We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible long weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible long weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here with some friends over the bank holiday weekend, This place was absolutely perfect- a good base for canoeing and walking. The pub has good food, great beers, and an absolute hero of a landlord who could not have been more friendly or welcoming. Couldn't have asked for more, and will be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    134
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
79
255
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night to break up my journey from the north-east down to Cornwall. I had stayed here 10 years prior and the thought it would be an ideal place to stay as opposed to a travelodge on a motorway!

Despite being later than expected, Jamie and some of his punters gave us a lovely welcome. The room itself was huge and overlooked the beautiful river Wye. I had a great nights sleep followed by a lovely breakfast the following morning.

Jamie kindly provided us with a leaflet showing walking routes. We had a short walk up the river and it's stunning! Symonds Yat is a hidden gem and YOFI is a fantastic place to stay.

Thank you!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoJonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved our 3 night stay at this hotel. The view from our bedroom window was worth the stay by itself. The river Wye is beautiful, the building is charming, and there is plenty to do within either walking or easy driving distance. Rooms are simple but comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast and dinner were enjoyable and it was good to eat at the hotel after a busy day's sight- seeing without having to find a restaurant or drive anywhere. All the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The manager carried our suitcases for us up and down the narrow, winding stairway, eliminating the only thing that could have been a problem. A more peaceful, comfortable and picturesque place to stay would be hard to find.

Room Tip: I think all rooms overlook the river, but make sure yours does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DSB702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Fantastic location and very friendly, attentive staff.
Great choice of breakfast menu and good range of food in general. Very relaxing and quiet, with views onto the river. would definitely recommend if you want to escape your cares

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We visited this oldie worlde inn on a day out while staying in the Forest of Dean. The manager couldn't have been more friendly. We had our trusty little furry friend Sally the westie with us and she was made most welcome as well. We opted for the Burger meal for our lunch which was really tasty (could have done with a little more salad garnish) but the meat was flavoursome and well cooked. The manager was a friendly knowledgeable fella and very chatty which put us at our ease.
They have a huge verity of local ciders and Beers and are Camera approved.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarmar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

A beautiful setting which will benefit from some better weather than we had. Still recovering from a damp winter. Could benefit from a little investment and the chef will add a thing or two. Would love to return in the warmer months.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidPangloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Was really delighted with the area and specifically the quieter, less commercial west side of the river. Such a treat to be in a place where you can start a lovely, varied walk from the front doorstep of your lodgings. Views from the dining tables and both the bedroom and bathroom windows were idyllic so full marks for location. However, have to be more reserved with praise for the room itself and the general standard of décor; there is an air of tiredness throughout the property. Not a lack of cleanliness or comfort but more woodchip wallpaper, minimal, weary-looking furniture and poorly-hung curtains than the cost of our stay had led us to expect. Good service from friendly staff and, with the exception of an inedible hot curry on one of two nights we ate supper in the pub, it was above average for food and hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river but may be worth asking which rooms are directly above the kitchen. Forrest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.2 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
5.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Ferrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Property: Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Address: Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Old Ferrie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful riverside pub has been standing on the banks of the River Wye since the 15th Century. With charming traditional features, warming open fires and stunning views across the valley. Ye Old Ferrie Inn is the ideal place place to enjoy a pint or two....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ye Old Ferrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Ferrie Hotel Symonds Yat
Ye Old Ferrie Inn Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing