We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wye Knot, well...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wye Knot Inn

Wye Knot Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wye Knot Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wye Knot, well...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

...because over £8 for a coffee (very nice) and a sandwich (very average) is really a bit much when there is nothing else special going on. I would balk at this in a big city pub or restaurant and thought I must be in for something really grand. grated mild cheddar isnt quite going to deliver

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    12
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have recently moved into the area and as I drive past this pub every evening on my way home from work, I decided to take my partner for a drink and some food here.

Most of the tables were pre-booked but the barmaid showed us to a free table. Food is a little on the pricey side, but quite varied. We both went for the fish and chips, which were quick to be served (and served with a smile).

The meal was amazing - I have not had fish and chips quite like the ones served here. It was a substantial portion (luckily I was hungry) and although full after finishing, the fish was cooked so well I even helped finish off my girlfriends meal!

The locals seem friendly and I look forward to returning to the knot to enjoy the odd pint or two after work and mix with the regulars.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsearle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

having stayed at the nearby paddock cottages for a canoeing trip this pub was recommended to me for evening food and drinks. inside it looks ok and there was a decent selection behind the bar although the bar staff did appear to be a little offish. we ordered food which didnt take to long to arrive but for what it cost it was definitely not worth the money and quite expensive anyway.

some of our group asked if they could have a morning breakfast if we came back at 9 am to which they said yes for £6.95 a head. although again this seemed to be a little expensive the bar maid did indicate that it was a decent sized meal. when they received their breakfast the following morning they were extremely dissapointed to have the tiniest full english you could imagine. the breakfast was so tiny that one of the group asked if they could have a couple of slices of bread to make a sandwich! eventually the server reluctantly gave my mate his bread but you could tell he was not happy to do so. when it came to paying the same gent tried to add another £1 onto everyone's breakfast! eventually we all left still feeling hungry and ripped off.

the following evening we dined at the much better olde ferry inn and went to a local cafe on the A40 the morning after for a proper full english at a more reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chill6834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We had to go to symonds yat at short notice and I needed somewhere we could take the dog. First thing that came up was a review on trip advisor that just mentioned they were fine with dogs staying so I just rang and booked.

Really nicely done room and our dog felt very at home as each member of staff kept bringing her biscuits over. The owner was completely besotted with her and even gave her more sausages at breakfast than I got myself.

The food was really nice pub grub and it was a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Also the Butty Bach on tap is worth a stay in itself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Staying locally so popped in for a drink on the Saturday. Nice pint, friendly staff, and a number of specials to eat. Booked a table for Sunday evening for 8 people. Nothing left of specials, and 3 choices of main not available. Roast dinner 2 of us had was tasteless, and not much better for other main meals.
However the really low point was the service we had. The barmaid made us feel as if we were an inconvenience, and did not have any real appreciation of customer service(it wasn't busy). We were intending to stay for the quiz, but payed and left. Would not return

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had a good meal in here which was basic pub grub but plenty of it and well cooked. We can recommend the home made chicken curry which although the chef said was over spiced by her, was in fact delicious!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were a party of ten, staying in Symonds Yat for a week. Based on a recommendation from our property owner we booked for a Saturday evening meal. We were given the choice of the bar or the back room. We opted for the back room. The service was excellent and so was the food, with some good choices on the blackboard as well as the menu. It is not 'fine dining', but very good value.

Room Tip: We only ate there so cannot comment on the rooms or facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
5.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
#1 of 4 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn On The Wye
The Inn On The Wye
#19 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wye Knot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye Knot Inn

Property: Wye Knot Inn
Address: Main St, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wye Knot Inn Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing