We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for families and friends”
Review of Villas La Manga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villas La Manga
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We were around 60 people staying at Villas La Manga during a Wedding in Cabo de Palos. This apartment hotel is perfect for families with kids, and for friends. The rooms are fully equipped and very clean and the hotel is very service minded.

Obviously it is not a luxury hotel but considering the price it is very good value for your money.

The location near all the restaurants of Plaza Bohemia is great, it is 50 meters to Mar menor beaches, and 200 meters to the Mediterraneo.

The only flaw is the beds that are a bit "hard", but that is how all beds in Spain are.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattiaskardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2009

We booked through Design Holidays....very helful staff and information on the apartment we were booking, reasonable cost etc. We arrived after their 6pm deadline to find the keys in their outside safe BUT no instructions on how to get to the apartment! So, after a very frustrating hour of locating our accommodation and several phone calls to the maintenance man we were in. The apartment itself was located overlooking the North Course, Mirador del Mar. It had stunning views of the La Manga Strip and the resort itself. I have no complaints about the apartment, a few minor annoyances about lack of cutlery and china for 6 people but nothing major. We were the only occupants of the entire block so we had the indoor pool to ourselves. We had been to the resort many years ago and it seems to have improved a lot. The on site supermarket had everything we needed and the prices were the same as the Mercadonna in La Manga itself. Avoid the strip, nothing to see or do. The on site diving school was excellent and 2 of my teenage children had very reasonably priced diving trips through them. Take the scenic route to Cartegena, beautiful port with lots of places to eat and drink. If you are looking for sunshine and peace and quiet then September is a good time to go. The weather was beautiful and the resort quiet. A week is probably enough but in terms of value for money it was excellent! Design holidays on site were not as helpful as their booking staff in the UK. They did ask for my credit card to guarantee any breakages although I had paid an insurance premium! I refused! I took lots of photos of the apartment when we left in case of any dispute and notified them of any little minor issues in case of further dispute.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We have just come back from a week's break in La Manga. We stayed in a friend's private villa. La Manga club resort is well maintained & quiet. The tennis & golf facilities were excellent though very expensive - especially for families with kids to pay for!
The resturants were expensive. Restaurant Maribel was the best value & good food too but the atmosphere was definately for the over 60's club - very clean & tidy but too much harsh lighting. But saying that waiters were excellent & it was worth a visit. The Italian Luigi's was the best for us as a family with 2 teenagers & best for atmosphere! All pools were cold so no swimming for us, may be better in the summer for that when it gets hotter. Avoid the Asian wok buffet on the resort - both my husband & i got food poisoning & were ill for 48 hours - the raw meat which you choose from the buffet & they then cook was probably the culprit. We went back to complain & they pretended not to understand english. Eating out similar cost to UK prices. Overall a lovely convenient resort with everything near by. A car is essential as the resort is large.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank LouiseWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We have just returned from 2 weeks at La Manga Club, having stayed at 124 Los Molinos. The club is a series of estates, all with different names and features, hotel complex and then there are individual villas also. There are supermarkets, pharmacies bars etc. on site.We hope to return ( see review on tennis club) but not to Los Molinos.


Los Molinos
This estate is about a 15 minute walk from the tennis centre. We were very disappointed with the apartment in so far as it was descibed as luxurious etc and was anything but, we even had to fight for a coffee maker. The bedrooms are downstairs and appear to be dug out of the wall behind and we had a terrible smell of damp, worringly there was a dehumidifier there also, and peculiar given it is so hot. I could go on about the apartment but it is in the past and we have made our complaints to the owner albeit he has yet to reply, suffice to say I would avoid this particular one at all costs as it did really impinge on the holiday.

The pool in Los Molinos is at the front of the complex and can only be accessed with a key, in AND out, that is given to you on arrival except when we were there the locks were not working so no ones keys would open the gates!!! We were advised of this when we arrived but it really does seem such an inept and complicated system. We are on holiday after all!!!!!
It really depends on what suits you and what you are looking for. In this estate depending where you are, you can have a bit of a walk, with steps, to the car, not easy with luggage etc.

We had a look at other estates and El Rancho looks good for us in the future. It was only across the way from Los Molinos so distance wise it is roughly the same from the courts. It has a series of communal pools which are right outside the backdoor so it allows you a little bit more freedom. Also, a great way of kids meeting other kids( we had a 12 & 15 yr old). Both estates are very close , 5 mins walk, from the internet cafe. You can contact the club by email and they will send you a map so you can see exactly where everything is including the estates and individual villas. Los Olivos apartments are right opposite the tennis.

I would say a car is essential otherwise you are very trapped on the complex and in the heat even walking around for any distance can be tricky( I obviously live in a much colder climate).

Food
There are loads of restaurants to chose from but do note they are a little bit expensive in comparison to your average holiday meal. There is a lovely restaurant down by the horseriding, really really nice ,the nicest one on the complex although technically it is not on the complex but it is only 2 mins drive away. There is a lovely outdoor bar, Limon Bar, (sign on the main road as you approach the main entrance to the club) beside this restaurant, very chilled. All food types are catered for on the complex, Uncle Sams, Chinese, Italien etc. We went to the Luigi's one night, Los Lomas, Si bar and restaurant does tekeaways also.
The food in general is not great but we like the more authentic cuisine when we are away so............... Los Belones, next village, 5 mins drive and Cabo de Palos, lovely fishing village 15 mins drive are available to you also. The restaurants over looking the harbour are not cheap and on a par price wise with the club. There is a supermarket here that the locals use called UPPER.

Beaches
The club has it's own private beach, small but nice and sandy. The shuttle bus goes down there also, and there is a restaurant La Cala there open eves only. The timetable for the bus back is at the restaurant and not at the bus stop which is at the top of the hill, I have no idea why this is but......a few people got caught out with this.
There are loads of beaches around and on the La Manga strip the water from the Med has much better waves than on the other side. If you look at a map of the area you will know what I mean. These beaches get busy, we only had a look at them and the strip is not an area that would appeal to me personally. Tourist information here was very helpful.

Fly into San Javier( Murcia) airport if you can, only about 25 mins from the club whereas Alicante looks to be closer to 1 1/2 hours away.

If you like sport, particularly tennis, golf, cricket etc then this is great. If you prefer culture and museums etc not for you although Cartagena is about 25-30 mins away, Roman ruins etc and El Corte Ingles along with other nice shops for shopping!!

See you there!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
17  Thank MDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2006

Just returned from a few days and like the previous reviewer we were more than happy with the standards, cleanliness, friendliness and facilities on offer. Rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean with tea and coffee making facilities fridge mini bar and so many freebies in the bathroom that you can leave your soap bag at home! The pool and gardens are beautiful well kept relaxing and quiet, with the Med. a few steps one way and the Mar Menor even closer you are hard pushed deciding which one you want to relax at. The Mar Menor is just fabulous if you like to hang around in warm shallow safe water, especially safe for small children. Five minutes accross (the quite busy) road are lots of shops, bars, banks and of course restaurants. You do not want to come here for culture or beautiful scenery but for a relaxing chill out holiday with great beach, watersports and good food then its ideal. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel (and as a travel agent I will) and would certainly return again

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank judith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2006

My husband and teenage daughter have just returned from a 4-day break at this hotel. We all needed some sunshine and relaxation, and Villas La Manga proved perfect. The resort itself (La Manga) is nothing much - lots of high-rise hotels strung out along a very long sand-spit. But we knew we were not going there for the culture and history......(Having said that, Cartagena is a historical old town and only a few kilometres drive away - next time we would try to visit).
The hotel was great, and way better than our expectations, given that we had a booked a last-minute cheapie (with Flyglobespan).
The hotel consists of several 2-storey blocks of apartments, arranged around the swimming pool, set in beautifully-kept gardens. Much nicer than all the surrounding high-risers. We had two very bright, clean apartments overlooking the pool - each had a bedroom, living area, sunny balcony and large bathroom. It was very quiet - mostly we were the only people at the pool, although I suspect it will be very busy in July/August.
The food in the restaurant was outstanding - we were on half board, and had expected some fairly basic buffet. But we dined very, very well a la carte - and the house wine at 9 euros was great.
Staff could not have been friendlier, and we came home feeling that we had had a 5-star break at 2-star prices.
Don't hesitate to book here if you want a lazy, laid back break and don't plan to move much beyond the hotel.
DW - edinburgh

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dwalletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2005

Fantastic resort with 3 beautiful but expensive golf courses. Stayed in a beautiful new townhouse booked through Design Holidays. Was surprised to find that my debit card was charged £90 six weeks after we left for damage that had occurred to a plastic table on a ground floor patio. We were not even given the chance to dispute the charge and we certainly did not cause the damage. In view of this I would recommend avoiding booking with Design Holidays at all costs. The £90 has still not been refunded and I have advised Design Holidays that I will never use them again.

53  Thank drbenbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Manga del Mar Menor hotels
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Galua
Servigroup Galua
#1 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
757 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Entremares
Hotel Entremares
#3 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
1,335 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel ROC Doblemar
Hotel ROC Doblemar
#5 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Poseidon La Manga Hotel & Spa
Poseidon La Manga Hotel & Spa
#9 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aparthotel Londres
Aparthotel Londres
#13 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
250 reviews
3.3 mi away
Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas
#8 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas La Manga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas La Manga

Address: Gran Via de La Manga Km 3, 30380 La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain
Region: Spain > Region of Murcia > La Manga del Mar Menor
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Manga del Mar Menor
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas La Manga 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas La Manga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas La Manga Hotel La Manga Del Mar Menor
Hotel La Manga
Manga Spain
Villas La Manga Spain/La Manga Del Mar Menor, Region Of Murcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing