We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break”
Review of Garth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garth Cottage
Ranked #4 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at Garth Cottage at the end of September for 3 nights for my birthday weekend away. We were greeted by Mark, Val and Bertie with a welcoming cup of tea and our bags were carried to our clean, homely room with perfect views of the River.

Mark is a chef and we must say that the two evening meals that we ate at Garth Cottage were probably the best meals we have ever had the pleasure to eat. Beautiful homemade pate, steak in a gorgeous red wine and mushroon sauce to name one meal...wonderful! If you stay at Garth Cottage you really should try at least one meal in. Breakfasts fab too!

In an ideal position for walking, we walked to Monmouth and back one day, around 12 miles, went up to Yat Rock for breathtaking views and shopped in Hereford, where there are lots of shops.

Would we go back?......don't be silly, of course we will. Thank you for making our stay perfect. Sue & Kevin.

Room Tip: All rooms have a terrific view over the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Fantastic few day at the end of August. Only booked the 3 nights the Friday before. Traveled down on the August bank holiday Monday. Got a warm welcome from Mark and Val and a parking bay right out side. Given a cup of tea and a seat before being shown to the room. OK for all you that like to find DUST!! YES there was dust but I had to wet one finger and run it along the top of all the pictures in the room before I found one with a little dust on it. I looked out of the window it the river WYE and the view up the valley and stopped looking for faults just relaxed and totaly enjoyed the few day we stayed there. Mark and Val could not do enough to make us fIll welcome. giving us the low down on were to eat and the best walks. WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river WYE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Russell111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay Devon England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were originally booked into the Royal Lodge Hotel, so we thought, but our reservation was lost somewhere in Cyber Space!! This beautifully located small Guest House came to our rescue, and what a rescue!! Put us up at very short notice as if they had been doing it all their lives, and made our stay most memorable. The location is probably one of the best on the River Wye at Symonds Yat East, with superb views both up and down the river, with the added bonus of the evening sun. Can only but reiterate previous comments, five star service, and most excellent G&T's on the terrace.
Thank you Mark and Val, we WILL return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devonbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The only way we can add to previous comments is to write another 5 star review! We came to Symond's Yat for a special anniversary break and found Garth Cottage to be the perfect hideaway. The views of the river from the comfortable bedroom were great and the village's cul-de-sac location added a special charm. Mark, Val and Bertie were all friendly, welcoming, and helpful but not intrusive - really perfect hosts.

Our locally-sourced breakfasts were superb, being plentiful and delicious, and the evening meal Mark prepared for our anniversary was just great. My wife thought that Mark's profiteroles were the best she'd ever had! Mark's mini-valet of my car was also much appreciated (and much needed!)

Symond's Yat (East) is an ideal location for visiting various places of interest in the area - Gloucester, Goodrich Castle, the Forest of Dean, Monmouth, etc, but is a welcoming retreat after a day's wandering. We made use of Mark's mini-bar & sun lounge but admittedly didn't try the neighbouring Saracen's Head. (Heard mixed reviews of this locally and didn't want to be disappointed.) We did, however, have an evening meal at the Cross Keys in nearby Goodrich and can thoroughly recommend this pub for its broad menu and huge portions of excellent food.

We will return! Thanks once again to the Eden family.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the river with equally good views. Note that the stairway to the first floor is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pennysow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My husband and visited Symonds Yat for the first time this summer and decided to stay at Garth Cottage for two nights. We were welcomed by Mark with tea and biscuits and shown to our lovely room which had spectacular views up and down the river Wye, which runs right in front of the Cottage.

Our evening meal, which we booked in advance, was delicious and all home cooked by Mark!

Locality is ideal and the friendly family, who share their home with you, made our stay really enjoyable and relaxing.

Would highly recommend and go there again.

Room Tip: All of them look over the river I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Can't really add anything to previous reviews- it's all absolutely true! Mark and his mum Val made us really welcome, with a pot of tea on the outdoor terrace when we arrived. The room was really clean and well stocked with tea/coffee making making facilities and toiletries, and I had to tear myself away from the view to go downstairs and start exploring. The dining room has the same great view, but it's easy to forget it once you experience Mark's cooking. Poached haddock, kippers, eggs Benedict, smoked salmon on toasted English muffin...or a beautiful FRESHLY COOKED full English? Life can be so difficult! Mark also does evening meals with enough notice, and although we didn't have one they looked just as good. He also has a really well-stocked little bar-the cold lager was a real winner after a long walk on a hot day and it was great to be able to sit outside with it under the sun umbrella on the terrace watching the river go by. Would go back there like a shot. We found them by Googling 'Garth Cottage' & booked by e-mail, but you can phone too.

Room Tip: All 4 double rooms face look out over amazing views of the river. Apparently room 2 is the largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayteey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed for two nights & had excellent dinners on both.Mark has first class culinary skills & we would recommend the results to anyone.The rooms were spotless & the rivers views spectacular. We had welcome tea & cake on the patio when we arrived.Mark & Val are the perfect hosts & you will want for nothing .Strangers are friends within minutes of arriving.This is a very comfortable place to be & our hosts deserve great credit for our lovely relaxing break in a beautiful part of the country.
Nancy & Peter

Room Tip: The river view bedrooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshireoldies825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
113 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
#1 of 5 in Symonds Yat
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Cottage

Property: Garth Cottage
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Garth Cottage Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing