We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Walefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The location of the hotel could not have been better, the views along the river where good. You where made to feel welcome on arrival and not just another guest. The food served was excellent and good value for money. Overall a place where we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyRuby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    134
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
79
255
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were curious about the name Symonds Yat for a while and had never visited the Wye valley so we put it on our bucket list.when we googled real ale pubs with accommodation this one came up and had availability so we had 2 nights there.
The welcome was lovely,as was the room. The choice of beers and ciders was excellent and the menu good. The staff were very attentive, not at all fussy.
The surroundings were beautiful, with wildlife in abundance. It was well worth the hairy drive along very narrow lanes to get there! The staff also run the hand ferry across the river so are very active.
Considering that the Inn is flooded in the winters ,it is not at all musty. The supply chain for food must be difficult to maintain along those lanes and the clientele is as variable as the weather so there can be no easy pattern to ordering.despite this the food on offer was interesting,varied and tasty. The prices were about right too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank over60explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were looking for a stopover as a last minute add-on to our onward trip to Wales for a business meeting and this hotel proved to be a great choice. Very welcoming owner and staff and very good food (Evening Meal and Breakfast).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We ate at Ye Olde Ferrie Inn after a canoe trip. The bar staff were surly, but the beer garden is lovely, over looking the Wye and the small hand-pulled toll ferry in the pub name.

We all had burgers and they were nice, the meat eaters loved their ones but I was disappointed by a generic spicey bean burger ( with the odd addition of a ramekin of humous!) and no one had a brioche bun as promised on the menu. Chips and onion rings good, as was real ale.

Nice, great location but not amazing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited this pub for a drink and returned the following evening for a meal. Fantastic food, excellent service and will definitely return if back in the area. If fine weather you can sit beside the river and enjoy the beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Didn't stay just visited for food and drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucewillis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

On a motorbike tour in the area and needed lunch. Mentally flipped a coin and headed for Symonds Yat (West) as opposed to (East). A very good choice as it turned out. At the end of the road you find the Ye Old Ferrie Inn, named after the seasonal ferry which still crosses the river. The food was excellent and the setting absolutely gorgeous. Watching swans pootle about on the river was very relaxing. Only regret was being on the motorbikes so we couldn't sample their beers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were a party of 9, staying for a weekend of canoeing and mountain biking. The great combination of bunkhouse attached to a pub serving excellent local ale and good quality food was bettered only by the landlord, Jamie, whose attention to detail and good humour were an example to all in the hospitality trade. I am certain I'll be back, and I'll be recommending YOFI to anyone who'll listen.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.2 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
5.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Ferrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Property: Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Address: Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Old Ferrie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful riverside pub has been standing on the banks of the River Wye since the 15th Century. With charming traditional features, warming open fires and stunning views across the valley. Ye Old Ferrie Inn is the ideal place place to enjoy a pint or two....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ye Old Ferrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Ferrie Hotel Symonds Yat
Ye Old Ferrie Inn Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing