We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value for money in a great location”
Review of The Royal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent value for money in a great location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

a lovely small hotel in symonds yat with a great view of the river.The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was really good with a great cooked breakfast.We did not eat dinner in the hotel- no real reason not to, just fancied trying somewhere else as we were only there for 1 day but now wish we had stayed in as the saracans head was poor! If you want a short break in a very beautiful location in a small family run hotel this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We thank our valued guest for posting their review.

It is pleasing to hear that they enjoyed their breakfast for which we have an AA Breakfast award for, alongside the service of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back to the Royal Lodge in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    259
    98
    50
    16
See reviews for
117
505
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was surprised to be contacted by the son of the owner of this establishment after I posted my original review. Having suggested that he request its withdrawal (which apparently he had already attempted but been unable to accomplish, he opted to phone me rather than post a response on the TA site). Therefore, I submit this revision in deference to the apparently deep-distress which my previous posting has caused him and his small dedicated team. It was and is not my intention to ‘ruin’ their business or give an ‘unfair’ or ‘unbalanced’ review. I was informed that as the issues I did raise at the time with the very helpful morning manager were resolved to our satisfaction (as I mentioned in version 1) there was no need for me to go into detail on my TA review and therefore I have removed them, as well as the specifics about the evening meals. I should clarify that what I took to be urine in the toilet on our arrival, was apparently yellow-coloured toilet cleaner (having run out of the green), I clearly missed the foaming action when I flushed, so sorry about that.



The Royal Lodge is a lovely old establishment and clearly a work in progress. The location is just perfect overlooking the Wye from a perfect vantage point. . Symond's Yat has the advantage of no thoroughfare which means that once the hub-bub of the day has passed it is blissfully peaceful - no traffic noise and the combination of forest & water suited our main objective which was to relax! It would be nice if they could continue the Symonds Yat link throughout the building at some stage. The garden in front of it is delightful, especially on a bright summer’s Day. We paid for a "superior" room & it was very spacious & pleasant - with a great river view. The bathroom has clearly recently been refurbished & looks really good: although the ancient glass window in the connecting wall between bedroom & bathroom is a bit incongruous, but overall 8/10 for the room itself. The decking area outside the bar is a great idea, just exercise a little caution if you are not sure-footed. The staff were mostly pleasant and accommodating, the evening manageress seemed a bit scratchy & dismissive - my husband asked for a fish knife and was informed that none was available and that it was "an American invention”. Just as a point of interest, it was a Victorian invention . You may need to ask for additional beverage supplies for your room. Breakfast was expensive at £10.25 a head but very good. Although we chose not to eat from the Bar Menu it looked reasonably priced, the A la carte meals were adequate. Puddings were fine and the South African Pinotage at a fraction of the cost of other options on the wine list was exceptionally good.

Room Tip: Hints for a good stay I feel obliged to raise the issue of disability friendliness: it isn’t. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorenceScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We thank our guests for revisiting their review after discussions direct with ourselves.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel staff are really friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and the food excellent. Well done to all who work at the hotel. The personal touch given to all guests (not just us) was genuine and welcoming. I would definitely re-visit and recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful retreat, with a little bit of exercise on hand if wanted (hill-climbing, canoeing, walking)

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We thank our valued guest for posting their review.

We are pleased that they enjoyed their birthday celebration with us and that we helped make the special occasion one to remember.

We look forward to seeing our guest again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potto, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and one meal recently. The hotel has sadly been modernised (to 1980) and lost almost all of its Victorian lodge charm. You can't beat the location but as for the building, it could be anywhere. It's reasonably comfortable and reasonable value but feels mediocre and left behind by modern standards. Food was inconsistent as we're staff. Some were lovely but 2 staff were clearly not enjoying their jobs. Shame, it could have been a total treasure in the right hands. The replies to previous reviews are very telling - defensive and just not getting it.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 123Douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We thank our guest for posting their review.

It is a great shame that our guest did not enjoy their stay. We can only apologise that the level of service and food was not to the same standard that we normally achieve. We have currently been experiencing a period of temporary staff both front of house and in the kitchen which appears to be the cause of the issue. This has been rectified.

As for being defensive, our small dedicated team endeavour to ensure that our guests receive the highest standard of hospitality and find insult in reviews which are based on untruths and assumption.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringwood
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was a heavingly busy Sunday afternoon when we arrived and not a parking space to be seen, however my husband stayed with the car whilst I went to book in. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, and secured us a parking space. Booking in was easy and I was thrilled when we were upgraded to the four poster room from the king which we had booked. We had a stunning view from the picture window and the room was spacious yet simple. The setting right next to the river is divine and the views beautiful. It is a pretty ramshackle building set in a lovely garden where you can eat and drink.Our bathroom was fine although the shower water pressure too low. This is a small hotel/guest house and not what I would call a boutique hotel where I would expect standards to be higher. What sadly let it down was the food. On two occasions I heard reception on the phone asking to send another chef. We ate there on our first night but didn't bother again. I ordered a chicken and chorizo pie and it was a hard baked pastry pie crust fill with quite runny sauce. As it hadn't been baked as a pie the pastry was very hard, almost inedible. Also the chips were greasy and limp. It was served with peas in a ramakin. They had gone to the trouble of making it look"cheffy" in presentation but the cooking was poor. We had breakfast on the two mornings that we were there, and the cooked breakfast once again wasn't brilliantly cooked. The "homemade" croissant were also burnt.
This is a shame, as this is a really sweet little hotel with lovely friendly staff and if they were able to offer nice food, it could be excellent. I have marked the hotel 4 out of five, but seperately I would only mark the food as 2.

Room Tip: get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RingwoodHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We thank our guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are pleased that they enjoyed the level of service that our small and dedicated team provide here at the Royal Lodge and it is a shame that, on this occasion, the food did not meet the standard that we usually serve.

Unfortunately due to staffing issues we were relying on a temporary kitchen team that did let us down. Fortunately, this situation has now been resolved and we are delivering our normal award winning level of food.

We hope to see our guest in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location and I was pleased with the hotel; it did everything I needed as I was canoeing from just down the road. Girl on reception very friendly helpful and efficient. Breakfast service very speedy which is good as I had booked activities and was running late!

Room Tip: Garden view was great - there is stunning scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We thank our valued guest for posting their review.

We are glad to hear that they enjoyed the level of service, food and hospitality that we provide here at the Royal Lodge.

We look forward to seeing our guest again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Called in for coffee and cake with the children. I can't say we were overwhelmed by the welcome because we weren't. The bar area was deserted and the woman serving did not say please or thank you once. BUT the location is great and the coffee and cake was good and fairly priced.

Would I go back? Short answer is I don't think so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We thank our valued guest for choosing to visit us here at the Royal Lodge and sincerely apologise that they did not receive a warm welcome from one of our temporary staff.

We can assure this has been rectified and we would like to welcome our guests back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
5.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Property: The Royal Lodge
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing