We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy Indeed”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stopped over here on a busy saturday in june and descended on them with 22 people in tow, the reception we recieved was wonderful, kind, courteous and helpful. The food was excellent and not overpriced and the surroundings were stunning. A real treat fo rboth the eye and the stomach. A very big thank you for making our day out 'special'.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

We would like to thank our customer for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased that our valued customer enjoyed the experience of visiting us here at The Royal Lodge. We aim to provide quality food and service in stunning surroundings and this customer and their guests enjoyed this to the full.

We are grateful of their valued custom and look forward to welcoming them back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

From the title you will have gathered that this hotel is in an amazing area of outstanding natural beauty. On arrival we were a bit concerned about the dark and outdated reception area. However on being shown to the room it was freshly decorated, nicely furnished and very very clean. We were also lucky enough to have views over the river Wye. Staff were very friendly and generally it was a really nice place to stay. It is an old building and clearly a lot of work has recently been put into updating the rooms to a good standard (perhaps the reception is on the 'to do' list). We stayed two nights and had two cooked breakfasts and one dinner. The food is best described as acceptable. By no means bad but not outstanding or special. This is possibly not helped by the huge choice of dishes on the menu. Perhaps it would be better to concentrate on a handful of dishes made with local/seasonal ingredients. One of the features of Symonds Yat East is that there is so much to do without leaving the village. A nice friendly hotel in a stunning location.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccrr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We would like to thank our guest for taking the time in posting their review.

We are very happy that our guest appreciated the age and history of our ancient Royal Hunting Lodge and enjoyed their stay with us.

Whilst we are very happy that our guest enjoyed the level of service provided during their stay we are saddened by the comments about their food experience. The small kitchen team work very hard to provide quality meals at reasonable prices only using fresh and local produce. We do have an extensive menu and the kitchen holds AA accredited awards for both dinner and breakfast. We are saddened that our guest did not find the food better than the comments provided.

We have contacted our guest directly to discuss this issue as we do take our feedback very seriously. The guest was happy after discussion and we look forward to welcoming them back and providing the level of food that they are expecting on their next visit later this year.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We booked 2 nights bed and breakfast with a bottle of wine on arrival through kgbdeals for £69 and what a deal. When we arrived there was a problem with the cleanliness of the room as they take pets there but that was soon cleaned thoroughly when we told them and they were very apologetic. The rooms where spacious with ensuite shower, tea/coffee facilities and tv. The breakfast was fab there was a continental buffet to start with and then a cooked breakfast of your choice to follow and it was yum yum!!! The staff and the owner were very friendly nothing was too much trouble. The hotel being on the side of the River Wye was very picturesque and sitting in the gardens with a glass of wine in the evening was the best.The elecricity went off for most of our second day due to a powerline but it wasn't a problem as this didn't stop the restaraunt cooking a lovely meal in the evening. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if the deal comes up again we will definitely be back therebut would ask for a pet free room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to share their experience of their recent stay with us.

As an ancient Royal Hunting Lodge set by the river and the Forest Of Dean we do offer a small number of 1st floor rooms that accommodate pets with their owners. On this occasion we apologize to our guest that the room had not been prepared to our usual standard before their arrival. As described the situation was handled very swiftly and resolved to the customers satisfaction so that our guests and their pet could enjoy their stay.

We are very pleased that our guest enjoyed our AA Award winning breakfast and the service that was provided throughout the duration of their stay.

We look forward to welcoming the guest back in the very near future when we hope the local electrical grid does not let us down.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from the royal lodge, Symonds yat east. Stayed there with 2 girl friends for a mid week mini break, not really knowing what to expect, what a great experience we had. Firstly the location of the hotel is breathtaking, absolutely beautiful. The hotel is of a high standard, we have no complaints about the food, bedroom, communal rooms, cleanliness, etc. what makes the hotel extra special is the attentive and friendly staff. A shout out to the manager, nothing was too much trouble, thanks for giving us the 'tourist info' on the first night, the next day we took the 6 mile walk into Monmouth and had a taxi back to the hotel. The weather was stunning in the afternoon, we spent some time sat outside the Saracens head, which is a pub a few yards from the royal lodge, a few glasses of wine, watching the hand ferry, river boat, and kayaks on the river. It's a bustling little hamlet, local people and tourists pass the time of day. Its the kind of place where you can do as much or little as you chose, in an idyllic setting. We completely relaxed for the few days we spent at the royal lodge, and have nothing but praise for the staff and management.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We would like to thank our guest for taking the time in posting their review.

We are very pleased to here that our guest enjoyed the experience of staying with us here at The Royal Lodge and the stunning riverside location that is Symonds Yat East.

As a family run establishment we pride ourselves on providing quality service to all of our guests and it is apparent that this guest really appreciated the level of service we provided as well as the level of accommodation and food that we serve.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the very near future for another enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week and hope to go back in August for a couple of nights. Nice room with beautiful view of the river, great staff and lovely food. Hope Tom recovers quickly from his bunting mishap.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacktBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We would like to Thank our guest for posting their review.

Great news to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay with us over the Jubilee weekend. Tom has recovered from his bunting mishap. The food, service and accommodation level provided was appreciated and we look forward to welcoming our guest back in August for their next visit.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

A group of Porsche car enthusiasts from the south east region of "The Independent Porsche Enthusiasts Club(TIPEC) spent a perfect long weekend break at The Royal Lodge hotel overlooking the river Wye at picturesque Symonds Yat. The accomodation was very tastefully decorated (modern contemporary) with excellent food (breakfast and dinner) in an informal relaxing setting. a noise free area where the only sounds are those of the birds. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to share their experience of their recent stay with us.

We are very pleased that this enthusiast club chose the Royal Lodge and Symonds Yat East as the hub for their event. Very pleased that the guests enjoyed the hospitality, food and accommodation that they received.

We look forward to welcoming our guests back in the near future for another enjoyable visit.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife and I had been treated to a week-end stay by my daughter. We were realy looking forward to our stay, but were somewhat disappointed when we entered our room. The "en-suite" facility was more like a wardrobe with a toilet and shower. The toilet required several flushes to empty waste. The wash basin was in the actual room, which is just not good enough. The curtain over the window was hanging off some of it's rings. These are details that should be noticed by the cleaning staff. I have stayed at Premier Inns that are far superior to this.
The cost of the room certainly wasn't worth it. However, if the charge is for the view and the food, then I suppose it was justified. Absolutely lovely breakfasts, whether full English or continental. Main evening meals were really well cooked and presented with plenty on your plate.
Would I stay here again? If the price came down drastically to reflect the state of the rooms, then I may consider it. Otherwise - no.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HouchensHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

We thank our guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased that our guest enjoyed their food whilst staying with us recently. We do apologize that the room that our guest was allocated was not to their satisfaction.

The Royal Lodge is an ancient Royal hunting lodge and all of our en suite, river view rooms are different in size and character. Three of our small standard rooms do have small WC and Shower en suites with separate wash basins. We apologize that our guest found this not to be to their standard.

We do urge all of our guests to advise us if we can do anything for them during their stay and if they have a problem to please let us know. It is unfortunate that the guest encountered a problem with the WC, however without knowing about this we were unable to rectify the problem. Whilst we do en devour to check all aspects of our products at all times there are occasions where some elements can let us down and this appears to be the case with the WC on this occasion.

With our standard rooms we aim to provide Clean, Comfortable and welcoming rooms with fantastic views. Priced from only £59 per night we do believe and our reviews show this to be a very reasonable price for our rooms.

The nature of the building and history of the Royal Lodge provide character and unfortunately on this occasion was not the same as a Premier Inn that this guest may have preferred.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
145 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
593 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range: £74 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing