We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a fantastic spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in S'Agaro
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a road trip of Catalonia, with our two chlidren 12 and 9. Quadruple room was slightly more spacious than others on the trip but still required the climb over a bed to reach the bathroom. Bathroom was spacious with two sinks and separate toilet. The best thing about our room was the fact that it was on the top floor with an amazing view of Sant Pol bay which at any part of the day was breathtaking but especially at sunrise when the room glowed orange and the fisherman were silhouetted tending thier lines in the bay. Ask for a sea view you won't be disappointed.
The room was clean as were all public areas, not many public areas to relax in, quite stark and modern with not many comfy sofas and chairs, only brought to our attention on a day when the heavens opened for 24 hours and we were literally 'hotel bound'.
Pool area very nice, quiet, relaxed and never too busy, always able to find an empty bed at any time of day. Pool table and ping pong for teenagers. Good service from outdoor bar. We don't have little ones but there was an animation 'girl' rather than team who seemed to work very hard and kept the little ones entertained, I think there's a childrens play area also on the level up from the pool. Lovely views from the pool.
Food-lots of fresh salad options, choice not extensive but always a fish option and good quality. Chef to freshly cook your pasta sauce one evening which our children loved. Breakfasts options mostly continental but comprehensive. On the whole good quality Catalan food.
Patrons mainly French and Catalan with the exception of one American family-Hello Jon and Victoria!
Front desk extremely welcoming and helpful, always a warm smile and a greeting. Allowed us to extend our check out time free of charge as sadly I had picked up food poisoning from a restaurant in Pals.
There's a charge for car parking but you can park outside the hotel to unload and if you drive back up to the main road there's a road that runs paralell to it where there's always space, about a 3 minute walk to your car from the hotel.
Lots of beautiful towns and coastal villages within a 20-40 drive of the hotel and so was an excellent base for exploring the most beautiful and picturesque part of the Costa Brava.
Will definitely be back to tour the Costa Brava again and would definitely consider this as a base again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DuggyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

The wife and I went with our 3 kids under 5 yrs old, and our neighbors. We had an awesome time. The kid's pool and adult's pool were fun. I may have drank a couple of bars dry. No complaints. Recommended this resort to a friend from work, he went with his girlfriend and had an incredible time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggie_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

If you are looking for a 2-star hotel, then you dont need to read any further as It meets well that level.

Firstly the good. The rooms are clean with daily room maintenance. Size of rooms and bathrooms is ok. Some rooms have balcony and bay view- it is worth extra pay if they are availble. Rooms that face side (children playground) with partial bay view have very noisy sound due to sprinklers at night. AC is in all rooms, if you care.

very important!!! the hotel got robbed during one of the dinners - i think all rooms on the 6th floor had their doors drilled and safe-
deposits open. we were told 5 hotels more had same the fate, but this is something telling about security.

What are other problems with the hotel
1) food is extremely poor - we ended up eating fruit mostly, everything else was if not inedible then just grossly untasty, that included children menu. granted, we didnt get sick....please please if you do choose to eat in that hotel at least once DO TRY SPANISH FOOD - it is delicious, anywhere on the bay you will enjoy good wine and meal, otherwise you will leave with a wrong impression.
2) the entertainment that might have been interesting for some (although I 'd be shocked someone was interested in its sub-par quality) was rather loud, so it was difficult if you wanted to avoid being a part of it.
3) the hotel is not at the beach front, but 5 minutes walk from the beach. it is also a steep incline, so can be hard to bring kids . no beach towels are provided. the beach is ok, but has big stones just close to the shore, so all of us got a bit hurt, as the waves can be strong and may throw you at the stones or hurts you as you walk out and step on them.
4) hotel staff is friendly but rather ignorant, they dont know most things (best rates for cars? any scuba diving? scooter rental ? money exchange? bank?) These seem rather simple questions any hotel must be able to answer and that they struggled with.... the gentlmen are a bit better, i admit. I also dont think they speak any English (but that was not our problem, as we spoke Spanish)

To get to the hotel budget about 3hours if you are getting public transportation from Barcelona We were told it is better from Gerona. The following is the advice - take Renfe (trains) to Sants station; on Sants change to metro - you dont need to go to the ground - and go to Arc de Triomf. From Arc de Triomf (Estacion de Nord bus station) take bus to San Feliu de Gixols (or even better To S'Agaro) from where you can take a taxi to the hotel. I bought a T10 - a 10-trips ticket which comes out much cheaper than pay-per-trip option (because you are not charged for transfers, neither for a trip done within 1 hr 15 min on a connecting means of transportation). If I recall correctly it was only 7.40 Euro total. But I stayed for a few hours in Barcelona to see the city and used it a bit more. You can safely store your luggage at the Estacion du Nord.

S'Agaro is an ok, modern town, but San Feliu has a pretty old town area and a monastery. Worth a walk and having a lunch/dinner in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

First of all, the food in the hotel is fresh and instant made by the cookers. You have to understand that it's impossible to make the food likeable to everyone because of the different cultures and countries that are at the same time at the hotel, so we try to do our best to like everyone. Nevertheless, the food has improved this last season with our Kitchen Manager, who makes the menus for all our hotels and establish a high quality standards.
About the roberies, we do as much as possible for our clients safety. We always recommend our guests to hire a safety diposit box, that it's impossible to force.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Just got back from a week at this hotel.

Spotless rooms and bathrooms - we had a fantastic seaview over the bay. Plenty of room (even though there was an extra bed). Hairdryer, shower with decent pressure and a good sized bath. No signs of dirt anywhere. TV (though no satelite so no English channels).

Location is actually in San Pol area rather than S'agaro itself - but this really does not matter as it is still a beautiful, peaceful place. The beach front has a few relatively classy restaurants/snack bars and one shop selling a few basics and newspapers. There are a few shops in S'agaro itself (on the main road not on the penisular) - but if you want endless tourist tat or clothes shopping do not come to this resort (Platja d'aro is only a 10 minute drive and there is a lot of nightlife/shops here). The beach is spotless (blue flag), and fairly safe for swimming. Lots of lovely walks on costal paths in either direction. Fantastic childrens play area at the end of the beach (and a mini funfair - but there is a better/cheaper one in Platja D'aro)

We were on half-board - I thought we would end up eating out for half of the stay but we couldn't be bothered (the food is not out of this world fantastic but it is good enough not to be bothered to pay extra for an evening meal - plenty of salad, veg and a choice of main dishes - everything well prepared and fresh).

It was pretty quite when we were there - mainly french guests. (probably explains why the food was relatively good quality). Service was very good - all the staff were friendly and seemed to work well as a team. (No self-important head waiters or managers that we have come across at larger hotels in the past).

There was only one night of hotel entertainment (sic) - pretty dire but that is what I tend to expect. The gym consists of an excercise bike and a weights machine and there is a sauna and a jacuzzi (costs 3E per day to use which is fairly reasonable). There is a computer for internet access (1E = 12 minutes) - not sure if it is possible to print. Pool table and swimming pool plus outdoor bar and jacuzzi - all clean and well maintained.

Would we recommend to close friends - yes

Would we go back - yes

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lilythepink06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2006

We visited this hotel last year and had a great time.

The rooms are quite basic but the staff are so friendly and it is also very clean. It was really quiet when we were there so the pool was empty a lot of the time which the kids loved ! There are really lovely views from the pool, you look right across the harbour.

Our children are 12 & 14 - if you are looking for a bit of family time this place is ideal but don't go here if you are looking for excitement, it is very quiet, especially in May when we visited as this is just the start of their season.

We have just booked to go again in two weeks time and are really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Julie_Luke67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2005

7th holiday in last 5 years. Staff remain the same always friendly and helpful. Meals have improved and S'Agaro is an Oasis surrounded by larger developments and tourist traps. The bay must one of the safest and best in the Costa Brava.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ArchieG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2005

It was a reasonable place to stay for a short period of time (We stayed in the hotel for four nights). The staff appeared friendly (this is what one expectes in Costa Brava). The main advantage of staying in this hotel is its closeness to a very good sandy beach. The food at the hotel was of a reasonable standard with a good variety of dishes (we had our breakfasts and dinners at the hotel). Our experience with the bar was less positive: at a few occasions we wanted to order cocktails from the bar which were listed in the menu but learned that either the bar attendant did not know how to make them or that the bar was "out of stock" for some of the necessary components. By the way, a primitive knowledge of Spanish is the "must" for those who wants to use the bar. Other things which we expected to find but the hotel could not provide was the Internet connection and a possibility of using a telephone card from our room. Finally, if you are planning on checking-out on Sunday morning and order a taxi to get you somewhere (e.g. go to the bus station in Sant Feliu de Guixols like we wanted to), you should, probably, re-arrange your plans as we were assured by one of the staff member that it was impossible to find a taxi cab.... (so, we had to walk to the station, and sure enough we did see a few taxis which were servicing lucky customers from other hotels in the town..)

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fedor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Agaro
0.6 mi away
S'Agaro Hotel
S'Agaro Hotel
#4 of 4 in S'Agaro
369 reviews
3.3 mi away
Park Hotel San Jorge
Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal de La Gavina
Hostal de La Gavina
#1 of 4 in S'Agaro
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Eden Roc by Brava Hoteles
#2 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barcarola
Hotel Barcarola
#1 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
360 reviews
3.1 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel

Address: Cami de la Caleta, s/n, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > S'Agaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in S'Agaro
Price Range: £48 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The S'Agaro Mar Hotel overlooks the bay of Sant Pol, surrounded by pine trees and with magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, where you can enjoy the beauty of the Costa Brava. It is regularly modernize and is ISO 9001 -certified. It has large, comfortable rooms, some of which can be adjoined. S'Agaro Mar Hotel also has extensive gardens and terraces where one can be at one with nature and enjoy the peace and quiet of this landscape, as well as a relaxation area where there's a jacuzzi, sauna, thermal loungers, and a new area for massages, ideal for those who want to enjoy well-being,..... The meals provided by the hotel restaurant are buffet style and offer all the typical Mediterranean dishes on the barbeque when dinner is served on the terrace. It is an ideal spot for enjoying a few days of wellbeing and tranquillity in a friendly environment. We do not accept pets S'Agaro Mar Hotel, the ideal place for an idyllic Costa Brava holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing