We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a restaurant”
Review of Kosa Bistro

Kosa Bistro
Ranked #23 of 150 Restaurants in Palafrugell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Headed here after reading TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The tiny, unpretentious bar gives you no inkling of the culinary delights to come. We ordered from both the specials menu and the main menu. The dishes were fresh, imaginative and simply gorgeous. Highlights in a meal full of highlights were the razor clams and salmon tartare. We couldn't resist pudding - the chocolate fondant pudding was to die for. The service was excellent- warm and friendly. A wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
firfax
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Kosa Bistro was down the street from an apartment we were renting, so on our first night we decided to try it. We were able to sit outside and enjoy the nice evening. Our waiter came to take our order and we asked him what he would recommend. He chose an exquisite salmon tapas and also a meat tapas. We were not disappointed! He also made wine recommendations that we loved. Make it a point to dine at Kosa Bistro.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairfax10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tapas bar”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have been visiting Palafrugell for many years and are ashamed to admit that we have only just visited this fantastic Tapas bar last evening with a friend. The outstanding culinary experience has now made this small unpretentious bar become a firm favourite of ours. The high standard of produce and excellent selection of Tapas is remarkable and freshly prepared to order. The bar is spotlessly clean and the staff extremely friendly. It would be a travesty if you miss Palafrugell's hidden, culinary gem!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply amazing... Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

During our stay in Palafrugell, a kind resident advised us to eat at this restaurant. We were quite surprised to find this quality of food in an otherwise unpretentious smalltown.

We ate there once, then couldn't help but to return for a second, equally compelling meal. The ambience is nice, the service is really good, wines are carefully selected and the food is often amazing, both in terms of taste and presentation. You could describe it as "high quality tapas", creatively conceived without overdoing it, with inventive combinations and flawless execution.

Some highlights: croquetas with melon tzaziki, salmon tartar with guacamole, foie micuit, "broken" cod with egg and potatoes... My mouth is watering as I remember this ;) Prices are honest, a bit higher than average perhaps, but just a bit - we spent 20/25€ each - and quite understandably, considering the quality.

If I had the chance, I'd be a regular customer, and I strongly advise anyone visiting to not miss the opportunity to try it. They don't take reservations, but we found a table without problems both times.. which we found really surprising: I'd expect this hidden gem to become one of Palafrugell's busiest places as soon as people realize what they're missing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tipsology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabogie, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas and very well priced”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had the pleasure of finding the Kosa Bistro , a husband and wife run Bistro, in the town of Palafrugell (Catalan region)Spain.
The tapas that we had were excellent :
e.g.Potatoes "Braves", Croquetes Iberiques and my favorite, Calamar Romana.
Also ,the service (Elia) was very friendly and professional and finally, the prices were quite resonable.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kosa Bistro also viewed

Palafrugell, Costa Brava
Palafrugell, Costa Brava
 
Palafrugell, Costa Brava
Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell
 
Palafrugell, Costa Brava
Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell
 

Been to Kosa Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing