We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days on the Wye”

Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are are family run business offering a wide range of trips from half/full days to 2/3/4 day trips
Reviewed 16 July 2014

From our arrival the staff were very helpful explaining everything and ensuring we were all set. They set us on our way from hereford and we spent 3 beautiful days paddling down to the wye.
We thought that the staff coming down to our get out point to take us to fetch our car allowing loading of our kit straight in way a very nice touch. Would definitely use them again.

Thank Phill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Owner at Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing us
we are pleased you enjoyed your few days canoeing with us and we hope to see you again soon
Richard & The Ross on wye canoe hire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ross on wye"
in 72 reviews
"his team"
in 16 reviews
"day trip"
in 26 reviews
"the river"
in 80 reviews
"kerne bridge"
in 20 reviews
"great fun"
in 18 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 15 reviews
"finish point"
in 4 reviews
"charity event"
in 3 reviews
"fabulous family"
in 3 reviews
"no fuss"
in 5 reviews
"thanks guys"
in 6 reviews
"fantastic trip"
in 5 reviews
"the pub"
in 9 reviews
"life jackets"
in 6 reviews
"equipment provided"
in 4 reviews
"launch site"
in 4 reviews
Filter

144 - 148 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This trip was for my hen do and was absolutely amasing! Richard was very helpful and accommodated for the whole group. The scenes were out of this world and we all had such a great time.

Thank baseyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Owner at Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your days canoeing with us
and we hope to see you again soon
Richard & The Ross on wye canoe hire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been hiring canoes from Ross on Wye Canoe Hire for years and always have a wonderful time. The equipment is always in top condition, the price is reasonable and we can't speak highly enough of Richard and the team who are always friendly and reliable. Highly recommended. Thanks guys for another brilliant trip!

Thank Fastcow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Owner at Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review we always like to here from our regular customers
we are glad you enjoyed your canoeing with us
and we hope to see you again soon
Richard & The Ross on wye canoe hire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Professional outfit, great service, great price. Equipment is in good nick, had excellent briefing - both 'what to do' and safety orientated. Staff are very friendly and have experience with learning difficulties, etc. The staff were totally at ease with my autistic son, therefore I felt more comfortable and could enjoy myself.
Read the route cards, listen to the capsize drills - we did capsize but we knew what to do.
We did the Ross on Wye to Symonds Yat trip which was picturesque, serene and very peaceful, good pub (Inn on Wye) stop for lunch. Hundreds (literally) of swans and ducks, etc., and we had excellent weather to make a perfect day.
Again, thanks to all staff for a great day and help and assistance given, thoroughly recommended!

Thank Bobbathfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Owner at Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your review it is appreciated
we are glad you enjoyed your days canoeing with us and we hope to see you again in the future
Richard & The Ross on wye canoe hire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Bottom line up front; a friendly, professional company offering a first class service, great facilities, excellent advice and whose can-do attitude was very much underpinned with an eye for the safety of their customers. I have used them twice and would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone looking for a fun filled expedition along the Wye.

Using Ross on Wye Canoe Hire I have twice done the three day trip from Hereford to Ross on Wye. Whilst well used all the equipment was sound and functional. On arrival we got a good brief on the route and potential hazards, the kit and equipment and what do do should anything happen. We were also given dry instruction on paddling and steering that proved invaluable. With no fuss we were driven to the start and seen safely on our way. At the end we were promptly collected and taken back to the Boatyard. All the advice on where to stay, places to eat that they had given us when planning out trip proved to be spot on and we had no unwelcome surprises. Overall a great idea for a short family adventure, and excellent fun for young children.

Thank Alastair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Owner at Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing us
we are always glad to here from returning customers
we are glad you enjoyed your few days canoeing with us
and we hope to see you again soon
Richard & The Ross on wye canoe hire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips also viewed

Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing