We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Good; Location, Staff.

Not Bad; Food;

Bad; Room walls are paper thin, take ear plugs. Pool area bad. Cost of wifi bad and no good in your room. Cost of sun beds on the beach too high. No good for young people.

All is true about transfers, if you don't know, it takes a while to find.
If you arrive late; no food or drink until 8am.

We paid £298.00 each for ; Flights, luggage, transfers, and hotel. So really, we got our moneys worth.

The cost of living in Spain is high, so eating out is expensive.

If you want a quiet holiday, don't go.

Would we go again? Doubt it.

We did meet good people, Hi Tracey& Gareth. Sam and her friend.

Room Tip: High, or no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kath222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrador h, Director General at Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your opinions of your stay with us.

All the comments help us to improve and to continue working hard day by day tryng to give the best of us.
We are very thankful for your comments about the food and we will take note of the points that you are not completely satisfied.

Thanks again for your time and to choose our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the Sorra D’Or for a week in early September. First impressions on entering the hotel were that it was clean although possibly rather worn in parts but with a certain charm about the decor. Check in was quick and efficient although we arrived at around 11.00am and our rooms were not going to be available until 1.00pm. However, the all inclusive facilities were available straight away while we were waiting for our key. We found the staff to be polite although they were obviously extremely busy most of the time.
Our room on the first floor was basic, reasonably spacious with 2 double size beds and clean. There were some cracked tiles over the shower area and it would create a better impression if they were replaced. We also had air conditioning which isn’t the case in some of the rooms, however, with a room directly overlooking the outside seating area for the bar and a large public square this was necessary as excessively noisy with the window open. Unfortunately the air conditioning broke down after a few days and although someone came to check it, it never worked properly again. However, we used a small fan and air cooler which we brought with us for the rest of our stay and opened the window when it became quieter outside. We were not advised whether a fan could be provided by the hotel but then we didn’t ask.
The buffet breakfasts were varied with a reasonable selection of cold and cooked food. We didn’t have lunch and dinner at the hotel every day but on the several days when we did, there were various choices of meats fresh vegetables, salads etc and a small selection of desserts and soft and alcoholic drinks on tap. – Although little in the way of a vegetarian choice I still managed to find combinations of vegetables, cheese, pasta and rice etc. and I loved the olives with a glass or 2 of red wine! I can say that on the whole we had no problems with the food and noted that the staff continually topped up the trays with fresh supplies, the people who only ever had dried up cold food or soggy chips must have been very unlucky!
House spirits etc, beer (Estrella), wine and sangria and so on were included, also some house cocktails. Yes, these are served in plastic cups and you can only order one per person at a time. However, when a queue developed, the bar staff were usually quick and efficient and remained cheerful and friendly. There were children’s and adult discos in the evenings, if you want to try something different for a change there are other hotels in Malgrat or Santa Susanna with evening entertainment open to non residents, various bars and some English style pubs close by.
There was no WiFi available but 2 pay computers in the foyer, rather slow, but if you needed to access the internet you could.
We didn’t use the swimming pool so are unable to comment, although it looked fine.
The hotel is a few minutes’ walk from Malgrat’s old town which is very pleasant, there is also a park which has a play area for the children and it was nice to have a drink at the cafe bar (Can Campassol) and watch the world go by – and the parakeets that live there! Also situated conveniently right next to the train station and I can emphatically state that we were not affected by any noise from the trains, but then as far as I am aware they don’t run between just after midnight and 6am. The cost of a return ticket to Barcelona is 9 euros, the train is half hourly and takes 1hr 16mins. There are also other places along the line where you can visit if you want a change of scenery. There is a tourist kiosk just round the corner which has lots of information on places to go. The beach is a few minutes’ walk from the hotel with loads of space, the sand is quite coarse and care is needed when entering the water as it is on a slope then there is quite a steep drop after a couple of feet. I am not a strong swimmer but I did go into the water a few times, taking care to remain close to the shore line.
All reviews on here are subjective and reflect the experience of the individual reviewer, the fact that one is more on the positive side than another does not mean it is untrue as suggested in a previous review. Over all we were quite relieved to find that the hotel was much better than some of the reviews might have implied. To sum up, good value, clean and over all a good atmosphere. Many people from different countries stay at the hotel so obviously they are catering for a wide variety of tastes in the food department. We will probably go to Malgrat again in the future and we would certainly consider going back to the Sorra D’Or!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missdizzy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrador h, Director General at Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear guest,

We tnank you for sharing your experience with us in Trip Advisor.

Your kind comments help us to improve day by day and make us really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will thank you again for your time and your comments and we hope to see you again in Sorra d'Or or other of the hotels from Grupo Ibersol.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

I went to sora dor for 1week with my children and mother. It was meant to be a nice break away. And was horrible. Had to walk 10 mins from transfer to hotel. We were dropped off and told to walk. Same place for return. At 1am with two children and luggage !!!! Then at hotel.... Food was poor limited and disgusting. Salad was ok. But nothing else. My children and I did not eat at hotel and it's meant to be allinclusive !! We ate out every night. Drinks.... We did get drinks.. Service shocking. Ques always and only 1drink per person. From 10am till 11pm only!! Beach was close but had to go under a tunnel with a train station between hotel and beach. We went to beach once was there two min and left. Not suitable for children. It's pebbles gritty... And a big drop to see. See had a very strong current and was dangerous. It's not shallow to start with its deep up to waist straight away then it drops. So I could not enjoy it with kids. Spent most of time by the pool. The pool.... Big pool in shade all day. Freezing couldn't really get in. Kids pool.. In sun but so cold. I personally would not recommend this hotel and anyone that says its ok is lying trust me. Worst holiday ever. I woudnt rate the hotel 3 stars. I wouldn't give it a 1. Truly disappointed and will never return

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashleyjanehartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrador h, Director General at Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear guest,

We will thank you for your time writing in Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry if you did not completely enjoyed your stay with us but after read your comments we have to tell you that you have created a few false expectations.

In Sorra d'Or we work hard every day togive the best service to our customers and we take note of every comment.

Also we want to tell you that you should not called liars to the persons that have enjoyed their stay with us probably they were more optimistic than you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were very excited about this holiday everyone we spoke to had said how nice barcelona is, but we were extremely disappointed! The people are very rude at the airport, around the shops and even the staff in the actual hotel there weere only about 2 staff that were actually friendly! The room myself and my partner had was right on the train track at the front of the hotel and there was a lot of noise from that, other reviews say its very quiet but it actually isnt even with the balcony door shut there was a lot of noise all through the night and early hours of the morning! The beds were really uncomfortable completely solid when we sat on the mattress it didnt move at all, also the sheets were only changed the day before we were due to leave even tho they were dirty after a couple of days. I didnt go expecting 5 star would have been nice for the staff to actually smile once in a while and to have clean bedding! Ive never really fancied going to spain but wanted a short flight due to bringing my daughter on her first holiday abroad and i can safely say i will not be returning. Ive never known anything like it, so many rude people, they make you feel so unwelcome. Since i have returned i have warned people to stay away. definitely would not recommend!

Room Tip: go for a different area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrador h, Director General at Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we will thank you for your time writing in Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry if you haven`t enjoyed completely your holidays with us and we will work to improve the points that you did not like it.

You did not mention our food and our All Inclusive system or our situation that makes us think that you were agree with it.

Also we think that you have to change your opinion of the spanish behaviour becuase we are a open mind people and really smart and it is curious that you only have found it rude persons in this country.

Anyway we will thank you for your time in Sorra d'Or.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just arrived back from a week all inclusive, my three children aged 16 11 and 3 had a great time as did all the grown ups.... Is hotel is very clean and situated very well for beach, local shops, holiday type shops, train to Barcelona and other surrounding areas. Walking distance go Santa susanna which is just lovely too, I really really don't understand people's comments on the food..my lot are not always easy to please and always found something they liked and enjoyed, usually always having second helpings. As for the food not being warm????????? The hotel are catering for lots of people, I did notice a microwave too, this might be an ide?????easy to use. I honestly think the previous unfair reviews are from people who would never be happy, we went on holiday to enjoy every minute and that we did, we paid a very reasonable price and feel that wevery much got our money's worth, this hotel and location could not be faulted..... Staff very friendly too and the rooms wre cleaned thoroughly daily. What more could u ask for?? If u going to this hotel please ignore all the crap reviews and go open minded as we did and ur in for a great time. Sandra that dances the kids party dances was also a great asset to this hotel. The all inclusive bar and service could also not be faulted. Thanks sorra dor for a great holiday will defo visit again.

Room Tip: We had first floor looking onto pool and this room was huge.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrador h, Director General at Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we will thank you for your time sharing your experience with us.

We are very grateful for your kind comments and this help us to improve day by day anto continue with our effort to give to our customers the best service.

We are really happy that tou have enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in Sorra d'Or or othe of the hotels from Grupo Ibersol.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have just got back from this hotel and enjoyed our week there. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly, it was my 50th birthday on arrival and they upgraded us for free from standard to superior, it was a very nice room and very private with 2 sunbeds and table and chairs on our balcony. The room was cleaned everyday and the bed made everyday, towels changed everyday. There was not much entertainment. The food was very repetitive and not hot. The train station was right outside the hotel but it was not noisy. It was close to the main strip where there is supermarkets and cafes, The beach is just under a subway from the hotel and they allow you to take drinks from the hotel to the beach. There was a mixture of ages when we stayed which made it even nicer. Everybody was friendly.

Room Tip: we were in superior on 3rd floor lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherlWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrador h, Director General at Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time writing in Trip Advisor.

We will thank you for your kind comments and it makes us very happy that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to give our best to offer the best service to our customers.

Thanks again for your time and your comments and we hope to see you again in Sorra d'Or or other of the hotels from Grupo Ibersol.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week in July. We booked the hotel as a cheap last minute deal. The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful. The food was terrible which made our holiday a lot more expensive as we had to eat out. We hired a car and visited nearby towns and villages as the night-life in Malgrat de Mar is not lively.

I would consider staying at the Sorra D'Or again but would definitely go self-catering.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stimpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrador h, Director General at Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for your time writing at Trip Advisor.

All the comments help us to improve our service and we take note of every one of them.

Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you again in Sorra d'Or or other of the hotels of Grupo Ibersol.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel

Address: Passeig de Llevant 1-5, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: £35 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malgrat De Mar
Sorra d Or Hotel
Hotel Sorra d Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing