We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Papi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Papi
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we were 2 couples in our fifties visiting this hotel,first impressions were reception and thepool area were more like 4 star they have the freindliest staff i have ever met ,in any hotel in spain .our rooms were tiny and very dated, but did not bother us as we spend very little time in rooms and they werevery clean.we were there 25th of a april to the 4th of may and were the only brits in the hotel ,it was mainly dutch who we go t on great with even the entertainment team who were dutch went out of there way to explain everthing that was going on in english .food was lovely and plentifull, they do have little carts dotted around the dining area for you to empty your plates wich was,nt a problem to us ,as read this on a previos review .the owners of this hotel and the managment team must be very good employers as like i said have never met such happy and freindly staff .not sure if younger couples would like this hotel as it seemed to be families and more mature people. it was our first time in this hotel and we all cant wait to go back in september .also this hotel is right by a strip of british bars that serve british meals. we only ate out once and that was while we waited for our room ,would reccomend the breakfast at the robin hood that was the only meal we had outside the hotel as we was full board.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank julia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Really good food all good 2 lounges 2 sets of toilets really good waters and workers are good Mickey, Juan, Lola from logan Jordan king age 7 went with ferris. Can't wait to go this year entrainment really good
Rated by me 5 star

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
9  Thank Logan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for two weeks me my husband and two children ages 3 and 8 and they both loved it the disco was really good entertainment was really good to the pool was very clean and it was a walk in pool which was good for my 3 year old very safe always sun beds too the staff around the pool area were very friendly and the prices were ok . The food in the restaurant was good it gets a bit boring when you are there for two weeks so we ate out some night to brake it up a bit . But we all really enjoyed it .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Nice food and very nice polite staff joined in with activities and great time with everyone I was with that time and had great time here for my 1st visit and thoroughly enjoy all the time there.great weather

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martyboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here the first to weeks of october 2013 , had a real good time a lovely hotel .
Food- was very good plenty of choice never went hungry .
Room - was clean and tidy on arrivel and during the stay .
Bar and Pool area - always clean and tidy no dog ends which is a plus in my book , prices reasonnable .
As for the noise from the club only 1 day sat night didn't hear any noise at all .
Location was excellent right by everything which is a massive plus for me .Went to champs bar most nights excellent place , brilliant staff as well .
I'm not someone who would go back to places ive been but i would say i would go back to the pappi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tuck03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here October 2012, what prompted this review is after staying at hotel reymar which was awful we felt it right to put our experience of papi on here. The Papi was very clean and the staff were very helpful the food selection was good and and did say the nationality of the menu for the evening on a information board the food was generally good especially evening meals, the breakfast was ok in small doses we felt after 4 days breakfast did get tiring and we had breakfast out however this a small price to pay compared to the food quality at Hotel Reymar. Noise levels of a night were bad on Saturday night however all was quiet other nights. The hotel is situated up a side street off the main street with lots of excellent English bars nearby such as champions and pub eureka, it is also close to train station for easy and cheap travel and close to the beach. This hotel really has something of everything for everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rhw0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of September 2013 and we chose this hotel after reading other trip advisor reviews, it seemed to be one of the best in Malgrat de Mar. Our experience of staying here was pretty mixed with many good and bad points so we'll talk through some of them.
The good points - the reception area is quite modern and the bar area is large and quite attractive with hardworking, funny bar staff and the drinks are good quality at a reasonable price. All of the hotel staff we met were very friendly and helpful and they did a good job. In general the hotel is very clean and the food is quite good most days, it's plentiful but not very varied. It would help if the food was clearly labelled as some days you can't tell if what's on offer is chicken, pork or fish especially when in sauce!! There is a great choice of food on offer at breakfast - pastries, bread, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, cereal, pancakes and fried eggs, sausages, beans, bacon etc.. as well as a selection of juice drinks, tea, coffee, water too. Again although the selection is wide, there is never any variation from this so you can't get scrambled eggs or different types of sausage for example.
Now the bad points - This hotel is ridiculously hot! It was 28 degrees when we were there and very sunny but every area of the hotel apart from reception is roasting hot. The air conditioning in the room doesn't work at all and the heat really stopped us from ever getting a decent sleep! We were always glad to go out each morning to get out of the "sweat box" of a room and other guests made similar comments to us about it. Another thing which stopped us getting sleep was the hotel's location. There is a strip of mainly English bars directly opposite the side of the hotel. This might be good for nightlife as many popular bars such as The Robin Hood bar, Champions Bar and The Black Bull are right on your doorstep. The downside to this is that if you ever want to get bed before 2.30 am it is extremely hard to sleep as the noise from these bars is excessive. Also there is a disco built underneath the hotel and on a Saturday night it is open all night long so depending on where your room is located you might be in for a sleepless night.
Another negative point is to do with the dining room. The tables are very close together and when the dining room is full it can make it very awkward to get up from your seat, you feel trapped in. Also you have to clear your own dirty plates, cutlery and glasses from the table after each meal which is very unusual.
There are a lot of Dutch travellers staying at the Hotel Papi and the entertainment in the hotel seemed to be mainly geared towards them apart from the Flamenco night which was good. This is only a minor complaint as obviously you don't have to stay in the hotel of an evening and there are plenty of good bars to go to in the Malgrat area.
Overall, it is a good hotel in a handy location for the beach, bars, restaurants and the train stations. It's clean with great staff and good food and if the air conditioning was updated and the windows were double glazed we would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PeanutDotJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papi

Address: Avda. Barcelona/Paisos Catalans s/n | Maritim 30, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: £44 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papi 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papi Hotel Malgrat De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing