We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fergus Maripins”
Review of ALEGRIA Maripins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ALEGRIA Maripins
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just got back from a ten night stay at the Maripins on a half board basis. Had a lovely time hotel was lovely and clean food was very nice staff were really friendly and helpful, weather could have been a lot better but found a great British bar for the evenings 'The New Crown and Anchor' Chris and staff were friendly and welcoming. One word of advice do not book this holiday with teletext we booked and paid for two rooms with two adults per room when we arrived we found we were four adults sharing one room! The staff were brilliant and gave us another room though it did cost us 200 euro. Would recommend this hotel but be aware that Malgrat itself is very quiet and not a lot of entertainment compared to Lloret.

Room Tip: one half of the hotel has been modernised with wet rooms and duvets instead of blankets. would think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Julie R,

Thank you for your lovely feedback!
It´s great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon..

Kind regards,

Management
FERGUS Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just back from another visit and this hotel has been renovated over the winter since they became part of the Fergus chain.
What a transformation!
All the rooms have been upgraded with new beds with thick mattresses, new linen and furniture. They also have new flat screen TVs on the walls. They have BBC news and CNN in English which I suppose is all we can expect now that you need the internet to get other BBC/ITV channels
The bathrooms have also been gutted with new shower cubicles and very effective showers.
The outside area has also been transformed with new decking and new sunbeds and furniture.
They still provide a great service with most of the old staff still there. It is always nice to be remembered when you return.
The choice of food in the restaurant has increased with more hot dishes for dinner and a wider selection of salads. The quality of the cooking was excellent.
They also had hot rolls at breakfast and a huge selection of bread and croissants.
They had a chef at the hotplate most nights grilling meats and fish.
There was entertainment some nights, I expect they will offer more during peak season, and although I did not see any other guests did tell me they were impressed with the acts.
They have been doing AI; you get a wristband. You get local drinks but if you want branded drinks you have to pay half the price other guests pay. Their bar prices were reasonable and compared with the local bars and you can get a reasonable bottle of wine at dinner for €6.
I asked about upgrading to AI from HB and was quoted €20 per day which I thought was a bit expensive but if I was with friends I would probably have paid this, but as I was on my own this time it was not worth it to me.
This has always been one of my favourite hotels and like many other regular guests I did wonder whether the new owners would ruin the atmosphere of this hotel but after seeing the improvements they have made it just gets better and better.
I will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jimd-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear jimd-f,

Thank you once again for sharing your opinion with us!
It´s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate the changes made during last winter.

We hope that we may welcome you many more times in the future.

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just got back from a weeks all inclusive. Very clean hotel, good food, helpful staff and great value for money. Kids had a great time in the pool and we would definitely return here again. The bar staff and restaurant staff were always happy and helpful. The hotel is just a couple of minutes from the tourist info centre where we were told of a great park for the kids 10 mins walk away. And free bus pickups to lots of attractions are available

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 5,464,478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear 5464478,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of your stay with us.
It´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back.

Regards,

Management
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

just got back from Spain and had a wonderful holiday. The weather was not what we expected but the stay at the Maripins was fantastic.

Excellent staff, Claudia and Elba were both very kind and attentive and so were the rest of the staff at the bar and the dinning room. Glenn was fantastic to our kids as well.

Food was fine and rooms were clean and comfy with a nice view. The location is just perfect not far from the station, in front of the sea, next to shops and restaurants and not far from Barcelona (an hour away).

if we ever go back to Spain the maripins will be our first choice.

Room Tip: highly recomend superior rooms an all-inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Jim P,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with the Tripadvisor Community..
It´s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and we will make sure that your future stays at our hotel will be even better!

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Maripins All Inclusive for a week in May.
The weather was changeable a mixture of cloudy, rainy and sunny days.
We arrived and were informed that the two rooms we requested next to each other had been reserved, this was a very pleasant surprise after a long day. Thanks Claudia! The staff were all lovely and the hotel is spotless. My two children made some great friends aided by Glenn the Dutch entertainment Guy, he had loads of time for the kids around the pool and started off the singing on the karaoke well done Glenn!
The all inclusive was really worthwhile you had a wristband and a card and when you returned your glass they gave you your card back, the system worked well and my wife enjoyed the cocktails. The food was nice and one of the young chefs on the hot grill was really friendly and good fun. We went to Barcelona on the train and it was really easy and cost about 33 Euros for two adults two children. We ate out for my birthday one night at El Cortijo and had the Entrecot steak it was amazing. The bread starter was also really nice and the chef personally showed us how to add the garlic, oil and tomato it was a really nice touch, it's about 10 minutes away.
I would definately book this Hotel again it was a really nice trip.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Richie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Richie B,

Thank you for your lovely comments!
We will make sure to share them with all the staff to motivate them even more.

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent staff. Claudia and Vicki outstanding, AS USUAL. The other members of staff were equally friendly and approachable. It is a very good indicator of the quality of an hotel, when the same staff greet you year-after-year (with a smile and a hug!!). The food is above average for a 3-star, and is plentiful. Sleep-quality was excellent. Room clean. Bedding and towels changed regularly. Convenient for all amenities in Malgrat.

The only slight drawback (for us) was the that the room had a wet-room rather than a bath: but I understand the economics of this rebuild. (Also I missed that awful external orange paint (lol). It made the Hotel difficult to miss!!!)

I heartily recommend The Maripins AGAIN.

Room Tip: 106/107: 206/207 etc. 315/317/319--325 (odd numbers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leonidas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear leonidas99,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel.
We will be sure to pass on your lovely comments of our staff as it will motivate them even more to provide the service for an unforgettable holiday.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited this hotel last year and had a good time so we thought we would give it another go this year.
We travelled as a family of 6 during the half term holiday and although it wasn't in the hottest part of the year the weather was ok. A little rain and a little overcast at points but when the sun was shining it was hot. Hot enough to get sunburnt!!
The hotel is clean and modern looking. We had different rooms last year but the rooms we had this time were of a much better quality with foam mattress and modern looking bathrooms.
The food was varied and there was plenty of choice. Not the highest of quality but certainly not poor quality either.
Breakfast consisted of salad, cold meats, cheeses, bread rolls and sliced bread (a toaster is available if you want toast), jams, chocolate spread, pastries, fried eggs, bacon, sausages, baked beans and tinned tomatoes. Fruit juices and hot drinks are available.
Dinner consisted of fish, pork, chicken, paella, salads, chips, rice, pasta dishes and there is a grill where freshly grilled fish or meat is cooked while you wait. Drinks are included with breakfast but not with dinner where you have to pay for water, soft and alcoholic drinks.
The swimming pool is fairly small but was not crowded.
The beach is literally across the road and is wide and long. The sea is emerald green and the temperature was bearable to go swimming in (just!!).
The sun beds are 5 euros per day and you can leave them whilst you go and get some refreshments.
The sand felt quite sharpe underfoot so sandals are advised.
We travelled to Barcelona by train which cost us €43 return for 6 people and took about an hour. The train service was fast, reliable and comfortable. The trains seemed to be quite spacious.
The seafront is lined with various restaurants, ice cream parlours, clothes and souvenir shops. The restaurants stay open very late.
I would definitely recommend the Ferguson Maripins as a family hotel and we will definitely come back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Kingsley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Maripins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Kingsley N,

It´s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us this year! We have renovated a large part of our rooms to invite our guests in a mediterraian surrounding and for us its very satisfying to know that you enjoyed them so much.
We hope to welcome you back next year!

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Maripins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Splash
Hotel Europa Splash
#9 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Maripins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Maripins

Address: Passeig Maritim 20 - 22, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Maripins)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: £35 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ALEGRIA Maripins 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ALEGRIA Maripins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maripins Serhs
Maripins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing