We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking again for 2014”
Review of ALEGRIA Maripins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Maripins
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We were looking at where to go on holiday in 2014 and after our stay in August 2013 we have decided to go back.
Close to the beach and an easy stroll to the old town and along the coast.
The hotel was BETTER than we expected - Not perfect but definitely deserves a 3 and a 1/2 or 4 star rating.
Very pleasant, helpful and friendly staff throughout the hotel.
Bar and pool area was clean, safe and child friendly. Always managed to get a seat and table by the pool sunbeds however were always pre-booked by towels......
Food was good. Always plenty of choice and always fresh.
Room was more than adequate enough for us as a family of 4 (with two young children). Always cleaned and bedding changed by very friendly staff.
Entertainment was as expected. The 'German Phil Collins' was very entertaining.
Just hoping that in 2014 and the hotel offering All Inclusive Deals this doesn't spoil a very good family hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MRobb1343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear MRobb1343,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor!
We are very happy to read that you will book again for the coming year and we will do our utmost to ensure your stay will be even more pleasant.

Kind regards,
Silvia Noguera
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent a long weekend in this hotel. Its very basic but very very clean and the staff very helpful and welcoming. You get what you pay for and we certainly would return. The location is great, very close to all amenities. The pool area is small and sun beds are difficult to get hold of but this didnt matter to us as we wanted to explore the area

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear JTManchester,

Thank you for your kind review!
It´s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in the future.

Kind regards,
Management
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great hotel. Huge room, overlooking the pool. The staff were courteous and helpful. The menus are well thought out and varied, although the food wasn't always as hot as I'd like.
The station is within easy walking distance and transport links to Tossa, Lloret and Blanes are great. Going the other way on the train,Barcelona's an easy ride. The beach is great, even though the train runs between the town and the sand, but please don't let put you off. We had a great holiday here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kryssie_Fortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Kryssie_Fortune,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel!
It´s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Silvia Noguera
Management Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just back from another week at the Maripins.
Got a lovely room on the 4th floor with double bed and view of the pool so got the benefit of the afternoon sun and the lightning over the Barcelona area. Quite spectacular!
The food was good, and the chef on the hot plate served up some lovely grilled fish and other choices.
They have extended the times for breakfast and dinner making the restaurant less crowded.
The staff, as usual, were all friendly and helpful even to the extent of fixing my bed which apparently had a broken leg and was spotted by the cleaner. Just goes to show that they do clean under the beds.
All in all another great break and I will return next year.
Now all we need is them to sort out a decent british tv channel and it will be bliss………..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimd-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear jimd-f,

Thank you for yet another visit to our hotel!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed stay and we will have a look at the TV channels provided in order to improve that area.

We hope to see you again during the next season!

Kind regards,

Silvia Noguera
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Last visited this hotel 10 years ago. Hasn't really changed but that's no bad thing. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Beds changed daily. Buffet style restaurant had reasonable variation. Full English breakfast available every other day. Railway line between the hotel and the clean, sandy beach does not distract you from the pleasant nature of the resort with it's large variety of restaurants, bars and shops. Barcelona Airport was only just over two hours away with one change. Rail fare was €4.80 single.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool and bar are noisier if there is an event on and they usually go on until abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear James H,

Thank you for returning to the FERGUS Maripins !
It´s wonderfull that you decided to come back to our hotel and enjoyed your stay as much as you did the first time.
We hope that we may welcome you in the future for your third visit...

Kind regards,

Silvia Noguera
Management Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just got back on the 30th Sept 13. Me and my wife had a great holiday our room was clean, food was good & the location is excellent. The only down side was not enough english TV channels in room but not the end of the world. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirt48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear shirt48,

Thank you for your review!
It´s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the FERGUS Maripins and we hope to welcome you once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Silvia Noguera
Management Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Have just returned from a last minute 7 day break (booked 2 days before). Got a very good deal for me, my wife and 2 year old boy. It's excellent for what it is a 3*. Staff right from chambermaids through to receptionists were nothing but polite, friendly and efficient. My 2 year was running around saying 'ola' to all of them and they always stopped to say hello back - it made his day! Food is what you wold expect from a full board 3* star buffet (they are all much the same I have found) - I always found something to eat and couldn't complain. One thing I would say is if you get the rooms on the side of the hotel (to the right of the entrance) they are very small balconies where you could just about move if there were 2 of you - then again as we didn't book until last minute that's prob what you would get. I agree with other reviews about trying the Robin Hood pub again excellent service and decently priced - the owner even come out and done a balloon trick for my boy! 2 mins from the beach and shops. We will defo go back at some point - for what we paid cannot praise it enough.

Room Tip: Rooms on on side of hotel by entrance have very small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ffc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear ffc72,

Thank you for your review!
It´s great to hear you had a great stay with your family and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Silvia Noguera
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#2 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Maripins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Maripins

Address: Passeig Maritim 20 - 22, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Maripins)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: £36 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ALEGRIA Maripins 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ALEGRIA Maripins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maripins Serhs
Maripins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing