We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garth Cottage
Nearby Hotels
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glewstone Court(Ross-on-Wye)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
88
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bthe riverdouble aspect windowsall mod consfantastic hospitalityour night stayexcellent cheffriendly welcomerelaxing weekendbreakfasts were excellentstunning viewsmarkvalberniehostssymondswye
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2011

stayed here with a friend in march, returned first week october for four days, symonds yat east is amazing, so much to see and do, garth cottage is definetly the only place to stay, faultless, food perfect thanks to mark, room spotless, view stunning, hosts well brilliant, keep up the fantastic service.

Room Tip: choose the twin room with double windows to each side, you get the best views
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was our second visit to Symonds Yat and our first stay at Garth Cottage. We took friends with us so I was hoping that we had made a good choice of accomodation.
Well it certainly surpassed all expectaions. Beautiful spot on the river, wonderful hosts and accomodation and a fabulous breakfast courtesy of Mark.
The Edens are a delightful family and couldn't do enough for us even taking us into Monmouth on the Saturday morning to collect our vehicle wisely left there after a few beers on the Friday night.
We love Symonds Yat and will definitely be returning to Garth Cottage

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neil-Sian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were happy to find free and spacious parking immediately on arrival. If you have not been to Symonds Yat - parking is at a premium and this B&B had more than enough space which was great.
Teh Eden family were very welcoming and the accommodation was of a high standard. Breakfasts were fab with a great choice - even for vegetarians! Nothing was too much trouble - and you're made to feel like part of the family.
Theres even a small cosy bar for residents who fancy a night cap - which is far more reasonably priced than the local pub.
Gorgeous views of the river in the day and beautiful stary skies at night - would definately stay again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lianne36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is a really super B&B in a very pretty and peaceful hamlet on the banks of the river Wye. The views of the river & surrounding landscape from the room, breakfast room and terrace are wonderful. The Eden family are very welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious with a wide choice. Parking is right outside the cottage and there's also a good pub almost next door which serves great food for lunch/dinner (although it isn't noisy at night - we slept really well!). Will definitely be recommending Garth Cottage to family & friends.

Room Tip: Ask if the corner room (No. 2) is available (dual aspect windows looking onto the river).
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EndofJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the Eden family's hospitality. Wonderful views, great breakfasts (with an amazing choice), two days of total relaxation and all at a very reasonable price. Parking right outside below the terrace where you can sit and enjoy a drink and watch the swans go by. Nice walks and plenty of places to visit nearby. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews