We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value if you can handle breakfast and dinner buffet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALEGRIA Maripins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ALEGRIA Maripins
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value if you can handle breakfast and dinner buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is 50m from the beach and quite basic.You should not expect tea or coffee in the room or even a kettle for that matter. But..... If you came for a holiday there are hundreds of bodegas where you can enjoy that and a lot more at very reasonable prices. When we arrived, reception seemed a bit overwhelmed (it took them 20 min to check in a family before us) but, again, we came to relax. Breakfast buffet has everything you need, cold meats and cheeses plus full English, but the coffee is instant, from a machine. Dinner same, hot and cold, plenty of salads and usually 2 cooked meats, a couple of vegetarian dishes and fish.
Out and about, lots of choices. For those that don' t like pushy sellers, apiece of advice: stick some headphones in you ears and ignore them when it happens. But if you like to haggle, go for it and stand your ground-they down' like you walking out with nothing with so many choices around.
All in all, we loved it here. It is not Savoy, but we didn't pay Savoy prices.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Cristian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Cristian P,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel.
For us it´s the most important information to know how our guests expierence their stay with us.
We will look into our buffet options to see if there are areas in which we can improve in a fast order.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Maripins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    242
    105
    36
    18
See reviews for
237
287
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Have just booked for early September 2014.... Would LOVE a sea view (normally book it via agent!) but not sure if I can request? Looks like such a beautiful location, I would be sorry to miss out. Any contact info be appriciated!!! Looking forward to a new experience in Spain, the view won't make or break it but would be a brilliant extra

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Leannemason1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Leannemason1407.

Please contact us at maripins@fergushotels.com and we will do our utmost to comply to your requests.

Kind regards.

Management
Fergus Maripins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have stayed here twice now Silvia has been very helpful we are returning in may 2014 hope we get a nice room with sunny balcony. All staff are great bar staff at excellent.
Met a nice Dutch man paparazzi who was good fun. Can't wait till end of may to return.

June penman and Conrad elphick

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank booboo732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Penman and Mr Elphick,

Thank you for your kind words!
We will make sure to pass them on the everybody so they know you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have booked to come to the mari pins in july , I can not get the email address to ask for a room with a sea view on floor 5, if anyone has been and has a good room number or email address for hotel please let me know.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaunderhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear lisaunderhill,

You can contact us at maripins@fergushotels.com

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Maripins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

me and my family 2 boy and 2 girls went to the maripins and we loved it going back again this year the staff was very friendly and helpfull as any kid they was very noisy an exited but they nevermind
they always used to talk to my kids and make sure they were alright and new were they was going my kids had a good sleep and my hotel room was very good and the beds were always made and hotel room was verry clean the food was good overall the hotel was excellent

Room Tip: book early to get a better room by the swimmin pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Elizabeth C,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us!
It´s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you back in a near future!

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Maripins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duiven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I understand i should write in english, otherwise Silvia wont answer my dutch.
Anyway, i stayed this year for 5 weeks like i did last year.
It's comming home for me.
I came to Maripins for the first time in 1993/94. After a couple of returns we/I skipped some years.
When i returned after my divorce in 2011, it was like comming home.
Tomas, Angel and Montse still work there and recognised me after all these years.
I was lucky to meet all the others. Gemma theached me some spanish. Victoria who point me out some interesting and photographic locations. Claudia got me a good room with view on pool and beach. Not to forget the restaurant staff, Anna always friendly and the rest of the hard working crew, specialy at the end of the season when a bunch off danish kids try to wreck the hotel.
Ok the hotel might be a little noisy, but the staf is fantastic. The really looked after me when i has some shoulder pain. They advised (sent me really) to the CAP doctor who gave me medication.
After that every one asked me if i was ok. I'dd say this is family. I really should go to some spanish clas. All together i say, see you all next year. Te quero mucho.

Paparazi

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank GPvV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear GPvV,

Thank you for your review!
It´s a real pleasure to read that you are so happy with our hotel and her staff !
We really like to provide a feeling of Home-Away from Home and we are happy we were able to make you feel this way!
All our staff were delighted to welcome you back at the Maripins and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again many times.

Kind regards,

Silvia Noguera
Fergus Maripins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We were looking at where to go on holiday in 2014 and after our stay in August 2013 we have decided to go back.
Close to the beach and an easy stroll to the old town and along the coast.
The hotel was BETTER than we expected - Not perfect but definitely deserves a 3 and a 1/2 or 4 star rating.
Very pleasant, helpful and friendly staff throughout the hotel.
Bar and pool area was clean, safe and child friendly. Always managed to get a seat and table by the pool sunbeds however were always pre-booked by towels......
Food was good. Always plenty of choice and always fresh.
Room was more than adequate enough for us as a family of 4 (with two young children). Always cleaned and bedding changed by very friendly staff.
Entertainment was as expected. The 'German Phil Collins' was very entertaining.
Just hoping that in 2014 and the hotel offering All Inclusive Deals this doesn't spoil a very good family hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MRobb1343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear MRobb1343,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor!
We are very happy to read that you will book again for the coming year and we will do our utmost to ensure your stay will be even more pleasant.

Kind regards,
Silvia Noguera
Fergus Maripins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.3 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
ALEGRIA Mar Mediterrania
#1 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amaraigua Hotel
Amaraigua Hotel
#6 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Maripins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Maripins

Property: ALEGRIA Maripins
Address: Passeig Maritim 20 - 22, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Maripins)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ALEGRIA Maripins 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your ALEGRIA Maripins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maripins Serhs
Maripins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing