We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely peaceful friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lovely peaceful friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I visited this hotel for a few days with friends & family for an anniversary celebration & found it to be a charming old hotel with lots of character. Creaky stairs, quant nooks & crannies old fireplaces, such a refreshing change from the one look hotel chains.
The views are stunning, the walks are equally wonderful & the Wye just rolls on by about 20 feet from the end of the car park.
The rooms are well appointed many with panoramic views of the magnificent Wye Valley. The staff were very friendly & helpful, the food was excellent both breakfast & dinner, drinks were reasonably priced for a 4 star hotel not in the least bit eye watering like some I have been to.
All in all a great family hotel note it is NOT A CORPORATE CHAIN so there will be different furniture & decorations, there are no lifts there is also a cat who thinks he owns the place ...lol enjoy your visit I did!!

Room Tip: Premium rooms are generally those with stunning views, 16 is nice 19 has a 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to share their experience with others.

We are very pleased that they enjoyed their stay with us and valued the level of service and hospitality provided.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    256
    96
    48
    16
See reviews for
117
496
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, Kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have never liked staying in hotels, but thoroughly enjoyed my night at the Royal Lodge. I felt quite at home. It's an old building, so it's not going to be perfect (probably why I felt at home), but it was clean and the room was attractive, big and airy. We had the windows open all night and you could hear the rushing of the river - beautiful. The staff were friendly, efficient but more than that - actually interested. People will always make (or break) the place for me. We enjoyed dinner in the garden, which was excellent and breakfast was probably the best I have ever had. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisKent5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review and share their recent experience with others.

We are very pleased to hear that our guests were able to experience and value the stunning location that we have here in Symonds Yat East and that the dinner and service provided met with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming our guests back in the near future for another enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Food was excellent, particularly dinner. In twin room which was clean and adequate, though double bed was rather soft (Room 3 - possibly in need of new mattress?). Weather was warm, so heating didn't appear to be on, but winter duvets on beds, so got too hot at night! No disabled facilities (toilet/lift/rail in shower) or allocated space for parking (not relevant to most people), but we managed. As per someone else's comment, no phone signal (but that's Symonds Yat not the hotel!). Wi-Fi possibly only in lounge. We had a great time and the staff were lovely. This was my second visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keratc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We thank our valued guest for their return visit and for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their stay and that the food and service provided met with their expectations. We value all of our guests feedback and will certainly check the very much subjective and differing views regarding mattresses.

We look forward to welcoming our valued guests back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just spent a few days walking the gorgeous Wye Valley. This B&B we chose after a long research online, our first room was a disappointment, bad smells, spider webs in every corner, wet walls, peeling wallpaper and bathroom could be used in a bad movie...but reception staff was very helpful and apologetic - supposedly it's all the cleaning staff's fault - we got different room, clean, better, dry - great bathroom, though again unusual foul smell. After closing all the vents in the bath tub (never had to do that before anywhere on this travel planet) no problem. Food at dinner was average, breakfast plenty and good choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austriannomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We thank our guest for their valued custom.

We apologise that they encountered an issue with their first room which stemmed from a water leak which is unfortunate and were thankful of the swift resolve by our dedicated team. We also apologise that there could have been a scent issue which had we been made aware of we would certainly have looked into.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The rooms wwere clean and fairly modern but most of the communal areas are shabby and in need of an update. Pleasant sertting and pleasant staff, however wifi doesnt work - no phone signal and televisions only work occasionaly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cng1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We valued our guests feedback .

It is unfortunate that our guest describes our communal areas as shabby, The Royal Lodge is an ancient Royal Hunting Lodge and certainly has character. Due to the nature of our location next to the woods and river WiFi can sometimes be an issue. TV signal however is not and should we have been advised of an issue we would have done our up most to resolve.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here in early September on a Bed & Breakfast basis. We often come to this beautiful part of the county and always admire The Royal.

Everything was perfect and we were treated like royaly (I dont know whether this was because we had booked the best room but it seemed to be consistant with all guests)

From booking via the telephone with Alison to chicking in by a young lad from Wales who was very polite and charming with a bit of humour which is always fab! He offered to help with our bags and showed us to our room.

He booked us in for dinner at a time that suited us - The Food was absolutely devine! The best meal we have had in a very long time! And the lady (that used to run a pub of her own down the road?) was a credit to our service, very personable and friendly. I Recommend the desserts too!!!

The room was lovely, id love to say it was perfect but we favour slightly more modern decor so it wasnt the best weve ever stayed in, but you can see past that with the outstanding beauty and views through the windows. The four poster bed was unbelievably comfy!! We both suffer from bad backs and this was the best nights sleep we had in a very long time. The bathroom is modern in comparison to the bedroom. Only one niggly comment was the shower must have been in demand in the morning as we could only get it to dribble out - but no harm done, you just have to wait.

Breakfast was as good as our evening meal, a selection of toasts, cereals from the buffet & a full english delivered to your table.

Everything is paid on check out so you setle your bill on departure. We had a cha with the Wedding Co-ordinator Alison who was so kind and felt like she was giving us the best advice (there was no hard sell or telling us to book when its expensive - in fact she was telling us the best and most cost effective ways of booking) which makes you feel at ease.

All in all, a wonderful stay - would definately recommend to everyone. Would be absolutely perfect 'for us' if it was slightly more modern and could do wih a few touch ups here and there - but this is just character.

Fantastic customer service - we definately felt like royalty!

Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeaLea4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their extensive review and share their experience with others.

We are very pleased that our guests chose the Royal Lodge as the venue for their romantic weekend and that the level of service, food and hospitality met with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming them back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed a couple of days as a part of our annual team building activity and the staff and manager could not have been more helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. Everyone commented how good the food was.

I recommend this place to anyone that wants a good dinner and nice accommodation after enjoying the river activities and walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We wish to thank our valued corporate customer for choosing the Royal Lodge as the venue for their stay.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their time with us an we hope to welcome them back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing