We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated Hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in S'Agaro
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 4-5 days but it is not more than 3 * by any means. The rooms are small, spa is pathetic, the reception staff is not very friendly, The breakfast is fine but dinner is not up the mark. Overall feedback is that it is overrated and should have been given a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navneet_KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
We hear all your comments and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.
According with the Spanish regulation our hotel meets all the requirements in order to have the 4*.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel one week in July. It was very nice vacation and we really liked it there! Hotel has very good location on a hillside, 15 min to the Sant Feliu de Guixols town centre and 5 min to the sandy beach Sant Pol. It has a nice large terrase with pool and wading pool with beatifull view over the near bay.We recommend to book a sea view room. We had a bad luck and got a room above the reception, no view. We were really satisfied with boarding. All meals were tasty, well prepared and full of choice.
There is a wide sandy beach Sant Pol only 5 min from hotel. We recommend to rent a sea kayak and make a tour along the lovely rocky coast. The town of S Agaro is very cosy and offer you nice walks to both sides from Sant Pol beach. The walk along the costline from Sant Pol beach to Sant Feliu de Guixols is unforgettable. You take a dirt path above rocky cliff and under you there is a crystal clear sea. All around down there are snorkling places. We also recommend to make trips to other towns along the coast to the north, such as Tamariu, Calella de Palafrugell and Pals.

Room Tip: Higher floors and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

When we first arrived, we noticed that the hotel was not at 4 star level. The staff seemed nice and we were not planning on staying much in the room nor the hotel so we didn't make a big deal out of it. The value is not good as we could have been in a leading hotel of the world for about 20% more. If we know what to expect in advance, we would not have hesitated to pay more for the huge step up- but a 4 star seemed sufficient for our needs when we booked.
We were looking forward to one night on the town amongst adults and tried to hire a babysitter via the hotel. We informed the hotel with 2 days notice but they could not help us to obtain a babysitter. One employee suggested to leave the kids in the kids club- as it was available until 23h30. We would have preferred a babysitter so the kids could sleep-but that was impossible. Just as we checked the kids into the club the animator- Laetizia- informed us that it would end at 23h00 and that the huge sign at the reception was wrong. The reception explained that they had changed the timetable since weeks yet it seemed unimportant to all that the timetable be adjusted. As a matter of fact it has still not been adjusted even though we pointed out the mistake.
When we picked up the kids they seemed abnormally unhappy- even though they are well adjusted to kids clubs in hotels and usually love them. Once we were able to chat with them it turned out that they were not offered a drink of water or anything else over the 2 hour period. My 6 year old daughter was upset and started crying alone in her corner but nobody came to ask her what was wrong or console her. I have been to many imperfect hotels and have never made a big deal out of details- but this is too disappointing to leave ignored and unreported. No parent wants to hear that their child was sad and ignored during a kids club session- and this was not a busy period (September 6h) so no plausible excuses can be accepted.
We are uttlerly dissappointed and will steer clear from this hotel and the GHT group - which has a "cheap" way of doing things: extra money for having a fridge- for obtaining towels- for the safe - for parking the car....easyjet and RyanAir style.
In summary I would have let go the details of mediocrity - as this can only be described at best as a 3 star hotel with a reception- but none of us wants our kids to be mistreated- thus the time I take to write this review.

To end on a positive note, the room has a nice view and the beach is only a 10 minute walk.
I hope this review can help families to make better choices than we did and perhaps hotel management to rethink their family policies. The "poor" rating for service is only due to the service received from the kids club- otherwise the rating would have been average.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a real 4 star hotel or a family oriented hotel- steer away from here. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaseyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This otel was a gretvdisappointment. A very tired hotel even though The sign outside say that it is totally renovated. That has to be in The seventies. The carpet that covers The common areas and thr rooms seems directly unhealthy In our room there was a Hole in it and the room did not have a good smell. Personell was very uninspiering, extr fees for minibar, security box is not a Four str worthy. 170 meters from beach May be true but it is extremely steep. Stay away.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Kjell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In S’Agaró Mar Hotel and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

The hotel was totally renovated on 2001. The qualification of tourist establishments is determinate, in our case, by the Catalan Government, and we can assure you that S’Agaró Mar Hotel is a 4-stars hotel. Furthermore, all of our hotels have ISO 9001 Quality Certification, Worldwide recognized. Some extra services have to be paid because, as usual in the area, they are not included in the price.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We take note about things you didn't like.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a road trip of Catalonia, with our two chlidren 12 and 9. Quadruple room was slightly more spacious than others on the trip but still required the climb over a bed to reach the bathroom. Bathroom was spacious with two sinks and separate toilet. The best thing about our room was the fact that it was on the top floor with an amazing view of Sant Pol bay which at any part of the day was breathtaking but especially at sunrise when the room glowed orange and the fisherman were silhouetted tending thier lines in the bay. Ask for a sea view you won't be disappointed.
The room was clean as were all public areas, not many public areas to relax in, quite stark and modern with not many comfy sofas and chairs, only brought to our attention on a day when the heavens opened for 24 hours and we were literally 'hotel bound'.
Pool area very nice, quiet, relaxed and never too busy, always able to find an empty bed at any time of day. Pool table and ping pong for teenagers. Good service from outdoor bar. We don't have little ones but there was an animation 'girl' rather than team who seemed to work very hard and kept the little ones entertained, I think there's a childrens play area also on the level up from the pool. Lovely views from the pool.
Food-lots of fresh salad options, choice not extensive but always a fish option and good quality. Chef to freshly cook your pasta sauce one evening which our children loved. Breakfasts options mostly continental but comprehensive. On the whole good quality Catalan food.
Patrons mainly French and Catalan with the exception of one American family-Hello Jon and Victoria!
Front desk extremely welcoming and helpful, always a warm smile and a greeting. Allowed us to extend our check out time free of charge as sadly I had picked up food poisoning from a restaurant in Pals.
There's a charge for car parking but you can park outside the hotel to unload and if you drive back up to the main road there's a road that runs paralell to it where there's always space, about a 3 minute walk to your car from the hotel.
Lots of beautiful towns and coastal villages within a 20-40 drive of the hotel and so was an excellent base for exploring the most beautiful and picturesque part of the Costa Brava.
Will definitely be back to tour the Costa Brava again and would definitely consider this as a base again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DuggyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The wife and I went with our 3 kids under 5 yrs old, and our neighbors. We had an awesome time. The kid's pool and adult's pool were fun. I may have drank a couple of bars dry. No complaints. Recommended this resort to a friend from work, he went with his girlfriend and had an incredible time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggie_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

If you are looking for a 2-star hotel, then you dont need to read any further as It meets well that level.

Firstly the good. The rooms are clean with daily room maintenance. Size of rooms and bathrooms is ok. Some rooms have balcony and bay view- it is worth extra pay if they are availble. Rooms that face side (children playground) with partial bay view have very noisy sound due to sprinklers at night. AC is in all rooms, if you care.

very important!!! the hotel got robbed during one of the dinners - i think all rooms on the 6th floor had their doors drilled and safe-
deposits open. we were told 5 hotels more had same the fate, but this is something telling about security.

What are other problems with the hotel
1) food is extremely poor - we ended up eating fruit mostly, everything else was if not inedible then just grossly untasty, that included children menu. granted, we didnt get sick....please please if you do choose to eat in that hotel at least once DO TRY SPANISH FOOD - it is delicious, anywhere on the bay you will enjoy good wine and meal, otherwise you will leave with a wrong impression.
2) the entertainment that might have been interesting for some (although I 'd be shocked someone was interested in its sub-par quality) was rather loud, so it was difficult if you wanted to avoid being a part of it.
3) the hotel is not at the beach front, but 5 minutes walk from the beach. it is also a steep incline, so can be hard to bring kids . no beach towels are provided. the beach is ok, but has big stones just close to the shore, so all of us got a bit hurt, as the waves can be strong and may throw you at the stones or hurts you as you walk out and step on them.
4) hotel staff is friendly but rather ignorant, they dont know most things (best rates for cars? any scuba diving? scooter rental ? money exchange? bank?) These seem rather simple questions any hotel must be able to answer and that they struggled with.... the gentlmen are a bit better, i admit. I also dont think they speak any English (but that was not our problem, as we spoke Spanish)

To get to the hotel budget about 3hours if you are getting public transportation from Barcelona We were told it is better from Gerona. The following is the advice - take Renfe (trains) to Sants station; on Sants change to metro - you dont need to go to the ground - and go to Arc de Triomf. From Arc de Triomf (Estacion de Nord bus station) take bus to San Feliu de Gixols (or even better To S'Agaro) from where you can take a taxi to the hotel. I bought a T10 - a 10-trips ticket which comes out much cheaper than pay-per-trip option (because you are not charged for transfers, neither for a trip done within 1 hr 15 min on a connecting means of transportation). If I recall correctly it was only 7.40 Euro total. But I stayed for a few hours in Barcelona to see the city and used it a bit more. You can safely store your luggage at the Estacion du Nord.

S'Agaro is an ok, modern town, but San Feliu has a pretty old town area and a monastery. Worth a walk and having a lunch/dinner in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

First of all, the food in the hotel is fresh and instant made by the cookers. You have to understand that it's impossible to make the food likeable to everyone because of the different cultures and countries that are at the same time at the hotel, so we try to do our best to like everyone. Nevertheless, the food has improved this last season with our Kitchen Manager, who makes the menus for all our hotels and establish a high quality standards.
About the roberies, we do as much as possible for our clients safety. We always recommend our guests to hire a safety diposit box, that it's impossible to force.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Agaro
0.1 mi away
ILUNION Caleta Park
ILUNION Caleta Park
#2 of 4 in S'Agaro
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
S'Agaro Hotel
S'Agaro Hotel
#4 of 4 in S'Agaro
361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostal de La Gavina
Hostal de La Gavina
#1 of 4 in S'Agaro
318 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
401 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Montjoi by Brava Hoteles
#3 of 13 in Sant Feliu de Guixols
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel

Address: Cami de la Caleta, s/n, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > S'Agaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in S'Agaro
Price Range: £44 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The S'Agaro Mar Hotel overlooks the bay of Sant Pol, surrounded by pine trees and with magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, where you can enjoy the beauty of the Costa Brava. It is regularly modernize and is ISO 9001 -certified. It has large, comfortable rooms, some of which can be adjoined. S'Agaro Mar Hotel also has extensive gardens and terraces where one can be at one with nature and enjoy the peace and quiet of this landscape, as well as a relaxation area where there's a jacuzzi, sauna, thermal loungers, and a new area for massages, ideal for those who want to enjoy well-being,..... The meals provided by the hotel restaurant are buffet style and offer all the typical Mediterranean dishes on the barbeque when dinner is served on the terrace. It is an ideal spot for enjoying a few days of wellbeing and tranquillity in a friendly environment. We do not accept pets S'Agaro Mar Hotel, the ideal place for an idyllic Costa Brava holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing