We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect wedding!!!”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a fabulous day thanks to all the staff and Alison (wedding coordinator) at the Royal lodge! Everyone was incredibly helpful at making our day a success!
The staff were so professional and friendly from the start til the next morning, nothing was too much trouble!
The rooms were spotlessly clean and beautiful views across the river!
Would highly recommend the hotel for a wedding or a stay. The food and service was outstanding. We will be returning for our anniversary if not indeed before!

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank our valued customers for choosing the Royal Lodge as the venue for their big day.

We are very pleased to hear that we delivered the perfect wedding and look forward to welcoming the wedding couple and their guests back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Lodge for a 4 day break. The staff were very friendly, we stayed in room 19 which had excellent views out of the 2 large windows, the room was very clean although too hot at times. Food very good, lounge nothing special. Excellent location we went on some lovely walks, and visited Ross on Wye and Monmouth.

Room Tip: There is no lift and some rooms have 2 lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank our guest for their valued custom and we are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their stay.

We can only apologise that the thermostatic control in Room 19 failed during their visit.

We looking forward to seeing our guests again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A group of 10 of us stayed at this wonderful hotel last weekend and it has to be one of the best weekends we have had. Every year the same group has a weekend away and this year we decided on the Royal Lodge.

Jane is an excellent hostess and the staff young as they are are polite, friendly and attentive but not intrusive.

If you want the bland and boringly beige hotel then don't come here. If you want a hotel that is packed with character has wonderful gardens and views to die for then this is the place for you.

We ate at the hotel on both nights and everyone agreed that their meals were excellent. The breakfast is plentiful, not greasy and presented beautifully.

Jane goes out of her way to help her guests including printing out route planners for us who do not have sat nav. If you are looking for a particular activity she will ring around and do her best to do all the organising for you.

This is the one place that we all have said that we want to return to.

Thank you Jane and your team. The plough team really appreciated your hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FORDSONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank our guest for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Lodge and for taking the time to post this review.

We are very pleased to hear that the level of hospitality met with our guests expectations and that the quality of our food was appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming the Plough Team back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Royal lodge after attending a trade show. The hotel team were extremely welcoming and the Room was spotlessly clean.
We had a meal in the bar which was very nice.
We didn't have an opportunity to explore the area but the location was lovely.
It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel and a nice change to be treated like a valued customer as soon as we walked through the door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank our guest for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Lodge.

We are pleased to hear that they enjoyed their stay and the level of food and service that was provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I visited this hotel for a few days with friends & family for an anniversary celebration & found it to be a charming old hotel with lots of character. Creaky stairs, quant nooks & crannies old fireplaces, such a refreshing change from the one look hotel chains.
The views are stunning, the walks are equally wonderful & the Wye just rolls on by about 20 feet from the end of the car park.
The rooms are well appointed many with panoramic views of the magnificent Wye Valley. The staff were very friendly & helpful, the food was excellent both breakfast & dinner, drinks were reasonably priced for a 4 star hotel not in the least bit eye watering like some I have been to.
All in all a great family hotel note it is NOT A CORPORATE CHAIN so there will be different furniture & decorations, there are no lifts there is also a cat who thinks he owns the place ...lol enjoy your visit I did!!

Room Tip: Premium rooms are generally those with stunning views, 16 is nice 19 has a 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We would like to thank our valued guest for taking the time to share their experience with others.

We are very pleased that they enjoyed their stay with us and valued the level of service and hospitality provided.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have never liked staying in hotels, but thoroughly enjoyed my night at the Royal Lodge. I felt quite at home. It's an old building, so it's not going to be perfect (probably why I felt at home), but it was clean and the room was attractive, big and airy. We had the windows open all night and you could hear the rushing of the river - beautiful. The staff were friendly, efficient but more than that - actually interested. People will always make (or break) the place for me. We enjoyed dinner in the garden, which was excellent and breakfast was probably the best I have ever had. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisKent5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

We thank our valued guest for taking the time to post their review and share their recent experience with others.

We are very pleased to hear that our guests were able to experience and value the stunning location that we have here in Symonds Yat East and that the dinner and service provided met with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming our guests back in the near future for another enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Food was excellent, particularly dinner. In twin room which was clean and adequate, though double bed was rather soft (Room 3 - possibly in need of new mattress?). Weather was warm, so heating didn't appear to be on, but winter duvets on beds, so got too hot at night! No disabled facilities (toilet/lift/rail in shower) or allocated space for parking (not relevant to most people), but we managed. As per someone else's comment, no phone signal (but that's Symonds Yat not the hotel!). Wi-Fi possibly only in lounge. We had a great time and the staff were lovely. This was my second visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keratc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

We thank our valued guest for their return visit and for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their stay and that the food and service provided met with their expectations. We value all of our guests feedback and will certainly check the very much subjective and differing views regarding mattresses.

We look forward to welcoming our valued guests back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
507 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
601 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,152 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
169 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range: £57 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing