We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.......Again!”
Review of Garth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garth Cottage
Ranked #4 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Visited Garth Cottage again on my birthday this year and it was as friendly, clean and comfortable as it was last year when we visited.

The hospitality afforded by Mark, Val and Bertie is 1st Class and once again the freshly cooked food was excellent, eating breakfast and evening meal here twice, visiting a local pub on the remaining evening, which was nice but nowhere near as gorgeous as the food prepared by Mark at Garths Cottage, a must if you stay
here.

Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Rereading the reviews having now stayed here we can see what people have been on about. Without doubt the welcome couldn't be better. Mark was most helpful with our stuff. The cottage is very homely and is all spotlessly clean. It's position right by the river is really good. The food (we only had breakfasts) was fine. We felt some of the decor was a little old fashioned and the room was a touch on the small side but honestly we didn't spend enough time in the room to really worry about this and in any event the wonderful outlook up the valley more than made up for it. On the whole Garth Cottage is really good value for money and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We think the rooms look out over the river anyway but do ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mousie401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Reviewing Garth Cottage is rather difficult because, as they say, style is easy to spot but difficult to define. If you like comfy slippers and are looking for warm hospitality and a very, very homely B and B, then you will love Garth Cottage. If you are a fashionista and are seeking chrome, glitz and modern facilities, you’ll probably hate it. We had a wonderful stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IMPartialDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We came with another couple who, like ourselves, were really impressed by both the location and the hospitality shown by the owners. From the private car park and lovely views to those amazing breakfasts, one could ask for nothing more.
We walked up to the Rock where the views are breath-taking and spent quite a lot of time exploring the tracks of the forests around and about.
Mark, Val and Bertie are most obliging and nothing is too much trouble. Mark’s collection of model cars provoked lengthy discussions over the odd drink from the bar!

Room Tip: Room 2 has dual aspect for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roylance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Yes we came to Garth cottage last year, 2012. Enjoyed it so much we just had to come back. This time we took our 23yr old daughter with us and she fell in love with it all. Tucked away in the Forested of Dean offering Walking,Climbing. Canoeing and kayaking.
Garth cottage is right on the riverbank Mark, Val and Bertie worked endlessly to make our stay a relaxing one. Form just having a parking space ready for us right out side, a cup of tea and slice of cake before we were taken to our room. The rooms were very nice and clean and we had a room with seats and a table but we liked sitting on the verander watching the the world go by. Mark cooked an evening meal for us the night we arriver (Roast pork) I just gave him 24hours notice and my daughter said it was the best pork EVER. We had a afternoon out on the river Wye Canoeing now that's really good fun if you can stop the girls screaming..... lol
As we were leaving make told me he has FISHING LICENCES so next time I'm taking some sort of fishing rod. Very very enjotable few day rest we'll be back rod in hand.

Room Tip: All room face the river we enjoyed roon 4 last year but room 2 is the better room if you want to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

It was such an enjoyable stay we decided within a matter of hours to re book for the end of august. Fantastic warm welcome coupled with wonderful rooms, food and hospitality made this a truly memorable long weekend. Thanks to Mark, Val and Bertie.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lukeandkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Garth cottage is so much more than your typical B&B. For me, a good B&B has to do two things well. The first being Bed and the second, of course Breakfast. The bed was deliciously comfortable with high quality mattress, duvet and sheets. The breakfasts were outstanding - some 5* London hotels would struggle to match the cooked breakfasts that Mark magically conjures up! So that's two big ticks right there, but what makes this place stand out by quite some margin is the hosts. We could not have possibly asked for anything more given a million years! The Eden family are unbelievably accommodating, generous, kind, incredibly interesting and a real pleasure to stay with. We felt as though we had known them for years! I can't even explain just how fabulous our 2 night stay was! We felt right at home which is why people choose a B&B over a hotel in the first place,but these guys are different beasts altogether! A huge thank you again to Mark, Val and Bertie. I can say with confidence that we will be back! We only got home yesterday and are already trying to make space in the diary for our next visit!!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is the largest of all the guest rooms, however, I wouldn't worry too much if its already...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZeusnGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Symonds Yat hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
#1 of 5 in Symonds Yat
558 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Garth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Cottage

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range: £24 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Garth Cottage Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing