We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wyewood Cottage

The cottage seen from the communal gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens The Gardens leading to the River Wye
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens
The Gardens leading to the River Wye
A misty morning over the river Wye
THE view of Symonds Yat from the rock
The light bright sitting room
Washing machine/drier
The modern bathroom with shower
Hall way
Bedroom one
Bedroom two
Hand-pull ferry at Symonds Yat
Canoeing the Wye with one of the cottages' own canoe
Two of the bikes available at the cottage
Playing pool in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Table tennis in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Nearby Llantoney Abbey
Early morning view from Symonds Yat rock over the river Wye
Another view of gardens and cottage
Wyewood from the gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare F
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

An excellent property well situated with easy access to woodlands walks or a short stroll to the local pubs. The property is well equipped with everything you could need. Spend a very enjoyable few days here with family (with 2 teenagers 14 + 17); sadly didn't have time to take full opportunity of the well equipped garage due to fitting so many other things in but would recommend this property to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a fantastic weekend at the house, saw plenty of wildlife.
Hired canoes 5 mins away in car and paddled down the river the first day. Beautiful walk the second day. The house is well equipt, the only thing extra you would need to bring is picnic stuff like plastic plates and containers.
Very clean house and warm, beautiful little terrace outside with BBQ and table and chairs.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. There are sit-on kayaks and inflatable canoes for the free use of guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notdebbie
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped cottage - home from home”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent a few days over New Year at this cottage with our dog. The views were spectacular and the walks were very enjoyable despite the dismal weather. The kitchen in the cottage was well equipped and even had champagne glasses so we could toast the new year in! It was the perfect place to stay and use as a base to sight see - we spent an afternoon in Ross on Wye and one in Monmouth. Lots to see and do despite it being the festive season. The owner, Dave, is very accommodating and helped us when we changed our leaving date. We didn't get to visit the Saracen's Head using the boat to cross the river as the river was too high and fast due to all the rain so we plan to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Small dislike - lack of TV channels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne K
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cozy place to stay!”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Recently stayed at this cottage with friends as we were at a local wedding. The cottage was so comfortable and cozy, with everything we needed for a relaxing weekend. DIdn't have time to play pool/table tennis in the garage but great idea to have it available. So close to the river and the great pubs there. Would recommend to others and look to return for a longer stay :).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen/lounge plan. Great communal area
Liked least: The fog in the morning, didn't get to see the gorgeous views from the house :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to hear from you again soon.
Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunningly perfect accomodation and location.”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

So much to do - so little time to do it, was only here for a few days for a wedding but will be back, canoes, bikes, pool table, table tennis, tv, views - accommodation spotless - ...and that's even before you step a foot away from the cottage then there is pubs, food, activities galore, wildlife the list goes on. Was tinkering with the idea of not leaving a review so less people discover it but that would just be wrong! This place is way underpriced!

JUST GO!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Evertyhing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr R. A
1 review
“Well equipped property with fantastic views”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We travelled as a family with two teenage children.
Communication with the property owner prior to our stay was excellent and we were sent helpful property and area info a few weeks before we visited. Directions on how to find the property were clear and we found it without any problems.
There is a parking outside the property but as other reviewers have said there are quite a few steep steps from the car parking area to the front door which didn't cause us any problems but might do if we visit when we are older! The property is well equipped.
As a family we liked best the pool table/table tennis and darts all set up in the garage for our use. We also loved using the four bicycles provided and planned to use the canoes available but never got an opportunity unfortunately as the heavy rain made the water levels quite high during our stay. We also enjoyed relaxing in the evening by watching some of the DVD's provided. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you might need if you fancy cooking during your stay and the fridge freezer is a great size. The location is great for walks and cycle rides but it is very hilly so when we enjoyed a cycle ride down to the lovely Ye Old Ferrie Inn we would have to walk up the hill again with our bikes as it was too steep to cycle up! (Well for us anyway!)
Biblins Bridge is only a short walk or cycle ride away and so is the chain ferry across to Symonds Yat East. The views from the property are amazing.
The bedrooms were small but very comfortable with plenty of hanging and drawer space.
If there was just one thing that we could find fault with it would simply be that some of the living room and dining area seating is a little tired looking - perhaps some throws for the sofas would resolve this. Wifi was good in the property and there is a payphone. None of us could get a phone signal in the property - which was quite nice actually!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Table Tennis in the garage!
Liked least: The sofas - sorry !
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie s
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wyewood cottage is a well equipped holiday home, right in the thick of it in Symonds Yat. The garage is full of loads of stuff to do, bikes, kayaks, table tennis and pool. You do need to be agile to stay here as there are steps up to the front door and the garden is also sloping, but the views are stunning and you are right in the middle of things. The woods are right on your door step and we saw deer one evening. The river is very busy and quite noisy with people enjoying themselves, but is still full of wildlife, we saw gooseanders, a snake swimming, as well as the usual heron, swans and loads of ducks diving in the weed.
The walks are good and varied straight from the door, which was great for us with the dog. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone else.
The climb up Yat rock is well worth the effort, the ferries are great and the local pubs on both sides of the river provide good food and plenty of choice with ales and cider

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: noise at the weekend
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Very impressed that you saw Goosander at this time of year, hopefully they are a breeding pair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing