We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you must stay here”
Review of Garth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garth Cottage
Ranked #4 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“you must stay here”
Reviewed 11 March 2011

went with a friend not been to this area before, as time precious we wanted 3 full days, i mentioned this briefly on booking no prob, as we were first guests of the year they said arrive whenever we wanted and they would give us a drink, i rang to confirm booking 2 days before mark asked what time we be arriving , i said 8 ish in the morning, this was no problem , welcomed us with a lovely friendly smile and a drink next to a lovely log fire, room amaxing views, giving so much usefull information so helpfull to us, i can not say enough positives about garth cottage and the owners, breakfast awesome, stay here for a break to remember.......

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Lovely location....Very friendly.
Food was very good...especialy the full breakfast.
Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My wife and I have just enjoyed a lovely midweek break at Garth cottage. The view from our room was beautiful. The owners, Val and Bert and their son Mark realy made us welcome and were good company when ever they joined us for a chat on their balcony which overlooks the river. Mark keeps a good range of drinks in the cosy little bar and he cooks a lovely breakfast which kept us going for most of the day. There are some lovely walks along the river and very nice places to visit by car. Garth cottage is excellent value for money and we will definately be returning in the future.
Phil and Carole, Stoke on Trent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mineandhers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleshill
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We were greeted at 10.00am by our host Mark who kindly offered us a nice cup of coffee on arrival. Then off to canoe down the River Wye for the rest of the day. Symonds Yat gets very busy at bank holidays and we were dismayed to find that many of the resturants and hotels were fully booked. No problem at Garth Cottage...Mark promptly sugested he could knock us up a dinner consisting of a smoked salmon starter followed by duck breast in a port sauce with shallotts! Where else would you be offered that at such short notice? It was absolutely delicious! Very nice room for the overnight stay (an olde worlde kind of a feel but VERY clean and well presented) followed by a superb cooked breakfast with all the trimmings. It scored 10/10 on my scale for taste and what I really liked was everything on the plate was piping hot! This was our first visit to Garth Cottage having stayed previously in the other hotels and inns nearby but this has, as the title suggests, proved to be a real gem of a find. Highly recommended to all....the family that run this place are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave-Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We have recently returned from a weekend break,we stayed at Gareth cottage guest house.We've been to Symonds Yat before staying at the Royal Lodge Hotel,I have to say we made a fantastic choice by choosing Gareth cottage,Mark,Val and Bert are a lovely family who make you feel exceptionally welcome.On arrival we were greeted with tea/coffee and biscuits.We decided to stay in and try the evening meal, Mark asked us what/how we liked our food and is there any special requirements-The food was cooked to perfection.The breakfast was the best we've had out before -the works!Again absolutely delicious,after having two meals which could not be faulted at all, we decided to book Saturdays evening meal-We have eaten out before at symonds Yat and we can honestly say that Marks cooking topped all of the them, theres an execellent choice and plenty of it!
The rooms are very clean and comfortable with lovely views of the river wye-the rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee facilities and hairdryer.
We have already booked our second visit to Gareth cottage for July and we are taking family can't wait!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Just returned from Symonds Yat, Herefordshire where we had a very relaxing weekend at Garth Cottage. This unassuming B&B is in just about the most picturesque location in the UK - it has views over the River Wye from bedrooms, dining room and lounge/relaxation area.

Breakfast was really excellent, it was really inexpensive, and it is walking distance from two excellent restaurants (Saracen's Head Inn and Royal Lodge). The most important attribute however, is the B&B's very friendly owners and hosts, the Eden Family.

We did a lovely walk along the banks of the Wye, walked up the Yat Rock, and on our last morning took a canoe out on the river for an hour - pure heaven.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and views of river Wye
  • Disliked — Bedroom quite small, but perfectly adequate and en-suite
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derekthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
5.4 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Cottage

Property: Garth Cottage
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Garth Cottage Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing