We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a **** experience!”
Review of S'Agaro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
S'Agaro Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in S'Agaro
Newton Solney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not a **** experience!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This large hotel is superbly located in a semi-secure, spacious site at the more upmarket end of the small resort of S'Agaro near Sant Feliu de Guixols, Catalonia. It has undergone a lot of renovation recently and the gardens, pool, Wellness Spa and public areas are well equipped, furnished and maintained.
The gated access means that the car park is relatively secure, too.
However, compared with the criteria for a four-star hotel in UK the room amenities fall a long way short. For example, there is no full-length mirror, no luggage rack, no in-room information compendium and no offer of porterage. The in-room safe had no key or any other means of locking!
I had specifically booked a 'room with bathroom' but that proved not to be the case. We were faced with a shower only - that had a mind of its own as it decided which of several nozzles it was going to attack you! There were glass rather than plastic tumblers in the bathroom and, worst of all, the bedroom doors were not self-closing, thereby adding to risk of danger in a fire.
It is disappointing that there is not one English language tv channel (out of 42) and the breakfast buffet layout defies comprhension.
However, the stay represented good value (via Booking.com) and many of the staff were pleasant,imes efficient, too
We won't rush back!

Room Tip: Rooms described as 'pool view' actually face the gardens and overlook the sea. They are wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cbbarrie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    142
    74
    25
    17
See reviews for
88
180
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we only able to spend a single night in this luxurious hotel (this was the first night of a coastal walking holiday) but we were very impressed with the location, the quality of the hotel and the dinner and breakfast provided.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you go in the middle of high season to Costa Brava and dont want shopping,crowds, big hotels, loud drunk people around this is the right place to travel:)Garden,pool,rooms,view very nice.
Most spanish people around.
Better for couples than families.
Few cool places around with fresh seafood and even Michelin Stars Restaurant almost touching sea!which I highly recommend - you can sit,eat,drink ,enjoy view in the heat and from time to time feel drops of seawaves on your face if you take a table next to window facing sea not even beach:)aww loved it!!
Charming place,I recommend short stay to relax:)longer than week you might get bored .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daga33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calella, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

What a wonderfully relaxing place. The hotel itself is not unlike you would find in New Orleans or Key West, a traditionally styled grand old building set in lovely grounds just yards from the beach. The rooms and spa are nice enough, not spectacular or as pristine as you would maybe find in a deluxe resort but it all adds to the charm of the place really. The outdoor pool, which we didn't use looked gorgeous with views across the bay. The breakfast was plentiful and varied, even having fried egg and bacon as well as a full range of very fresh pastries, cheese and fruit. The only disappointment was the lack of a waiter service to bring the coffee, its help yourself from a machine but not too much of a burden given the generally relaxed feel to the whole setup. The making of the place though are the staff, from the beaming smiles on reception when you arrive to the bubbly people who run the spa - it makes such a difference and covers for perhaps other areas where the hotel lacks a little. Such a contrast to the last 'orrible place we stayed in at Roses and a pleasant surprise as I didn't think such service existed in Catalunya - well it does here and S'Agaro is a lovely quiet bay where you can unwind for a couple of days and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Postcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordogne
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Nothing really to complain about here. The hotel has a certain charm and elegance and was spotlessly clean throughout. The secure parking was appreciated. The staff in general were both charming and helpful. The room was spacious and well appointed with a huge bathroom with large walk-in shower. The beds were firm and we slept very well. During our stay the weather was quite warm but the air-conditioning coped very well. The TV had a plethora of Spanish and international channels but for whatever reason, not one in English!
The spacious lounges were a delight with a separate TV lounge and card room. There was always a place to find a comfortable sofa or armchair. The covered terrace outside the bar was a great place to enjoy a drink or coffee and take in the sea view.
Our only disappointment was the restaurant. The food was only average and served by a waiter reminiscent of Manuel in Fawlty Towers. However, there are several good restaurants nearby on the seafront within easy walking distance. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good selection of both hot and cold food. Unusually for a hotel buffet, the coffee machine served great coffee.
Wi-Fi is only available in the reception area and though there were two boosters in adjoining areas, the signal was limited or nonexistent. I feel the hotel should really improve on the internet coverage. It was evidently needed by the amount of people using various media devices throughout the day.
We really enjoyed the coastal walks and proximity of the beach.

Room Tip: Rear rooms tend to be larger though no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dordogner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in S'Agaro Hotel for three nights at the end of September with no previous booking. We were greeted by Geraldine who could not have been more friendly and helpful and she gave us a very good rate on a gorgeous sea view room with a good sized balcony and a huge bathroom. The hotel and garden were kept beautifully and the breakfast had an astonishing amount to offer and was excellent. The lovely beach of S'Agaro was literally across the road, but the circular pool in the garden was very tempting especially when windy on the beach. We had dinner on one evening of our stay. While the food was good, the dining room was very brightly lit and felt slightly institutional !! There were lovely walks around the area and some good restaurants in the village. We would definitely go back to this tranquil place.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montparnassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

S´Agaró hotel is located just across the big beach in the small town S´Agaró. It has a great spa and also outdoor pool. Our room had a great view. The people working at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. The hotel has also a big free parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Agaro
0.5 mi away
ILUNION Caleta Park
ILUNION Caleta Park
#2 of 4 in S'Agaro
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hostal de La Gavina
Hostal de La Gavina
#1 of 4 in S'Agaro
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
218 reviews
5.0 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S'Agaro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S'Agaro Hotel

Property: S'Agaro Hotel
Address: Platja de Sant Pol, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > S'Agaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in S'Agaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — S'Agaro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Costa Brava's San Pol Beach, this elegant hotel is surrounded by 8000 m² of gardens with views of the Mediterranean Sea. It features a spa, an outdoor pool and a sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your S'Agaro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S'Agaro Hotel Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing