We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel good location”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Recently had a second stay at the royal lodge in Symonds Yat and found it far better than the original stay.

My boyfriend paid for an upgrade on our room to king size so the room was far better and the bathroom was large and modern,

The room was spacious nicely decorated and the wardrobe had plenty of space.

The hotel was quite empty as it was December and this made the atmosphere nice it was quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast was pleasent lovely service & nice selection. Little tiny tip though we would have loved beans with our full English!!

Overall a great stay would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank our guest for choosing to stay with us again.

We are very pleased that they enjoyed their visit and wish to add that baked beans are available at breakfast by request with no additional charge.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived on the 28th after a hectic Christmas and the Royal Lodge was a perfect antidote to a damp London. The location was stunning, the staff were incredibly friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.
What struck us in particular was how passionate everyone was about the hotel, the area and us as guests.
We ate in the restaurant every night and the food was good, a little on the pricey side for the area, but nicely presented and tasty.
The NY eve ball was a hoot, again great food, fireworks, music and bad dancing. Watching the pouring rain under the porch the next day was a really good hangover cure (with lots of strong coffee!)
Don't expect Hilton levels of anodyne luxury, this is an ex hunting lodge after all. The rooms are though comfortable, well looked after and clean. If you do want a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings, with great people then we cannot recommend the Royal Lodge highly enough.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike_Hill147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank our valued guest for choosing to spend New Year with us.

Very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their experience and the level of hospitality provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guests back soon.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

There was a bit of a mix up with our booking, due to the booking agent booking.com who had advertised the wrong rate. The hotel contacted us prior to our arrival but did honour our booking. There was a very friendly welcome when we arrived and we were shown to our room. The room was basic but a good size and it had a lovely view over the river. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean so there are no complaints. There was tea and coffee also water provided in the room and we were offered fresh milk if required.
The bathroom was a little small and a bit dated, but it was clean and functional. The only thing I really disliked was the liquid hand soap which had a very strong and over powering smell, which was making me feel a little nausious. I used the shower gel from the shower to wash my hands so that was fine.
We ate at the hotel in the evening and although the menu was a little limited the food was nice, if not a little over priced. There were very few people in the restaurant so I am presuming that most went to the local pub to eat, which I would probably do if I stayed again.
Breakfast was very good and there was an ample supply of local fresh produce ie cheeses ect. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definately stay again. My only other comment was that the hotel could be better sign posted as we had a bit of difficulty finding it as we arrived in the dark.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUSTYBREEZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank our guest for choosing to stay with us.

We are very pleased that we were able to resolve their booking issue and that they enjoyed their stay.

It is unfortunate that the fragrance of our hand soap was not to this particular guests liking.

We hope to welcome our guests back soon.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have just had an absolutely brilliant New Year. The room as always was lovely, our 3rd stay in room 16, the food was very good and the party was brilliant. Graham and all his staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. I hope that we will return for next New Year with maybe a visit in between. If you like mod cons with constant wifi access and phone signal this is not the place for you but if you want a charming, relaxing place with bags of character you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacktBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks to our guests for taking the time to post their review.

Very happy to hear that they enjoyed their time with us and we look forward to welcoming them back for New Year again and hopefully before.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a great New Year Package, had a fantastic time, food was out of this world and the staff made it a New Year to remember. Room was clean, fresh and had all that was needed for a great comfortable stay.
Would highly recommend this hotel as the staff , accommodation and location are outstanding.
A great big thank you to Graham and staff for a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimlouise1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We would like to thank our guest for joining us over the New Year period. Very pleased to hear that they enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming them back soon.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Great experience at The Royal Lodge - an absolutely beautiful and peaceful setting, a warm welcome by friendly and efficient staff and a lovely spacious room with a view of the river. Everything was spotlessly clean. The only improvements would be a bigger, refurbished bathroom with a bath or a bigger shower (my 6'1'' partner had to duck to get under the showerhead!) and to replace that squeaking squealing toaster at breakfast! Thanks so much for a great weekend, we would love to come back again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank our guest for choosing to stay with us. Very happy to hear that they had enjoyed their stay.

Hopefully in the future, we will be able to welcome our guest back again and with prior notice be able to offer one of our rooms that are more suited to taller people.

We look forward to seeing them again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and loved every minute! The staff couldn't be more helpful and the location was stunning. We decided to try the restaurant as other guests had recommended it to us and the food was the best we have had for a very long time! Compliments to the chef!
Many thanks we will be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotelman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We thank our guest for taking the time to post their review, very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their stay and the level of service and quality of food provided.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
527 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,186 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
205 reviews
6.3 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range: £53 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing