We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get”
Review of H.TOP Planamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H.TOP Planamar
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Well it's basic it's clean the good point is really the staff friendly and polite which makes a big difference the food is ok (don't expect 5 star)
The location is good right on the front and looks over the beach , the rooms are basic and very 60s 70s style but kept clean and tidy , if you are on a budget the hotel does what it says on the tin , enjoy

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Grc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    222
    222
    128
    194
See reviews for
345
287
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went here for a week all inclusive in April with my mum, sister and 2 young children. We booked through hot deal holidays and it was allocation on arrival. We were told 3 days before travelling that we would be staying here. We were a bit worried due to some of the reviews but the bad reviews are so far from the truth. To start, the staff are very nice and friendly and very helpful. The hotel was nice and clean, the rooms were basic but you don't go on holiday to sit in your room. Cleaners came in everyday which was good. The food was ok for the first 3 days then to be honest I got sick of it. It all tasted the same to me and I mainly had salad and chips! There was something for everyone though and if you like fish you will be ok as always a good selection. Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day. The pool was lovely, and outdoor seating area great. Entertainment was good, reptile show, Brazilian dancers, flamenco dancers, queen tribute act. The drinks system is a bit rubbish, the beakers are thin and never filled up to the top so your drinks are gone in no time then you have to return your cup for another drink. The drinks are weak as well. We were situated so that our balcony faced a side street with another hotel across the road. It was very noisy at times and on Friday and Saturday night I was woke up a few times to the sound of music blasting from a nearby club. It didn't really bother me though as I soon got back to sleep and it didn't wake the kids up. The hotel is in a good area with plenty of shops around. The beach is just across the road but I must say (and I don't know how no one else has mentioned it) but the underpass you have to go under to get to the beach stinks! it takes a lot to make me heave but this did! once past that and onto the beach though its lovely. We had a great holiday and did not want to come home.This hotel is so nice, homely and chilled out and I would definitely go again. My kids had a brilliant holiday and so did we. If it wasn't for the food being a bit naff I would have given it 5 stars for sure. Please ignore bad reviews, the people that say its a horrible hotel must just be snobs that want 5 star service for 3 star money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just returned from a five night All Inclusive stay at this Hotel. Went with my two adult children and we all shared the one room. The rooms are extremely basic and simple... three single beds with very little room to move however as you spend very little time in your room, it was fine. We had a bath with overhead shower and the water pressure is really good with lots of hot water at all times. Room facilities are one small portable TV, Euro Sport and CBS Action, the two English channels available, and a safe and fridge which is handy. The room had a small balcony with two chairs overlooking the front of the hotel, not ideal when there are three of you but again, little time is spent in your room... I would advise you request a front facing room when booking otherwise you will be put in the rear facing room which multi storey views! All the facilities of the hotel are in the front of it and across the road from the beach., The cleanliness was good, maids came in every single day and thoroughly cleaned, fresh towels etc daily.

The All Inclusive package was ok, you couldnt get a drink until 10am each morning and the bar closed at 12 midnight. This wasnt ideal as just after 12 you are left to sit in darkness while they clear up and go home! You are given two cards which you have to show every time you get a drink and they are served in plastic beakers. You cannot get another drink unless you return your beaker each time.

There is good WiFi at the hotel, unless you are sat around the pool and the signal is very poor. The WiFi is quite expensive, we had to pay 20 Euros each for our stay but worth it for the sake of your mobile phone bill when you get home! You are given a code which is a bit of a pain if you use a tablet and phone as you have to constantly sign in and out of each device to use the WiFi

The hotel reception and bar staff are very friendly and helpful, always happy to speak to you.

The hotel entertainment is quite poor, a very small area is allocated for this and it seemed whereever you sat you were blocking the view for others behind you etc. We endured a Repile show, Brazillian dancers and a Flamenco dance... all good in their own right but over quickly and they all seemed to struggle in the small space they had to move in.

Now onto the Food....!

This was poor... the same or very similar food served every day and night which was all quite bland. Big pots of plain pasta, chips and some very basic meat... they always had a fresh salad bar and soups, again bland but ok. Breakfasts were ok, choice of cereals, fried or scrambled eggs alternating daily with streaky turkey style bacon and frankfurter sausages and beans. Small pastries and bread were also available etc.

In between the meals times, they have a snack buffet... this was really bad! Set up in the same dining room as the meals, the only choice you ever got was dried up hamburgers, turkey bacon etc. Not like many other hotels where you can get pizzas, toasties etc.

I have tried to give an honest and true account of this hotel but all this said, for the price you pay for your stay here, all inclusive, you really cannot moan. We paid just under £500 for three adults, all inclusive and that included all the transfers to and from the airport, flights with Ryanair, additional baggage with Ryanair etc etc, so for five nights it was a great bargain.

Its a nicely situated hotel, across the road from the beach and lots of shops/supermarkets all round.

I would definately return there for a cheap break, and if you go there not expecting too much, I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

A tip: the Pizza's sold in one of the many cafes along the walkway are a must and they do takeaways so if you are not keen on the food at the hotel, for about 8 euros you can get a really nice pizza to munch on, either when you are sat around the pool or up in your room, they stay cooking until around 12 midnight!

Also for sport fans, there is a small pub along the walkway that shows all the latest sport and a large beer is around 3 euros, plus many other bars and restaurants... the fish restaurant is a must visit, silver service waiters and food to die for... lobster, monkfish, prawns, filet steaks... we went there for our last meal as a treat and it was beautiful.

Hope this review has helped and although I have been direct with my description, please book here, its is a great hotel all in all and if you bear what I have said in mind, I dont think you will be disappointed :D

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, which will face out over the beach and the seated area/poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J4ne121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from this hotel and cannot fault it for value for money. The staff were always attentive and could not do enough to help. The hotel is quite small compared to most on the Costa Brava and so had a more limited menu than most but the food was excellent for the amount we had to pay. Being able to visit other H Top hotels in the area, with free transport and access to all their facilities was another great perk. The location was also excellent, right on the front and only a few minutes walk from Malgrat railway station and a range of shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJW1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Planamar April 26th until May 3rd, this was on an all inclusive late deal
for seven nights through a company called On The Beach, I stayed there with two friends &
we had one of the twin rooms, the rooms are not big by any standards but neither are they
too small, they have heating, air conditioning, a fridge & a safe for your valuables, the balconies
are small but big enough for two people to sit out, the beds could do with some improvement
as the mattresses are abit hard & the pillow is more like a draught excluder, better mattresses
& proper pillows & the rooms would be alot better, the reception is very well run & maintained
as is the bar & the outside areas, there is a decent pool, alittle cold when we went but then
you do expect that in April (Low Season) the outside bit is a nice little garden where you can
chill out & have a chat, there is a Gym & a Sauna although the Gym looks like it does need
some attention i.e stuff missing, equipment with no power, there is also a pool table, air hockey
& a darts board, the hotel is just across the road from a nice beach & so if you want to laze out
& chill on the beach you can do that within a few minutes & the hire cost for a lounger is only
5 Euros & so pretty reasonable, the food is very good value for the price & there is alot more
choice than what I was expecting there to be, the dining room is well presented & managed
very well indeed, you don't need to queue & there is always food on the trays, they are never
empty, for me some days the food was fairly good & other days it was abit average but then
you do expect that when you pay £185.00 in total for your holiday, but what they do have is
very good value for money, the bar is well stocked & well run & the bar waiting staff are all
fun, approachable & will actually chat with you & have a laugh, I could not fault the staff at
all, fantastic!! other facilities include bike hire, although the ones we had did not seem to
have been maintained very well & so our bike ride was a short one unfortunately but hopefully
this will be rectified in the very near future, the train station is a short walk up the road & so it
is very easy to get a train to Lloret, Calella, Barcelona, Santa Susanna & many other places,
the hotel also run a HTOP Hotel free bus & these run twice a day to Lloret, Calella, Blanes
& Santa Susanna, we used this service twice & found it to be very good & a great way to
get around, I would say though that the food facilities at the other HTOP Hotels are no where
near as good as the Planamars, maybe it is just because they are much bigger hotels but
they just seem to be abit manic, massive queues, people pushing you trying to get to the
different food trays while you're trying to sort your own out & the bars are no where near
as nice as the Planamars either, so I would say use the free bus if you want to go to the
actual places for a look round but definitely not just to use the other hotels because the
Planamar is far superior to them & much better organised, in terms of night life I can't
really comment too much on that as we went low season when it was fairly quiet but
there did seem to be a few fun bars & a couple of nightclubs that I imagine would be
pretty good once July & August kicked in, you can definitely have a great time drinking
out & about in Malgrat but don't expect it to be Ayia Napa, Magaluf, Alcudia, it is on a
much smaller scale but as we found out its all about the people you are with & the people
you meet while you're there that makes or breaks your holiday, we really lucked out with
this & had a fantastic time, we may even be all going again next year, back to the Planamar
so that is very good evidence to show you what a good little base it can be & how the positives
far outweigh the few negatives at the Planamar, I would definitely recommend it & I'm definitely
considering going back, for that kind of price you really cannot fault the place, go check it out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel are abit quieter as not facing the road & passing people on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We came to this hotel a week today we fly home on Thursday reading the reviews before we came was a bit daunting to say the least.we have had a lovely time the hotel staff are very friendly the food is not to everyone's taste but for what we have paid you can't fault it.the beach is right opposite.the hotel is very clean & comfortable.we have been to other htop hotels as they provide a minibus daily which Is free of charge & you are able to use they're facilities while you are there would certainly use htop hotels again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunbeam1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel for 5 nights and did really enjoy it. Staff were fantastic and always wanted to help. Rooms were average but barely spent any time in them. Only bad point was the food, it was average some nights but other nights were poor. And we eat out a couple of times. But again you get more than what you pay for. This would be a five star in my books if there was better food. Overall a very good holiday. And would come back again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
#14 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#73 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
679 reviews
6.6 mi away
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
H.TOP Royal Star & SPA
#87 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Planamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Planamar

Property: H.TOP Planamar
Address: Paseo Maritimo 10-12, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Planamar 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star H·TOP Planamar hotel is located on the maritime promenade in Malgrat de Mar between the areas of Calella and Blanes in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona. Posisioned just 25 metres from the beach, a selection of bars, shops and restaurants are just a short walk from the H•TOP Planamar. It is the ideal choice for young couples and groups looking for a centric hotel with a young, lively and friendly atmosphere and a good standard of accommodation. It is situated 71 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 29KM from Girona Airport. Malgrat de Mar is a quiet town, with traditions and a rich cultural life, with numerous green areas and 4.5 kilometers of beach. Historically, it was a fishing village, with miners and farmers. Malgrat de Mar is a great choice for families, couples or small groups looking for great hotel amenities, lively nightlife and clean&safe beaches. Just a few meters from the Hotel, you can find our Simpatia Restaurant. A new chic and modern restaurant where to eat burgers, cheese fingers, “tapas” and all kind of sweet deserts such as crepes, gofres or ice-creams. There is also Sand Beach Club which offers hammocks and parasols and special rates for clients with TOP All-Inclusive service. The 154-room H·TOP Planamar provides many facilities and services for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange* • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Lift • *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your H.TOP Planamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Top Planamar
Top Planamar Malgrat De Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing