We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!”
Review of Garth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garth Cottage
Ranked #4 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Garth cottage is so much more than your typical B&B. For me, a good B&B has to do two things well. The first being Bed and the second, of course Breakfast. The bed was deliciously comfortable with high quality mattress, duvet and sheets. The breakfasts were outstanding - some 5* London hotels would struggle to match the cooked breakfasts that Mark magically conjures up! So that's two big ticks right there, but what makes this place stand out by quite some margin is the hosts. We could not have possibly asked for anything more given a million years! The Eden family are unbelievably accommodating, generous, kind, incredibly interesting and a real pleasure to stay with. We felt as though we had known them for years! I can't even explain just how fabulous our 2 night stay was! We felt right at home which is why people choose a B&B over a hotel in the first place,but these guys are different beasts altogether! A huge thank you again to Mark, Val and Bertie. I can say with confidence that we will be back! We only got home yesterday and are already trying to make space in the diary for our next visit!!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is the largest of all the guest rooms, however, I wouldn't worry too much if its already...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZeusnGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

From the moment we arrived, greeted by Mark with a tray of tea and cakes to the morning we left, nothing was too much trouble. One of the best B&B's we have stayed in. The room (No 4) was not overlarge but was more than adequate for our needs; very comfortable with a lovely bed and the shower / toilet was fine. Mark is an excellent chef, so be aware to pre book dinner; the variety of his dishes is great. This is definitely one to go onto the 'must visit again ' list. We stayed just two nights but it will be more next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A lovely guest house in a lovely setting. Our room was large with a great view of the river (our host said all their rooms had river views). It had a good sized bathroom - no bath but a large shower. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Unusually for now-a-days there was no TV in the room, though the downstairs lounge had a large flat screen which would suffice if you were desperate not to miss anything! Breakfast was cooked perfectly. Despite a time window of just 8:30 to 9:00, our host offered to make breakfast earlier if we wanted so it wasn't an issue.
As to our hosts, they were most friendly, very chatty, very accommodating and helpful. Lovely people. All in all I can highly recommend staying here and fully expect to return someday myself

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a great 4 nights we have just had.From the greeting, being met at the private parking and helped with baggage, to the friendly approach given by Val Eden and her son Mark. This really is a gem of a b&b. The room was comfortable,the choice of food for the next days breakfast comprehensive,matched only by its taste. If you can plan an evening meal in advance then Mark will serve up one to savour.I was even offered the use of his garage to correct a fault on my classic car.Add this to being in probably the prettiest setting in arguably one of the finest areas we have visited, i can only say we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just arrived home from a 3 night stay . We were a party of 2 couples from the warm welcome we received on arrival (tea & cake) to the friendly send off on our departure we could not fault our stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean with magnificent views of the River Wye from the windows. The Eden family were pleased to do anything possible to make our stay enjoyable. The lovely breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious as was the evening meal cooked for us by Mark on our second evening, even choosing our own menu.
We will definitely be returning to this truly delightful B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms have view of river so are equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here in September for a couple of nights. We were given a warm reception and a fantastic room overlooking the river. Mark and his mum were very accommodating and helpful during our stay as well as offering suggestions for the second part of our trip. We would definitely stay here again, and give it a good recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sea_gypsyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I booked Garth Cottage for a overnight stay for Saturday for me and my mum as we had a spa day booked on the Sunday. We wanted to stay on this strip but the Royal Lodge and Saracans Head were both fully booked but luckilly I came across this B&B who had availability.
On arrival we were greeted by Mark and shown to our twin room (room 5) and offered tea and yummy Medeira cake! As it was such a beautiful hot day we sat out the front of the B&B overlooking the river for hours, we got very comfy and so couldn't move and became very lazy!! We chatted to Mark and his lovely parents until dinner time. Mark took our orders for breakfast and we chose exactly what we wanted.
We took a stroll to the Royal Lodge for a drink and then drove into Monmouth for dinner. We arrived back at 11.30pm and again greeted by Mark who directed me into my car park space.
Our room was lovely, clean and airy with a modern ensuite shower and toilet but the best part was the view! We could see up and down the river, was an excellent view.
Breakfast was perfect, we had hashbrowns, toast, beans, scambled eggs, mushrooms, bacon and sausage, juice and tea.
A very big thank you to Mark and his parents for our very relaxing stay, we were made to feel at home throughout and will definitely be recommending!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hocapontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
480 reviews
6.1 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
568 reviews
5.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Cottage

Property: Garth Cottage
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Garth Cottage Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing