We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, fantastic location”

The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic location”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Loved sitting outside with a drink watching the ducks and the ferry, loved sitting inside and the food was delicious!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeyMoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    325
    83
    36
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leura, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food & location, not so good service”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We ate out at the Saracens Head on the bank of the River Wye. The location is amazing. The food was tasty and enjoyable, but the service was not good. The staff seemed hassled and stressed. We had items on our bill that we had not consumed, and they had to adjust it. The starter (1 person out of 3 of us had this) was served with the main courses, which they didn't seem to realise until it arrived at the table, then they took the main courses away without asking what we wanted to do. This resulted in a very unhappy & hungry 8 yr old. We had to ask for it to be brought back in.
Food & venue great, service not good. Won't go back in a hurry.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank shebe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stop”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stopped at the Saracens Head during a bike ride. Lovely setting by the river,and good Ale too!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ericsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eating at teh Saracens head”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Excellent service, because we moved our table for a larger party the owner gave us a drink on the house. Always good food there, we went across on the boat and had a great 3mile circular walk from there

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely setting , lots of activity, food average to good”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place is right in the bottom of the Wye valley near a hand propelled ferry to the west side.

It was very busy when we visited as it was a sunny day and there was a lot going on in the river; canoeing etc.

The service is not brilliant one orders from the bar, but the staff are pleasant and friendly. Wine was comparatively inexpensive and there are several quality beers. The food was just about OK but it is really pub food rather than restaurant food

We would go there again for the setting and hope for better food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPALTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolo25, Public Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
We thank this reviewer for their review, however, feel we must reply to some points raised.
The Saracens Head Inn is a pub - we aim to serve high quality pub food at lunchtimes, and
more restaurant - style dishes in the evenings. We find this works - as , of course you have to
'play to your audience', and the residents who stay with us overnight appreciate more than
pub food.
Also, as we are a busy pub, we cannot offer every table table service at lunchtimes ( this would be pretty much impossible given the high footfall ). However, all booked tables get table service at lunchtimes, as do all tables in the evening service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Walford, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing