We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garth Cottage
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Lodge(Symonds Yat)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ye Old Ferrie Inn(Symonds Yat)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
89
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverdouble aspect windowsall mod consfantastic hospitalityour night stayexcellent cheffriendly welcomerelaxing weekendbreakfasts were excellentstunning viewsmarkvalberniehostssymondswyewalks
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A lovely guest house in a lovely setting. Our room was large with a great view of the river (our host said all their rooms had river views). It had a good sized bathroom - no bath but a large shower. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Unusually for now-a-days there was no TV in the room, though the downstairs lounge had a large flat screen which would suffice if you were desperate not to miss anything! Breakfast was cooked perfectly. Despite a time window of just 8:30 to 9:00, our host offered to make breakfast earlier if we wanted so it wasn't an issue.
As to our hosts, they were most friendly, very chatty, very accommodating and helpful. Lovely people. All in all I can highly recommend staying here and fully expect to return someday myself

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a great 4 nights we have just had.From the greeting, being met at the private parking and helped with baggage, to the friendly approach given by Val Eden and her son Mark. This really is a gem of a b&b. The room was comfortable,the choice of food for the next days breakfast comprehensive,matched only by its taste. If you can plan an evening meal in advance then Mark will serve up one to savour.I was even offered the use of his garage to correct a fault on my classic car.Add this to being in probably the prettiest setting in arguably one of the finest areas we have visited, i can only say we'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just arrived home from a 3 night stay . We were a party of 2 couples from the warm welcome we received on arrival (tea & cake) to the friendly send off on our departure we could not fault our stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean with magnificent views of the River Wye from the windows. The Eden family were pleased to do anything possible to make our stay enjoyable. The lovely breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious as was the evening meal cooked for us by Mark on our second evening, even choosing our own menu.
We will definitely be returning to this truly delightful B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms have view of river so are equally as good
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here in September for a couple of nights. We were given a warm reception and a fantastic room overlooking the river. Mark and his mum were very accommodating and helpful during our stay as well as offering suggestions for the second part of our trip. We would definitely stay here again, and give it a good recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sea_gypsyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I booked Garth Cottage for a overnight stay for Saturday for me and my mum as we had a spa day booked on the Sunday. We wanted to stay on this strip but the Royal Lodge and Saracans Head were both fully booked but luckilly I came across this B&B who had availability.
On arrival we were greeted by Mark and shown to our twin room (room 5) and offered tea and yummy Medeira cake! As it was such a beautiful hot day we sat out the front of the B&B overlooking the river for hours, we got very comfy and so couldn't move and became very lazy!! We chatted to Mark and his lovely parents until dinner time. Mark took our orders for breakfast and we chose exactly what we wanted.
We took a stroll to the Royal Lodge for a drink and then drove into Monmouth for dinner. We arrived back at 11.30pm and again greeted by Mark who directed me into my car park space.
Our room was lovely, clean and airy with a modern ensuite shower and toilet but the best part was the view! We could see up and down the river, was an excellent view.
Breakfast was perfect, we had hashbrowns, toast, beans, scambled eggs, mushrooms, bacon and sausage, juice and tea.
A very big thank you to Mark and his parents for our very relaxing stay, we were made to feel at home throughout and will definitely be recommending!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hocapontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews