We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal at the Inn”
Review of Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I had a meal here one evening as it was within easy walking distance of where we were staying whilst visiting the Wye Valley. It is situated in a stunning location by the river and offers a good selection of food and beers. I had a lamb burger and my wife had fish, both of which were very good. The staff are very friendly and service excellent. Overall, I would certainly recommend a meal and/or drink here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely setting overlooking the Wye. Food was superb and even our drinks were brought to the table. Our room was very confortable. We'll ceretainly go back again as it is an ideal place for walking around the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend and had a fantastic time.

The location is amazing with beautiful views down the river and a great terrace to sit out and have evening beers.

The landlord (Jamie) is great and very accommodating.

An ideal place for starting a canoe trip down the river or just exploring the local area.

I couldn't recommend it more, I will be returning soon

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very friendly staff, helpful. Great food with best Herefordshire rib eye steak! Comfortable beds with view of the river. Good selection of beer and cider. Perfect for visiting the beautiful countryside. It made our one night away well worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I only have positive things to say about the place. We had a group of 16 for a canoe trip over the 1st May bank holiday weekend in 2014 which I was organising. The owner (Jamie) made my life easy to organise and was an ideal landlord to have - considerate to all of his guests but also hugely (& I mean hugely) accommodating for our big group.

It seemed the pub was popular with people locally, but also with many people passing through giving it a lively and friendly atmosphere.

Accommodation was very reasonable (£15 pp for bunkhouse), and the food and drink well priced and of fine quality (full fry-up breakfast, coffee and orange juice for £6) at pretty much whatever time of the morning suited us.

The location is right overlooking the river, with a large terrace looking down the wooded valley in both directions. The ferry across to the other side is also free for people staying.

All round, a blinder. I will return. In fact, I have decided to go back within the month despite it being the other side of the country!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here with some friends over the bank holiday weekend, This place was absolutely perfect- a good base for canoeing and walking. The pub has good food, great beers, and an absolute hero of a landlord who could not have been more friendly or welcoming. Couldn't have asked for more, and will be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here for one night to break up my journey from the north-east down to Cornwall. I had stayed here 10 years prior and the thought it would be an ideal place to stay as opposed to a travelodge on a motorway!

Despite being later than expected, Jamie and some of his punters gave us a lovely welcome. The room itself was huge and overlooked the beautiful river Wye. I had a great nights sleep followed by a lovely breakfast the following morning.

Jamie kindly provided us with a leaflet showing walking routes. We had a short walk up the river and it's stunning! Symonds Yat is a hidden gem and YOFI is a fantastic place to stay.

Thank you!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MarcoJonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
523 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
609 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown at Whitchurch
The Crown at Whitchurch
#2 of 2 in Whitchurch
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Ferrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Address: Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Symonds Yat
Price Range: £72 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Old Ferrie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful riverside pub has been standing on the banks of the River Wye since the 15th Century. With charming traditional features, warming open fires and stunning views across the valley. Ye Old Ferrie Inn is the ideal place place to enjoy a pint or two....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ye Old Ferrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Ferrie Hotel Symonds Yat
Ye Old Ferrie Inn Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing