We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good holiday for a great price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rosa Nautica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good holiday for a great price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked this holiday online at lowcostholidays and paid £200pp for 1 week half-board. Can't fault the hotel for the price we paid!
Right on the beach front, 1 min walk away- a really long, wide and sandy beach, very beautiful. Handy 2 minute walk to shops, 5 minute walk to train station, 10minute walk to Santa Susanna. Great location!
Hotel room was twin room with 2x double beds in. Room had TV and wardrobe, dressing table and chair. Bathroom was dated but clean. Clean towels every day.
Food was average, good choice available for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. Drinks available to buy.
Ground floor reception area and dining room very modern, new, clean & fresh; very welcoming! Wi-Fi available at a charge. Staff friendly and helpful. Swimming pool clean and sunbeds available throughout our stay.
Overall a good hotel, I would stay here again and I would recommend to others for the right price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muffinman890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    114
    50
    17
    11
See reviews for
130
91
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked this hotel as a cheap last minute trip 2 adults and 2 kids one 10yrs old and the other 20months. On arrival had to pay a tax at reception of 7euros still no idea what for! Travel cots have to be hired at an additional cost of 5euros per night (first time iv ever come across this)wifi costs 6euros per night. Reception area is very nice and must have been recently refurbished as is the dining hall. We were in room 316 which was facing the beach had the tiniest balcony and when sitting in it could see directly into next doors room! The room itself was very basic and had a strange set up 3 beds in the main area then an arch way with a tiny area that had another single bed in it (my daughter called it the jail cell!!) dated furniture with broken handles! small bathroom basic but clean enough. Rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels although i dont think the actual bedding was changed often as i cut my lip on the first night and still had blood on my pillow on day 4! The walls are paper thin i could hear the man in the next room snoring and whilst in the bathroom could hear a full conversation from next door through a massive vent! Railway line runs right outside which is noisy but im the same at home so didnt bother me, the noise on a fri and sat night however from the nearby clubs did! music till 3am then people spilling out on to the streets luckily my kids sleep through anything! Food was terrible day 1 breakfast was promising bacon, fried eggs, beans plenty fresh fruit, tea, coffee, juice and full continental....day 2 ice cold boiled eggs, cut up chunks of sausage yuk walked right out and to the bar across the road for a full english! Dinner was definitely geared towards spanish/german guests meat and fish with no description so you never knew what you were eating and all lukewarm and dry! plenty of salad tho if your happy to live on that for a week and also soup but again a surprise as your never told what kind, what was a cheap hol ended up costing us a fortune eating out every day. Also instead of a highchair for babies they have a chair which is high no straps etc not safe for a baby. The pool area was no use to us for a toddler either baby pool was a tiny section of the pool and far too deep we walked 10mins along the road to a hotel called Florida Park and used their pool instead which was fabulous. My kids were too old and too young for the kids club but none of the kids in the hotel seemed interested the 2 spanish girls who worked in it didnt seem interested either which is probably why! The only saving grace for my 10yr old was a pool table and pinball machine in the bar area which at 2euros a time also cost us a fortune, the bar staff were lovely and did try and ease the boredom of my 20mnth old son with some balloons. The only adult entertainment was bingo.....the numbers called by the kids club girls using a toy bingo set. The local area itself is quite nice although i wouldnt go back. The Robin Hood bar a 5min walk away has free wifi and karaoke was a great night in there and family friendly. All in all the worst holiday iv ever had and the saying 'you get what you pay for' is most definitely true didnt meet a single person the whole week who enjoyed it.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view to avoid majority of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is quite small over 4 floors, the room was very adequate for the 3 of us, 2 adults and 1 child, it was very clean and the sheets smelt as if they had been dried on the line although probably not. There was a small balcony with plastic chairs and a round table. The bathroom was neat and clean with small and large towels provided, on arrival there were complimentary shampoo sachets and small blocks of soap, there was a hairdryer in each of the rooms. We had room 217 which overlooked the beach, the down side was that the train track ran within 40 yds of the hotel, however after the first night you don't hear it and I don't think it runs during the night. The other down side is that there is the local disco 5-6 buildings down which plays loud music Friday and Saturday nights until 3am, howver again if your asleep then it doesn't wake you up, just keeps you awake if you've not already lost yourself. The hotel was very nice and the lounge/sitting area was pleasant and the furniture was clean and comfortable. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble, their English is not brilliant but they understood what we wanted and spoke a little so could have a giggle with us which was nice. The staff are constantly on the go and always cleaning something or another be it tables or chairs or behind the bar. The food was ok, bearable and it certainly wouldn't stop me from going again, the breakfast is continental with cereal and fresh fruit and yogurt, also either bacon or sausage with either fried or boiled eggs with baked beans, lots of bread for toast and crousants. The jam is tasteless and the butter isn't at all nice (I already knew this and took some butter from home in an air tight container which we kept fresh in the locked safe.) I also took some Enlish tea bags and would recommend if you do this to use the milk that is provided for the cereal as it's less creamy tasting than what is offered from the machine. I also took red sauce and mayo but this was available at the hotel. Lunch is a selection of hot or cold meals with ice cream, fresh fruit and other desserts offered and dinner is soup, with a selection of hot or cold meals with a selection of desserts. On the whole we found the food good enough and we were happy to eat it. The dinning room was very clean and the tables were cleared quickly. The pool was a little smaller than I would expect however, it was plently big enough for my little girl, there were about 80 sun loungers and there was always some spare. Again the pool area was always clean and well looked after. The childrens club ran from 11.00 -1.00 each day and the kids disco was from 8.00 - 9.00 each night. Other activities were available if anyone was interested. We had no complaints about this little hotel and would recommend it and do intend to go back. I would recommend a room overlooking the pool, and to take your own butter and tea bags.

Room Tip: We had room 217 which overlooked the front of the hotel, I thing it would be much quieter if you had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel itself is ok. Rooms look ok but nothing especially outstanding. Mattresses smelt and had no protectors on. Beds squeaked every time you moved. Staff on reception were nice though only the female staff spoke good English. Food at lunch and evening will keep you alive but is not particularly nice. Breakfast was much better than lunch and dinner. Most meals served lukewarm. Entertainment was kids disco and bingo, so don't choose the hotel for fun evenings. Bar staff are very nice though.

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th floor best views of pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy-loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just got back from a short stay here - usually choose the quieter end of the resort up towards santa susanna - but needed to book quickly.

Half one - first night put into a room on the seafront on the corner - very noisy with groups of teenagers grouping together at a triangle lawn near the roundabout drunkenly adding the sound of trains and traffic - room with older decorating, mini bath and single glazing. I am not fussed by decor, just clean - and it was sparkling.

Half two - having had no sleep went to manager next day explained i had paid for a better room and at 2pm moved to room 225 which was modernised with a shower, bidet etc and much larger and so much more peaceful.

The downstairs of the hotel - reception/ waiting area and dining room had clearly also been refurbished to a good standard and in fact in great taste.

The hotel is just of a busy tourist street which myself and hubby called affectionaltly tatt alley - lots of bars, shops and ice cream shops etc and lots of clothes shops. It is right on the beach access as is all of costa brava mostly via a small tunnel underneath the train line.

Food - basic but very edible loads of fresh salads - only critism is no menu so people dont really know what they are eating - please dont change and add the sad pictures of fishes , pigs cows etc - but daily print up a menu and place in front of the resturant area would be of great help. and perhaps green handles on the foods on the main buffet to indicate meat and fish free products.

I would have rated this hotel as average and normal for the area if not for the staff - they were great i will name in particular Janin on reception along with the fantastic Josepz and Piero in the bar who were positive - a tiny bit cheeky and very caring - on a colder day noting children by the pool not really playing they bought out baloons for the kiddies to play with very sweet.

I consider this hotel an affordable short fly option for couples, friends or families - however if travelling with nippers ask for one of the first floor rooms which has a larger balcony - set against other buildings so no drop.

If you want a quiet time as for a room overlooking the pool - if however you are going for the nightlife yourself - you can have a cheaper front facing room and not notice the noise !

For the cost of this hotel - most stuff average or OK - but staff fantastic.

Room Tip: See overall review
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Advertised as family hotel with kids entertainment but when asked about it on arrival was told not open till 20th may (week or 2 later ) , lifts are small where we has big buggy, 2 adults and toddler with all luggage doors not censored to stop if take too long . Doors started closing on the buggy had to press buttons to open the doors . Had to ask for extra pillows as very thin. Lastly had to pay €5 night for travel cot which wasn't explained when booked.

On plus side staff friendly and rooms cleaned everyday would maybe go again but making sure kids entertainment was on at time of holiday and extra £ for food as not always enjoyed or filled us up for long.
Very close to beach and lots of shops, market days. Restaurant near by very friendly spoke English and food enjoyable .

Room Tip: Double rooms have better beds . Can't erase terrible on rating for spa- there is no spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is perfect for a week/weekend but any longer would be too much. I stayed in this hotel for a week, lovely quiet pool, one minute walk to the beach, average food, lovely room with a balcony view of the beach, close to many shops. A long drive to the city of Barcelona but worth the drive. The staff were lovely and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short trip to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Balcony's without sea views are generally larger but do not receive direct sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#11 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Papi
Hotel Papi
#10 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosa Nautica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa Nautica

Property: Hotel Rosa Nautica
Address: Paseo Maritimo , 2-4, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa Nautica 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rosa Nautica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing