We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 Star”
Review of Los Delfines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Delfines Hotel
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not 4 Star”
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We visited "Los Delfines" at the end of June, when the resort is still off season. This suited us fine as we just wanted a relaxing break.Hotel probably rates as a 4 star as all the amenities are there,but on our visit the Bar, Pool Cafe,Fitness Room, Sauna,and evening resturant were all closed.( something they don,t tell you when booking ) although we got a very good 49e per night rate.Then after 5 quiet nights the hotel filled with hundreds of Spanish school children, And being typical kids away from home they were extremely noisy,taking over the whole hotel.Luckily for us it was our last night,but we felt sorry for other guests staying longer. ( I suspect they don,t mention the hotel will be full of kids when booking, SO ASK!!!) But the biggest drawback with the hotel is the beds,previous reviews have mentioned the typicaly hard spanish matresses, we booked a double room and arrived to find twin beds pushed together,and when I took this up with reception I was told that there we're no double beds in the hotel at all ( again something they don't tell you when booking)not what you'd expect from a four star.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidays1work0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    37
    43
    22
    26
See reviews for
34
73
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Travelled to Los Delphines on July 07 and found the hotel very good. The food was well prepared with plenty of choice and the restaurent staff were wonderful and very friendly, didn't speak alot of english as the hotel does mainly cater for spanish guests but that dosn't bother us, gives you a chance to try out your spanish. The rooms were adequate the fridge and small kitchenette were very handy as we travelled with an infant of 6months. The only dowfall to the hotel was the lifts they were very small just fitted in with the buggy my husband had to take another lift. I don't know how a disabled guest woudl manage with a scooter or wheel chair? Over all we had a great few days the fact that there was very few english was a bonus! Beach very clean the resort a little run down but plenty of facilities.

  • Liked — lovation
  • Disliked — lifts
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ali_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

We booked through flyglobespan, and were quite disappointed that a 4* hotel was really a 3* at the very most. Rooms were clean and air-conditioned, the usual hard single beds, but a gorgeous view of the beach from the balcony.

The pool area is pretty small with expensive drinks - alot of the locals use it too so it can get quite crowded. However, the beautiful beach is just across the road, but don't expect any facilities.

La Manga seems to be a place that is very much still to accommodate tourists from abroad. It is a place that the Spanish come to at weekends, which is great, but there doens't seem to be any Spanish culture either!

Everything closes in the afternoon, so if you haven't had lunch by 1pm then forget being served anywhere! We also found the restaurant owners to be quite rude, and would happily let you sit there while they ignore you.

The nightlife wasnt great either, we found a cute little Irish bar across the road, which had fantastic staff, but really there was not much to do when the sun went down.

Food at the hotel was ok, but I am not a fussy eater, so if you are picky you may have trouble. Also dinner doesn't start serving till 8.30pm so if you missed the 1pm lunch it's a long wait!

Hotel staff were nice and friendly, it was a pleasant stay, but we were only there for the weekend. I would recommend waiting a couple of years before it is ready for tourists although I hear The Manga Club is the place to stay if you are not from Spain.

  • Liked — The air conditioning stayed on all the time. The staff were very friendly.
  • Disliked — Nothing to do, the food was pretty bad.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2006

We booked this holiday on Flyglobespan. Couldn't find much on the internet about the hotel or resort so didn't really know what to expect. We loved the hotel from the minute we arrived. We had a large room on the 5th floor with a corner balcony so one half of the balcony faced the Lake and the other the sea. There was a small kitchen in the room with a large fridge so we could make our own lunch every day. Rooms were basic but clean and quite large. We were half board and the food was amazing! Usual type of breakfast with fry-up, cereals, fruit and pastrries. Dinner was buffet served but did not disappoint. Me and my husband love red meat and vegetables and there was plenty to be had. One night we went up three times for steak. Also had some fish, pasta and pizza dishes etc... Desert was ok but i am not a fan of spanish deserts anyway!! The main problem in the hotel was that the staff could hardly speak a word of English. Luckily for us my husband could speak some Spanish. At the time we were there (last week in May) the hotel was filled with six bus loads of Spanish pensioners from Murcia and only about 10 brits but that suited us to a tee. The pool was empty so we could take our own drinks and food to the poolside and had our pick of sunbeds. The reason for thi swas because La Manga was dead and the pensioners didnt really do the pool thing! My main disappointment was the resort of La Manga. I thought it would be quite a classy resort but it is definately not. It was so quiet when we were there that i fell slightly uneasy out walking at night. However we were told that it does get busy from June. To sum up, good hotel, good food, strange resort and very windy due to the sea and lake!

Helpful?
5 Thank vanilla74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, West Lothian
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2006

The Hotel was ok but not 4*. No entertainment at all.
Pool bar opens sometimes but serves no food.
La Manga was very disappointing nothing interesting to do or see.
Lots of buildings but no people!!! Did not see one bus or taxi whilst
we were there. (Weekend break Thurs-Sun)
Thank goodness the kids were at home we would have been
struggling to keep them amused.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MNimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Manga del Mar Menor hotels

scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2006

hotel was very poor for a four star no better than a two star. no entertainment unless you liked to play cards or listen to a young lady sing and dance in spanish.the food was very basic well below the standard you would expect from a four star hotel. from our balcony we could see the sea over a large block of tatty flats. the pool bar was never open when we were there the snack bar sold only coffee, crisps and biscuits no hot food for a snack at lunch time.very disappointing, would not recomend.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2006

just back from a stay at this hotel I would not rate it a 4 star - more a good 2 star - caters mainly for the spanish guests. rooms very basic and the decor awful - we had a room on the fourth floor with a view to one of the side streets and a slight view of the sea. food was ok and again catered for the spanish. the pool had a bar with poor facilities no hot snacks during the day. The hotel bar closed at 11.00pm and even though you are a guest they refuse to serve drinks. whilst we were there we checked other 4 star hotels and found that the best one is Hotel sol galua. we hired out a car and travelled around the different areas of la managa - Cartagena worth a visit and La Manga Club with all the differerent restaurants. Very few taxis in this area and I believe they are expensive. The only way to see this place is to hire a car at the airport (we used Europa) and driving is easy with the roads well signposted. Some of the places we visited were very nice but if i was to go back it I would not stay here.

Helpful?
13 Thank mairebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Manga del Mar Menor hotels
1.1 mi away
Servigroup Galua
Servigroup Galua
#1 of 25 in La Manga del Mar Menor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Entremares
Hotel Entremares
#2 of 25 in La Manga del Mar Menor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas
#6 of 25 in La Manga del Mar Menor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aparthotel Londres
Aparthotel Londres
#9 of 25 in La Manga del Mar Menor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villas La Manga
Villas La Manga
#5 of 25 in La Manga del Mar Menor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel & SPA Mangalan
Hotel & SPA Mangalan
#7 of 25 in La Manga del Mar Menor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Delfines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Delfines Hotel

Property: Los Delfines Hotel
Address: Calle Gran Via Pl km 1, 30380 La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain
Region: Spain > Region of Murcia > La Manga del Mar Menor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in La Manga del Mar Menor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Delfines Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Delfines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Delfines Hotel Spain/La Manga Del Mar Menor, Region Of Murcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing