We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”
Review of Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were looking for a stopover as a last minute add-on to our onward trip to Wales for a business meeting and this hotel proved to be a great choice. Very welcoming owner and staff and very good food (Evening Meal and Breakfast).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We ate at Ye Olde Ferrie Inn after a canoe trip. The bar staff were surly, but the beer garden is lovely, over looking the Wye and the small hand-pulled toll ferry in the pub name.

We all had burgers and they were nice, the meat eaters loved their ones but I was disappointed by a generic spicey bean burger ( with the odd addition of a ramekin of humous!) and no one had a brioche bun as promised on the menu. Chips and onion rings good, as was real ale.

Nice, great location but not amazing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited this pub for a drink and returned the following evening for a meal. Fantastic food, excellent service and will definitely return if back in the area. If fine weather you can sit beside the river and enjoy the beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Didn't stay just visited for food and drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank brucewillis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

On a motorbike tour in the area and needed lunch. Mentally flipped a coin and headed for Symonds Yat (West) as opposed to (East). A very good choice as it turned out. At the end of the road you find the Ye Old Ferrie Inn, named after the seasonal ferry which still crosses the river. The food was excellent and the setting absolutely gorgeous. Watching swans pootle about on the river was very relaxing. Only regret was being on the motorbikes so we couldn't sample their beers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were a party of 9, staying for a weekend of canoeing and mountain biking. The great combination of bunkhouse attached to a pub serving excellent local ale and good quality food was bettered only by the landlord, Jamie, whose attention to detail and good humour were an example to all in the hospitality trade. I am certain I'll be back, and I'll be recommending YOFI to anyone who'll listen.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennyD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed one night (having booked for two nights) on the top floor.

The bathroom is in need of repair, and the reason behind me leaving before my time was up.

The sink is a hand basin (so far too small) and you could not wash your face using it due to an old decrepit shelf above, the toilet lid fell off in my hand and the seat itself wobbly, the shower head could not be placed higher than the bottom of the bracket, as it was broke.

Such a shame, as the view from the room is nice.

It is NOT worth £85 a night, i left having paid for my one nights stay, in hindsight i should have paid a lower rate due to the poor quality of the room, but could really do without any unwanted confrontation.

Saying that, the staff were pleasant.

I have marked it as Poor as Average is not right, for the experience I had.

Luckily, The Saracens Head in Symonds Yat East, had a room for my second night.
See review.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a one night stay. From the moment we arrived until we left everyone was very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was on the top floor (Kingfisher room) and was very comfortable with fantastic views over the river. the food was excellent, as was the beer- I recommend trying the Butty Bach. A fantastic base from which to explore the surroundings. Well done to Jamie and his extremely hard working team.

Room Tip: kingfisher room has a beautiful view of the river and is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayned2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
606 reviews
5.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
607 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Ferrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Address: Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Symonds Yat
Price Range: £73 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Old Ferrie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful riverside pub has been standing on the banks of the River Wye since the 15th Century. With charming traditional features, warming open fires and stunning views across the valley. Ye Old Ferrie Inn is the ideal place place to enjoy a pint or two....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ye Old Ferrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Ferrie Hotel Symonds Yat
Ye Old Ferrie Inn Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing