although the floor was never particularly clean in the 3 days we were there (it looked like the same water was used to mop all rooms on the floor). Our room had a balcony overlooking the sea (which was nice) and the poolside sunbathers (not so nice). The towels were horrible and resembled thin cardboard. The shower has a curtain rather than a screen so not very hygenic. Luckily we were near the end of a corridor but even so suffered from noise in the corridor, as well as noise from next door's bathroom.

I'm sorry to say that the food was abysmal. It was all cheap catering food, the chip tray was emptied the second it was put out on the buffet table. I can't understand the reviews saying the food is great. We had paid for 3 nights half board but I couldn't eat the food so for 2 nights we ate at a fabulous wine bar restaurant called Klein 84, near Malgrat train station, which did amazing inexpensive but elegant spanish food.

I'd love to go back to Klein 84, it's just unfortunate it's in Malgrat de Mar!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimbo1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Splash
Hotel Europa Splash
#9 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Maripins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Maripins

Address: Passeig Maritim 20 - 22, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Maripins)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: £36 - £862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ALEGRIA Maripins 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ALEGRIA Maripins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maripins Serhs
Maripins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing