We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“really lovely setting and nice cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wyewood Cottage

The cottage seen from the communal gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens The Gardens leading to the River Wye
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens
The Gardens leading to the River Wye
A misty morning over the river Wye
THE view of Symonds Yat from the rock
The light bright sitting room
Sitting/dining area
The well equipped kitchen
The modern bathroom with shower
Hall table and pay telephone
Bedroom one
Hand-pull ferry at Symonds Yat
Canoeing the Wye with the cottage's own canoe
Bedroom two
Two of the four bikes available at the cottage
Playing pool in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Table tennis in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Nearby Llantony Abbey
Early morning view from Symonds Yat rock over the river Wye
Another view of gardens and cottage
Wyewood from the gardens below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PaulandJe...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“really lovely setting and nice cottage”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at this cottage. Great setting really quiet and the cottage had lots of facilities, including canoes for the adventurous. A really good base to reach Forest of Dean and Brecon Mountains only a 1 hour drive. Would recommend as a relaxing short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting and tranqilitiy
Liked least: settees were not the best
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis R
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a fantastic weekend away at Wyewood cottage. It's in a wonderful location with beautiful views over the river Wye and some of the most amazing picturesque walks we've ever enjoyed. There are a couple of pubs to enjoy, one of which(The Saracens Head) has a very unique way of getting to it. We wandered down to the waters edge and waved our torch into the pub window the other side of the river. We caught the attention of a member of the bar staff, who promptly came out and pulled us across the river in a boat. There is a 5 mile round trip option. The cottage itself was in extremely good order with all the facilities as listed in the brochure. plus the use of kayaks and bikes if your venturing out. All in all a fantastic getaway.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay_Row
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, Great Location”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and 1 year old son stayed at Wyewood cottage at the end of October. The cottage is in a great location at the end of a one way track. The views from the cottage were breathtaking and the walk to the hand pulled ferry / pubs is less than 5 minutes.

The cottage itself was really cosy and 'kitted' out really nicely, in particular the large american style fridge with water dispenser and quick wash washing machine (handy for children with mucky clothes) were great. The large double garage downstairs has been converted to a games room with table tennis / pool and a darts board and although we did not use them there were x4 mountain bikes and several canoes that could be used.

Apart from all the forest / river walks which are by the cottage we went to puzzle wood in the Forest Of Dean which was about a 15/20 minute drive where they film Merlin and was supposedly inspiration for JRR Tolkein and his Lord Of The Rings Trilogy who was a visitor to the Forest Of Dean - after visiting puzzle wood you can see why as it felt very Hobbit / L.O.R esq.

We had some great food and drinks at the Olde Ferrie House Inn & the Court Lodge Hotel both nearby and the town of monmouth was great for an afternoon stroll.

Overall a great cottage in a great location - would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views / location
Liked least: phone reception bit dodgy
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichnIren...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is wonderfully well equipped and maintained. It is not one of those done to the minimum standard with cheap and nasty furnishings. It is beautiful, thoughtfully and tastefully done with good quality equipment. You get the sense the owner wants to share with you his blessings and for you to enjoy the stay. Everything I could think of and need on a holiday was there and more! People who come and stay should reciprocate that and treat everything with respect! Wonderful to know there is still goodness in this world not about just money, money, money! Fantastic! Definitely recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Staircase - creaky
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T0urers
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely well equipped cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. All our needs were catered for, including a couple of good pubs within walking distance. The cottage itself is very clean and the beds very comfortable, something often lacking in some properties. We booked a grocery delivery from Sainsburys which arrived promptly on Saturday morning and saved a lot of hassle. The surrounding area is beautiful and loads of wildlife. We already recommended it to some friends, who stayed there in July and also loved it. Great value for money too. Would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and location
Liked least: Nothing significant
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorjeenuh
1 review
“Ideal location, breathtaking scenery and wildlife and great outdoor pursuits.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stayed at wyewood cottage with our 2 year old and friends from London in May 2013. We had a great weekend in the modern and well equipped accommodation, making our own bread and being grateful for the high chair, travel cot and child safety gates for our little one. The boys had great fun taking the canoes out onto the river, even tackling the 'rapids'. We also made good use of the pool table down in the garage.
The mild and dry weather meant we could easily walk to the 3 pubs less than 15 mins walk away ( one via hand ferry), enjoying the ye old ferrie inn the best.
Altogether a lovely relaxing and fun filled weekend which we will be keen to do again soon.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent well equiped modern cottage”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Well equiped dog friendly cottage with all mod cons with steps to access property, very clean and welcoming. Cycles and inflatable canoes available for own use.and pool/table tennis table in garage.
Centrally placed in Symmonds Yat , minutes from the famous hand pulled ferry with fantasic views over the Wye valley with many varieties of wildlife to be seen. Peace and quiet in idylic surrondings we loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location of property
Liked least: narrow lanes to get there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$79
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing