We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and welcoming”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Helpful and welcoming”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location and I was pleased with the hotel; it did everything I needed as I was canoeing from just down the road. Girl on reception very friendly helpful and efficient. Breakfast service very speedy which is good as I had booked activities and was running late!

Room Tip: Garden view was great - there is stunning scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We thank our valued guest for posting their review.

We are glad to hear that they enjoyed the level of service, food and hospitality that we provide here at the Royal Lodge.

We look forward to seeing our guest again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    265
    101
    49
    16
See reviews for
119
510
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Called in for coffee and cake with the children. I can't say we were overwhelmed by the welcome because we weren't. The bar area was deserted and the woman serving did not say please or thank you once. BUT the location is great and the coffee and cake was good and fairly priced.

Would I go back? Short answer is I don't think so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We thank our valued guest for choosing to visit us here at the Royal Lodge and sincerely apologise that they did not receive a warm welcome from one of our temporary staff.

We can assure this has been rectified and we would like to welcome our guests back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Me and my partner went to the royal lodge for a cup of tea after a long (enjoyable) walk at the beautiful symonds yet, unfortunately it was a disappointment from the start! To begin, there was no one around to serve us, we waited and waited until finally my partner had to go practically into the kitchen just to get someone to take our order. We then (rather coldly) were served our order, to which i asked if i could change the milk to go with the tea, I was told that it was already changed (which it wasn't), the barman may as well of told me that he couldn't be bothered to change it. Over all… avoid! They cannot get a simple order correct, they were rude and extremely unhelpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 434clr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
It is unfortunate that this visiting customer came on a very busy day when we did have a slight staff shortage and that waiting ten minutes after ordering was unacceptable.

Our small but dedicated team were shocked at the attitude of the customers and wish them a very happy cup of tea at the next place they choose to visit.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsoy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We paid £100 for a two night stay, breakfast not included. We went to nearby Waitrose in Monmouth and had a wonderful breakfast for two for only £10 for both of us, half the price compared to the the hotel! The food at the hotel in the evening was disappointing, the fish was inedible and the were chips very greasy, sausages were fatty and stodgy - you would be better off spending a little more and enjoying a gourmet meal in Monmouth which was what we did on the second night. We had a bar meal at the hotel, perhaps the restaurant food would be better? Rooms and public areas need decorating, but staff friendly and helpful. The stair wells and corridors were a bit smelly, carpets could do with a clean. Not sure how it gets a 4 star AA review... The setting was beautiful though, with glorious views down the river. Overall we thought it was poor value and would not recommend it to others. Had the price been reduced we may have changed our view. If the public areas and rooms been cleaner, less smelly and freshly decorated we may have changed our view. But in fairness to people reviewing this site to find a reasonable hotel at a reasonable price we have to be honest and not recommend it to others. :( We paid £100 for a two night stay, breakfast not included. We went to nearby Waitrose in Monmouth and had a wonderful breakfast for two for only £10 for both of us, half the price compared to the the hotel! The food at the hotel in the evening was disappointing, the fish was inedible and the were chips very greasy, sausages were fatty and stodgy - you would be better off spending a little more and enjoying a gourmet meal in Monmouth which was what we did on the second night. We had a bar meal at the hotel, perhaps the restaurant food would be better? Rooms and public areas need decorating, but staff friendly and helpful. The stair wells and corridors were a bit smelly, carpets could do with a clean. Not sure how it gets a 4 star AA review... The setting was beautiful though, with glorious views down the river. Overall we thought it was poor value and would not recommend it to others. Had the price been reduced we may have changed our view. If the public areas and rooms been cleaner, less smelly and freshly decorated we may have changed our view. But in fairness to people reviewing this site to find a reasonable hotel at a reasonable price we have to be honest and not recommend it to others. :(. We paid £100 for a two night stay, breakfast not included. We went to nearby Waitrose in Monmouth and had a wonderful breakfast for two for only £10 for both of us, half the price compared to the the hotel! The food at the hotel in the evening was disappointing, the fish was inedible and the were chips very greasy, sausages were fatty and stodgy - you would be better off spending a little more and enjoying a gourmet meal in Monmouth which was what we did on the second night. We had a bar meal at the hotel, perhaps the restaurant food would be better? Rooms and public areas need decorating, but staff friendly and helpful. The stair wells and corridors were a bit smelly, carpets could do with a clean. Not sure how it gets a 4 star AA review... The setting was beautiful though, with glorious views down the river. Overall we thought it was poor value and would not recommend it to others. Had the price been reduced we may have changed our view. If the public areas and rooms been cleaner, less smelly and freshly decorated we may have changed our view. But in fairness to people reviewing this site to find a reasonable hotel at a reasonable price we have to be honest and not recommend it to others. :(

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1PDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We can only respond to this review in dismay at the comment and opinion that a 4 star AA graded guest accommodation bedroom in the heart of the Wye Valley with stunning views and service at £25 per person per night is not good value!

Very disappointing to read that our AA award winning breakfast is being compared to a supermarket when our guest chose to not give our breakfast a chance.

Not sure where to suggest that may be better value than here at the offer rate of £25 per person but we do have contacts for camp-sites and youth hostels if we can be of assistance, these places also run special offers from time to time.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked 1 night for me, my 4 year old and 10 month old (husband and elder kids were at the campsite down the road)

I booked it about 4 weeks before our stay. A week and a half before our stay the hotel phoned to say a computer crash meant my room was overbooked and could I go the following week advised them I couldn't. They then managed to find me a room!

Booked a twin with cot.

Arrived about 2.30pm and they were happy to check us in then. Room was a double with no cot! The gentlemen checking us in was very efficient and changed us to a double with sofa bed, which they made up for us then for my son. They also brought a travel cot. So this was then perfect.

The room was a good size with a lovely view. Soft furnishings were lovely, red flowered curtains, red cushions and a lovely red flower picture on the wall.

We had our evenng meal there, which we ate on the terrace, although they don't start serving until 6.30pm. it was a Lovely place to sit overlooking the river.

My husband and I ordered a medium 8oz steak, which was cooked perfectly and tasted fabulous. The chips were also very tasty as was the tomatoes stuffed with bacon and onion.(the kids enjoyed theirs too) it was a little pricey, but you don't mind when the steak was as good as this.

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location, and we would definately come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We thank our valued guest for choosing to stay with us here at The Royal Lodge,

We apologise for the issue with our booking system and are pleased that we were able to rectify the issue and provide our guests with an enjoyable experience.

We are pleased that the level of food, service and hospitality was enjoyed and look forward to welcoming our guests back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puget Theniers, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The village is lovely. Limited amount of hotels. The place needs a serious refurb. Most of the staff were friendly apart from one miserable young lad at reception. Room was clean but old. The shower room was tiny and the sink was in the room not the shower room. There must have been a problem with the drains as the bathroom had a bad smell. The wifi signal was not working in the rooms and when I told the reception they told me I would have to good to the foyer for Internet. The area has a very bad mobile phone reception.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geordieniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We thank our guest for choosing to stay with us and apologise that the ancient Royal Hunting Lodge that is the Royal Lodge did not meet with their expectations.
Should there have been an issue during their stay simply informing us at the time would give us a fair opportunity to rectify any matter.
We wish to apologise that we are not in control of the mobile phone networks to allow customers to have signal on all networks when staying with us.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wowcher customers beware: the room you think you are booking when you purchase your voucher has little or no relation to the nice pictures advertised online. The point of a voucher is to get a great deal at promotional fees and by paying for this break we understood that we would be getting to stay in a four star hotel at a discounted rate, whereas our room turned out to be very basic indeed. Sink in the bedroom (the likes of which I had not seen in years) which hadn't been cleaned, small creaky bed, tiny TV, dated furniture and an the pokiest 'on suite' cubicle you'll ever see. We asked to be moved within minutes and the manager on duty at the time quite assertively informed that Wowcher deals were based on a 'standard room', this is before pretending to 'check' for alternatives, from her computer which she couldn't find. Breakfast was average but we couldn't vouch for the dinner because we feared that if the restaurant reflected the quality of our room we would risk a double disappointment. The manager on duty on the following day was more helpful and gave us tips on local landmarks and how to get there but in hindsight, given that this was a 2-night deal and they wouldn't accept weekend bookings, I left feeling as though I wasted 2 days of annual leave because of their false advertising. Had I had a chance to see a picture of Room 17 online, chances are I would have stayed in London. Also, I don't understand how they got their 4 star rating when the Royal Hotel (completely different league of service, decor, cleanliness and stunning views) in Ross on Wye is rated at 3 star. Baffling.
The marking is terrible on principle, in short we wouldn't have bought the deal at all if we'd had a chance to see a picture of the room which we were to stay in. If you do business by misleading customers then you shouldn't be in business at all.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel before venturing out and driving there, to ensure that they are not planning to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are sorry to hear of our customers unhappiness and urge them to contact us directly.

The Royal Lodge is AA graded as four star guest accommodation with awards for its breakfast and dinner. In using wowcher, a third party, we certainly are not not selling with false advertising and our customer has failed to point out the very cost effective deal that they chose to book under.

It is unfortunate that our guest does not understand the grading scheme and chose to compare us with a totally different venue.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
543 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
801 reviews
6.3 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing