We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

For the first time, we used this Guest House for a short stay (4 nights), and we were delighted in every way.
From the moment we arrived, we were made very welcome, the room was good, and the view from our room down the Wye to New Weir was spectacular. Throughout our stay, we felt that nothing was too much to ask for - and were pleased that prices for drinks were reasonable.
The area is beautiful, and we enjoyed getting lost in the woods (!). There are good places about for a meal, but sometimes the Guest House will do a meal. And if you want a real treat, have the Lamb Shank! I can still taste it!
Definitely a place worth considering for a future break.

Room Tip: The room on the left facing the River (No. 5???) has windows facing down river and across the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrygillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    72
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
203
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed at the forest view 25th July lovely setting , nice room no.3 slight problem with the shower but otherwise a very enjoyable stay. We had an evening meal at the Saracens Head which was excellent. Would definately recommend this hotel hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We arrived at the forest view guest house on Monday 15th July , the four of us looking forward to catching up and having a relaxing time in such a beautiful location.
We were asked by owners to park car correctly which was fine but not really the welcome we expected on our arrival. We were shown to our rooms ,the boys room smelled of cooking fat from the kitchen and the shower was too small and unusable because of poor water pressure , our room was light airy with stunning views , but standard of bathroom and shower facilities I felt let this potentially high standard room down as with the stunning view from our window could have been the " jewel in the crown " for this guest house. We were not offered the evening meal but advised to book at the Saracens head for dinner ,but later saw people having dinner outside at the forest view?.
The Saracens head was lovely and food very high standard and would highly recommend it.
At 10 50 pm we heard someone bark up at our window ,we realised it was the owner telling us to be quiet and to shut the windows !!!!!! I could go on and on about the inhospitable manner we have been treated during our stay but to cap it off we were told by the owner not to forget to vacate our rooms by 10.15 as they wanted to clean this morning! How rude!
I would not recommend this guesthouse to any one and I suggest that they brush up on their customer care skills or change their profession as it was obvious they are not happy in their work , coming from a hospitality background we all felt it was a unloved and definitely not 4star accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Memi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
The only thing I will say in response is look at our other reviews.We have a certificate of excellence issued by trip advisor so this review is totally out of character with our guest house and the findings of other guests.
Point one welcoming the guests, they arrived at 11am when checkin is quite clearly shown as 2pm They abandoned their car and then proceeded to have a picnic in the grounds before checking in. They had booked three rooms but only two where taken, no apology or reason given and the confusion for the rooms started there. They where the first of our guests to arrive that day and would have been shown the evening menu, they decided to go to The Saracens by choice.
We had upgraded the one room at no extra charge and we did not charge for the no show.
The room was left like a pig sty, grated cheese al over the carpets,and mess all over the windowsills etc. it took our girls a extra half hour to clean this room.
I asked them to close their windows because they had the lights on and this had been attracting swarms of midges..
The noise after 11pm was very roudy and for the benefit of our nice guests I told them to behave.
The water pressure was low for everyone because of the heat wave and our other guests accepted this.
They took the hump because we do not serve breakfast outside, we are limited to the staff we employ and I think that asking them to prepare to vacate their rooms is very reasonable considering they wanted to check in at 11 oclock, we do have to clean the rooms and theres was exceptionally bad..
.
,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We arrived at the forest view guest house on Monday 15th July , the four of us looking forward to catching up and having a relaxing time in such a beautiful location.
We were asked by owners to park car correctly which was fine but not really the welcome we expected on our arrival. We were shown to our rooms ,the boys room smelled of cooking fat from the kitchen and the shower was too small and unusable because of poor water pressure , our room was light airy with stunning views , but standard of bathroom and shower facilities I felt let this potentially high standard room down as with the stunning view from our window could have been the " jewel in the crown " for this guest house. We were not offered the evening meal but advised to book at the Saracens head for dinner ,but later saw people having dinner outside at the forest view?.
The Saracens head was lovely and food very high standard and would highly recommend it.
At 10 50 pm we heard someone bark up at our window ,we realised it was the owner telling us to be quiet and to shut the windows !!!!!! I could go on and on about the inhospitable manner we have been treated during our stay but to cap it off we were told by the owner not to forget to vacate our rooms by 10.15 as they wanted to clean this morning! How rude!
I would not recommend this guesthouse to any one and I suggest that they brush up on their customer care skills or change their profession as it was obvious they are not happy in their work , coming from a hospitality background we all felt it was a unloved and definitely not 4star accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunrays186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
The only thing I will say in response is look at our other revie2ws.
Point one welcoming the guests, they arrived at 11am when checkin is quite clearly shown as 2pm They abandoned their car and then proceeded to have a picnic in the grounds before checking in. They had booked three rooms but only two where taken, no apology or reason given and the confusion for the rooms started there. We thought, wrongly that they where two couples man and woman, which is what we normaly expect, but this was two women and two men sharing.
We had upgraded the one room at no extra charge and we did not charge for the no show.
The room was left like a pig sty, grated cheese al over the carpets,and mess all over the windowsills etc. it took our girls a extra half hour to clean this room.
The noise after 11pm was very roudy and for the benefit of our nice guests I told them to behave.
I can assure all four of them that they will not be welcome back here.
,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray nr. London U.K
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Forest View basically for the fishing in the area. However we were very pleased with the lovely views of the river,the nice outdoor seating and garden area, and the general pleasant ambience of the Guest House and indeed the surrounding countryside.

We had some great fishing with Dave Harrell with some good barbel,chub and dace. Jon at the guest house is very knowledgeable about where to fish and can arrange fishing tickets and give advice.

Accommodation and breakfast were both excellent. A lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela-Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was a lovely place to stay, lovely views from the room, really helpful staff, and very friendly. The garden was really nice place to sit to watch the birds and the canoes on the river. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the river although all the rooms can see the river but the ones at the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very pleasant stay at Forest View this week. The weather was stunning (which always helps) but possibly a bit too hot for the Barbel - although I managed to eek out a couple. Jon and Gill were very welcoming and Jon's expert knowledge of the River Wye is ideal to put you on the fish. Great setting, great place

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
127 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
471 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
583 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Guest House

Property: Forest View Guest House
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our four star guest-house. Visitors will be treated to a breakfast of their choice; much needed after the multitude of outdoor activities available on the doorstep. From short breaks to long stays, Gill and John do their best to cater for individual needs to make each stay unforgettable double and twin rooms offer panoramic river views, so for those who haven't managed the cycling, kayaking, hiking, fishing or climbing, they can still appreciate the famous Three Countries View (Gloucestershire, Herefordshire and Monmouthshire) from the comfort of their room. Stunning bed and breakfast accommodation with panoramic views of the River Wye. Set in over an acre of beautiful gardens with lawns, shrubs and ornamental fish-pond. Total of eleven double bedrooms, all with en-suites. Licensed Bar,Free Wi-Fi Internet available. Conveniently located for Cheltenham, Chepstow, Gloucester, Hereford, Monmouth and Ross-on-Wye. Excellent road links to Cardiff and South Wales.Private parking. Pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. Check-in time from 2.30pm, Check-out time is no later than 10.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Forest View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest View Guest House Hotel Symonds Yat
Forest View Guest House Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing