We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Break in the Honeymoon Suite”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Romantic Break in the Honeymoon Suite”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here in early September on a Bed & Breakfast basis. We often come to this beautiful part of the county and always admire The Royal.

Everything was perfect and we were treated like royaly (I dont know whether this was because we had booked the best room but it seemed to be consistant with all guests)

From booking via the telephone with Alison to chicking in by a young lad from Wales who was very polite and charming with a bit of humour which is always fab! He offered to help with our bags and showed us to our room.

He booked us in for dinner at a time that suited us - The Food was absolutely devine! The best meal we have had in a very long time! And the lady (that used to run a pub of her own down the road?) was a credit to our service, very personable and friendly. I Recommend the desserts too!!!

The room was lovely, id love to say it was perfect but we favour slightly more modern decor so it wasnt the best weve ever stayed in, but you can see past that with the outstanding beauty and views through the windows. The four poster bed was unbelievably comfy!! We both suffer from bad backs and this was the best nights sleep we had in a very long time. The bathroom is modern in comparison to the bedroom. Only one niggly comment was the shower must have been in demand in the morning as we could only get it to dribble out - but no harm done, you just have to wait.

Breakfast was as good as our evening meal, a selection of toasts, cereals from the buffet & a full english delivered to your table.

Everything is paid on check out so you setle your bill on departure. We had a cha with the Wedding Co-ordinator Alison who was so kind and felt like she was giving us the best advice (there was no hard sell or telling us to book when its expensive - in fact she was telling us the best and most cost effective ways of booking) which makes you feel at ease.

All in all, a wonderful stay - would definately recommend to everyone. Would be absolutely perfect 'for us' if it was slightly more modern and could do wih a few touch ups here and there - but this is just character.

Fantastic customer service - we definately felt like royalty!

Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeaLea4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their extensive review and share their experience with others.

We are very pleased that our guests chose the Royal Lodge as the venue for their romantic weekend and that the level of service, food and hospitality met with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming them back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    269
    104
    49
    16
See reviews for
121
514
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed a couple of days as a part of our annual team building activity and the staff and manager could not have been more helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. Everyone commented how good the food was.

I recommend this place to anyone that wants a good dinner and nice accommodation after enjoying the river activities and walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We wish to thank our valued corporate customer for choosing the Royal Lodge as the venue for their stay.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their time with us an we hope to welcome them back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just a quick note to say thank you to you and your staff for being so accommodating and making our stay with you very enjoyable.

Meeting facilities were exactly what we required. Also, the food was very good and the staff were excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending you to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We wish to thank our valued client for choosing The Royal Lodge as the venue for their event.

We are very pleased to hear that the meeting facilities, food and service met with our clients expectations and hope to welcome them back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Well stayed again over the bank holiday and after a long journey from Telford and Shepperton, we finally arrived. We had a room which was in the wing overlooking the garden, and from the bed you could see the river. I am a big bloke and the shower was good enough room, but the side door hmm. The first morning there was an issue with breakfast, but this was resolved. The rest of the meals for the weekend were good and real value for money. Jane was great at pointing out how to get places and as we are loking for a house in the area, where to look. We did the kayaking again and also hired the bikes out front of the hotel to ride to Monmouth, which I have to say was fun. What else is to say, a few changes noted this time around reception which I feel were better. WIFI could be better, but did enjoy sitting at the entrance on the settee. Guys great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obleron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We thank our guest for choosing to stay with us here at The Royal Lodge and for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased that our valued guest enjoyed their stay with us and that they were able to sample and enjoy the various activities and offerings that are on our riverside doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming our guests back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had a great time with our 5, 8 & 11 year olds cycling the Peregrine way (right outside the front door) along the Wye River, and we hired a couple of Canadian canoes and floated down the river for half a day too.
The hotel is great value and excellently located right on the river with a great pub overlooking the river just down the road. We had considered the YHA, but for the same price we got a family room including breakfast for all of us!
Beautiful part of the world and will go back for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon_walton1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We thank our guest for writing their review.

We are very pleased to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay with us here at The Royal Lodge and that they look forward to returning.

We look forward to providing our guest with another warm welcome.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here just for one night at the end of August as a bit of an anniversary treat and to get away from the nagging kids (18 and 15). When we got to the hotel, the parking was a bit of a nightmare but it was a busy bank holiday weekend so it was to be expected.
I paid a little extra for Bed&Breakfast and dinner as the only other option was a rear facing room but when we arrived, we were told that we had booked the last room due to being so busy and were escorted to a room right out the back, on top of the downstairs loo's (noisy hand drier) and a view of the back of the bar. I was a little disappointed but we were there to enjoy ourselves, relax and get away from the stresses that we'd had over the last week or so and we intended to do just that.
About an hour later there was a knock at the door. It was the chap who had checked us in and he explained that there had been a cancellation and a room with a front view was available would we like it? We said yes please and were shown to a fantastic room with an outstanding view. Happy days.
Dinner was lovely. Service was excellent and friendly, breakfast was filling with a choice of a Continental breakfast, Full english, or both.
Overall, we had a fantastic stay here. There's a definite pleasant family atmosphere to Symonds Yat, which didn't bother us in the slightest, as we also enjoyed it as a couple.
We will definitely come back. Wether we bring the kids or not will remain to be seen! Might just keep this as our secret getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterX71uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to share their experience in depth with others.

We are very pleased that we were able to offer our guest a room upgrade and that the level of food, service and overall hospitality was appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We only called into this lovely hotel with amazing views of the majestic River Wye for a cream tea. The hotel was captivating and had a hypnotic effect in the glorious sunshine. The cream tea was excellent, the staff patient, obliging and very helpful. But the star of the show is the hotel itself in its wonderful setting. The hotel nestles in the wooded hillside just above and alongside the Wye. On this beautiful day the effect was awesome...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkbird50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We thank our valued customer for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that after choosing the Royal Lodge in Symonds Yat East that their experience was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing